Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 ... 25 26 [27] 28 29 ... 65

Author Topic: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware  (Read 387401 times)

Starman

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 180
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #390 on: February 03, 2016, 05:26:48 PM »

Slight issue with the L12 firmware today - my 2.4GHz Wi-Fi decided to drop out and devices were unable to connect yet 5GHz was still working fine.

I disabled and re-enabled it without requiring a reboot to resolve it - might be a one off.
Logged

broadstairs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3349
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #391 on: February 03, 2016, 07:54:16 PM »

I have had that on earlier releases where devices could not connect despite 2.4ghz being active and working for other devices, usually in my case one particular Canon CP900 printer. Again disable/enable of 2.4ghz fixed it. Sometime I need to try to uderstand why but its not easy with relatively dumb devices. My 5ghz continues to work OK though.

Stuart
Logged
ISP:TalkTalk Connection:FTTC Cab:ECI Router:Netgear D6220

npr

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 257
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #392 on: February 03, 2016, 10:23:20 PM »

I fixed a similar problem with my Epson printer by placing it on a static DHCP IP address.
eg: in the routers settings > Home Networking > Static DHCP.

Rather suspect it's a issue with my the printer rather than the Zyxel.
Logged

gazaai

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 202
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #393 on: February 04, 2016, 02:25:52 PM »

I have just gotten this router set up. Seems pretty decent on the firmware 1.00(AAKL.13)C0

But I have noticed I cant have multiple telnet sessions, what are my options?

DSLStats doesn't seem to like it and cannot login to the router every 20 mins or so.
Logged
Plusnet: 80 / 20
MDWS Username: GaZaai

Modem: Billion 8800NL (Bridge Mode)
Router + AP: NETGEAR R7800 (OpenWRT/LEDE)
APs: 2x Linksys Linksys EA6700

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39663
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #394 on: February 04, 2016, 02:49:08 PM »

It's a limitation of the later firmware versions. There's no real option apart from making sure that you only employ a single telnet access at any one time. If you use DSLstats you could pause it while you use the command line, and resume recording afterwards. I presume that you could do the same if you use HG612_Modem_Stats.
Logged
  Eric

gazaai

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 202
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #395 on: February 04, 2016, 02:53:25 PM »

Do you know the latest firmware that still has multiple telnet sessions?
Logged
Plusnet: 80 / 20
MDWS Username: GaZaai

Modem: Billion 8800NL (Bridge Mode)
Router + AP: NETGEAR R7800 (OpenWRT/LEDE)
APs: 2x Linksys Linksys EA6700

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39663
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #396 on: February 04, 2016, 03:22:40 PM »

It's discussed in this thread several times, but it looks as though 6b2 may be the latest.
Logged
  Eric

gazaai

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 202
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #397 on: February 04, 2016, 03:37:54 PM »

Thanks for your help roseway. I just hope the older DSL driver wont affect my sync rate  :fingers:
Logged
Plusnet: 80 / 20
MDWS Username: GaZaai

Modem: Billion 8800NL (Bridge Mode)
Router + AP: NETGEAR R7800 (OpenWRT/LEDE)
APs: 2x Linksys Linksys EA6700

alexrose1uk

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #398 on: February 12, 2016, 07:22:34 AM »

I get the 2.4GHz drop as well. Has anyone noticed if there are any firmware which DON'T experience this issue? I am on latest at the moment and don't mind retrograding as my Zyxel is just acting as a router with a FTTP modem attached, so DSL firmware doesn't really affect me much.

I also found more noticeably on early firmware I would have to reboot every few weeks or the connection would slow down heavily. Didn't seem to handle the high traffic level from my connection well.
Logged

Chunkers

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 434
  • Brick Wall head-banger
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #399 on: February 15, 2016, 01:35:00 PM »

I will just be using my VMG8324 as a modem, currently on ADSL 2+ - is there an optimal firmware choice or just go for the latest?

Thanks
Chunks
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32550
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #400 on: February 20, 2016, 02:26:03 PM »

Personal choice I guess

I'm still using (AAKL.6)b1. 

Obviously I dont have some of the latest fixes, but I can still have multiple telnet sessions.    This version seems stable for my own usage so I got to the point of 'if it aint broken then dont fix it'.     I don't appear to have any wifi issues.   

My connection can be up for months and I havent seen any of the symptoms seen by alexrose whereby the connection slows down.   Could be due to the fact though that I may not have as much traffic as him.  Most of my traffic is streaming and I estimate I do about 80GB per month, which is quite low to some.
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

alexrose1uk

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #401 on: February 25, 2016, 07:15:08 AM »

Personal choice I guess

I'm still using (AAKL.6)b1. 

Obviously I dont have some of the latest fixes, but I can still have multiple telnet sessions.    This version seems stable for my own usage so I got to the point of 'if it aint broken then dont fix it'.     I don't appear to have any wifi issues.   

My connection can be up for months and I havent seen any of the symptoms seen by alexrose whereby the connection slows down.   Could be due to the fact though that I may not have as much traffic as him.  Most of my traffic is streaming and I estimate I do about 80GB per month, which is quite low to some.

Thanks for your feedback, my connection is 300/30, which I suspect is causing a situation where older firmware couldn't keep up. Could also have been due to ropey local kit which has been upgraded, but that one is harder to determine; me and my wife are quite heavy users on steam etc, so I'd imagine our usage is higher than yours. I'm downloading an 8GB game to test right now as an example.

Might try going back to 6b1 and see if I see any more WiFi issues.
Logged

npr

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 257
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #402 on: February 25, 2016, 10:58:21 PM »

Have you experimented with setting a maximum upstream and downstream bandwidth on the routers 2.4GHz wifi.
Don't know if it will help, just seems a logical thing to try.
Logged

youngsyp

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #403 on: February 26, 2016, 03:56:30 PM »

I thought the power supply on my trusty Billion 7800N was starting to fail so I dug my Eircom branded 8324 out. Flashed the latest firmware and it's given me about 800Kb/s, at the same SNRM target, over what the old Billion could. That's connected to an Infineon MSAN (ADSL). Seems to be rock solid too. Very impressed and really like the GUI.

Paul
Logged

trantor26

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #404 on: February 27, 2016, 04:03:00 PM »

Hi! I just recently got this router and it works really well, syncing at almost 20% more than my older router. However, I've got a problem. I use the scheduler to turn off the wifi, leds and a few lan that I don't use during the night. The morning after the leds and lan turn on again, but the wifi stays off. I try to turn it on again, but it does not work, and the only way to recover the wifi is to turn off the router, and turn it on again. Anyone had this issue with the latest firmware 13? Is it an issue of my router?

Thanks a lot for the help!
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 25 26 [27] 28 29 ... 65
 

anything