Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 ... 27 28 [29] 30 31 ... 64

Author Topic: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware  (Read 346005 times)

broadstairs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3229
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #420 on: March 17, 2016, 01:52:13 PM »

Correct link to firmware is ftp://ftp2.zyxel.com/VMG8924-B10A/firmware/

Stuart
Logged
ISP:TalkTalk Connection:FTTC Cab:ECI Router:Netgear D6220

Iam_TJ

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 102
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #421 on: March 29, 2016, 03:13:42 PM »

I've just created a new topic "New: CFE Password Generator, Firmware Header Editor (Invalid Model ID)"

It describes two new tools for local CFE password generation and editing firmware update files to avoid the web interface's "Invalid Model ID" message typically seen with the Eircom F1000 vs generic VMG8{3,9}24-B10A firmware updates.

Update: I'm also the author of http://tjworld.net/wiki/Zyxel/VDSL_IAD (which will eventually relocate to my iam.tj domain)
« Last Edit: March 29, 2016, 07:27:23 PM by Iam_TJ »
Logged

broadstairs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3229
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #422 on: March 29, 2016, 05:42:37 PM »

I have an F1000 so I might try and see if I can get it to load the latest f/w using these tools.

Stuart
Logged
ISP:TalkTalk Connection:FTTC Cab:ECI Router:Netgear D6220

Iam_TJ

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 102
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #423 on: April 06, 2016, 08:35:55 PM »

I've noticed a few problems with this V1.00(AAKL.13)C0 pre-release/pre-certified firmware. I emailed support@zyxel but it's like a black hole.

1. IPv6 gateway is not being handed out via Router Advertisements or DHCPv6
2. Cannot configure any network settings for additional VLAN groups
3. Cannot create additional Interface groups
4. VDSL Broadband configuration keeps losing the IPv6 MLD enabled check mark
Logged

MAD_ZOIDBERG

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #424 on: April 07, 2016, 12:22:57 AM »

Logged

broadstairs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3229
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #425 on: April 07, 2016, 08:10:17 AM »

https://www.tweak.nl/support/firmware.html

V14 out now?

Interesting, I am unable to find it anywhere on the usual places I look for F/W updates. I have grabbed this just in case.

Stuart
Logged
ISP:TalkTalk Connection:FTTC Cab:ECI Router:Netgear D6220

gt94sss2

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 947
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #426 on: April 07, 2016, 03:21:35 PM »

I haven't looked at v.14 of the firmware but it reminds me to mention that I emailed ZyXel with a couple of firmware requests some time ago.

The first was to do with re-enabling multiple telnet sessions to make it easier to use line monitoring software.They refused citing 'security issues'.

When asked what this meant:

Quote
The issue caused by multiple telnet sessions is that there is no real control over who is telnetting into the device. By limiting this to one, there has to be a dedicated telnet login by the admin who wants to alter the configuration.

Instead, they provided me with a CLI command list for the modem (attached) but unhelpfully went on to say 'but we can not verify that this contains a command for the desired function'

The second request was to raise the maximum MTU setting from 1492 to accommodate the use of baby jumbo frames which BT/Openreach support on their FTTC equipment.

In response to this I was told

Quote
We will kindly inform you that for the moment this is not possible. Your feature request has been forwarded to our product management.

Might be worth others contacting ZyXel to request these changes if you want them as well - via support@zyxel.eu
Logged

bkehoe

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 29
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #427 on: April 07, 2016, 05:24:57 PM »

Just updated my 8924 to v14 after happily running v13 since December. ADSL modem driver version is the same. 1492 is the max MTU as well.
Seems OK so far.
Logged

Iam_TJ

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 102
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #428 on: April 08, 2016, 02:46:04 AM »

I'm treating the v14 image with suspicion until there's some confirmation that Zyxel are publishing it.

It's perfectly possible to compromise an existing image, or build one from the source, and as they aren't cryptographically signed there is no way to be sure it is from Zyxel.
Logged

gt94sss2

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 947
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #429 on: April 08, 2016, 09:20:58 AM »

I'm treating the v14 image with suspicion until there's some confirmation that Zyxel are publishing it.

Fine to be cautious but worth recalling some of the earlier Zyxel builds also originally came from the same source (a Dutch ISP) as per the first post in this thread
Logged

MAD_ZOIDBERG

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #430 on: April 08, 2016, 09:30:37 AM »

I have been going back and forward between newer firmwares and version 7 which was stable for me.

Took the plunge again a couple of days ago with v13.

Seemed OK then caused hideous amounts of errors and kept resetting, ruining the somewhat fragile relationship I'd just built up with the DLAM.

I found that on V13 I could not connect to the web interface with an Ethernet connection, couldn't TELNET either.

Could communicate with a wireless connection and managed to configure but very odd.

I've gone back to V7 but still can't connect directly.

How do you flush / completely reset modem in this situation - I'm speculating it's retaining something from the V13 build. Bear in mind I can't TELNET.

I've hard reset, I've uploaded the V7 ROM file but still can't connect directly.

Thanks
Logged

npr

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 255
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #431 on: April 08, 2016, 12:33:06 PM »

Have you tried power cycling the router?
I suspect the router has issues with memory management, the more config changes I make the greater the memory usage, often up at >85%. Using the GUI reboot make no difference to this, but a power cycle will usually bring it down to 60% memory usage.


Running firmware v14 and so far I can't see any difference from v13.
Logged

skyeci

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1151
    • skyECI line stats
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #432 on: April 17, 2016, 06:10:54 PM »

Hi

Just wondered if anyone can offer any advice please. I have setup my 8924 in bridge mode and so far its looking good. My error rates are dropping back when compared to my 8800nl but I have  a problem with stats monitoring. Regardless of which software I use I get lost minutes, currently around 92%. I guess this is something to do with telnet on the 8924. Have restested the billion and it doesnt have a problem.

Is there a workaround for this- I am on v13.

Many thanks
Logged
Sky Fibre Pro - billion 8800nl V1 (bridge mode) + Opnsense(i5 Qotom) with IPV6 , AC-88U WAP- ECI cab,

click for line stats by pi3/ECI cab


click for line stats by pi3/Huawei cab 

Ronski

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3447
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #433 on: April 17, 2016, 06:45:55 PM »

The Zyxel will only accept one Telnet session at a time so make sure that you've not got two bits of software trying to login at the same time. Mines been perfect even when I've tested with two copies of HG612 stats running currently but gathering stats 30 seconds apart.
Logged
Formerly restrained by ECI and ali,  now surfing along at 390/36  ;D

skyeci

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1151
    • skyECI line stats
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #434 on: April 17, 2016, 06:52:00 PM »

Hi.

Yeah I can't figure it whats causing it. I only have hg612 stats running yet the gaps can clearly be seen on mydslstats.all very odd.

Can I check what modem you type you have selected please. Are you using 8324 or a different type?

Cheers
« Last Edit: April 17, 2016, 06:55:09 PM by skyeci »
Logged
Sky Fibre Pro - billion 8800nl V1 (bridge mode) + Opnsense(i5 Qotom) with IPV6 , AC-88U WAP- ECI cab,

click for line stats by pi3/ECI cab


click for line stats by pi3/Huawei cab 
Pages: 1 ... 27 28 [29] 30 31 ... 64