Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 ... 20 21 [22] 23 24 ... 64

Author Topic: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware  (Read 376484 times)

aruba

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #315 on: September 16, 2015, 10:11:15 PM »

Could I please quickly ask if the 'firmware lottery' of the VMG8324 is as bad as it seems?

I'm trying to decide whether to purchase one (or a W9980), but are being put off by the apparent buggyness of the firmware.
Logged

PhilipD

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 558
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #316 on: September 17, 2015, 09:25:52 PM »

Hi

I'm running the latest firmware with no issues at all (well except for password on the Wi-Fi page reverting back to the boxes admin password, although not everyone seems to have that issue, plus once it is set up you don't need to go into the page again).

It is very solid on my line, and hasn't rebooted or frozen at all on the latest firmwares.

The hardware is pretty top notch (includes an RF filter as close as you can physically get before the signal goes into the chip, which I've not seen on any other modems before) so if you can get it for a good price, well worth the money.

Regards

Phil
Logged

aruba

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #317 on: September 18, 2015, 08:31:57 AM »

A big thank you Phil for taking the time to write your overview.  :thumbs:

I think I'll get one ordered - anything will be better than the HH5a hell I currently find myself in!

Logged

jasjeet

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 86
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #318 on: September 19, 2015, 07:39:05 PM »

Does the 8924 support MER for SKy Fibre? Ive got one on the way and just assumed it would =/
Logged

SupremeOne

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #319 on: September 20, 2015, 07:26:42 PM »

Where can I download 11C0 for  VMG8324-B10? Because the firmware is not working for VMG8324-B10
Logged

AArdvark

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1008
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #320 on: September 20, 2015, 07:31:54 PM »

Where can I download 11C0 for  VMG8324-B10? Because the firmware is not working for VMG8324-B10
Need more detail of what the problem is ?
What do you mean by 'not working' ?
Logged

SupremeOne

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #321 on: September 20, 2015, 07:33:08 PM »


Where can I download 11C0 for  VMG8324-B10? Because the firmware is not working for VMG8324-B10
Need more detail of what the problem is ?
What do you mean by 'not working' ?
not supported. Ive tried to upgrade it but received a warning thats its not meant for the VMG8324-B10.
Logged

AArdvark

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1008
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #322 on: September 20, 2015, 07:35:51 PM »

Does the 8924 support MER for SKy Fibre? Ive got one on the way and just assumed it would =/
See this ......... http://forum.kitz.co.uk/index.php/topic,13769.msg278974.html#msg278974
Logged

SupremeOne

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #323 on: September 20, 2015, 07:38:16 PM »

Or am I doing something wrong, because with all of the earlier firmware version I never had problems with.
Logged

AArdvark

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1008
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #324 on: September 20, 2015, 07:54:52 PM »

Or am I doing something wrong, because with all of the earlier firmware version I never had problems with.

If it is a VMG8324-B10A then possibly the firmware is getting corrupted before you do the update ?

else

If it is an Eircom F1000 branded version ?

The F1000 version cannot flash the firmware for the VMG8324-B10A as the 'Model No.' is different, even though the hardware is the same.
There is the 4-pin header on the motherboard which you can use to reflash the modem.
Connect a USB to RS232/TTL PL2303HX Cable Adapter COM Module Converter Adapter for Arduino to the header and you have an always open serial connection.
Such as:
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/350900210088?ru=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.ebay.co.uk%2Fsch%2Fi.html%3F_sacat%3D0%26_udlo%3D%26_udhi%3D%26_ftrt%3D901%26_ftrv%3D1%26_sabdlo%3D%26_sabdhi%3D%26_samilow%3D%26_samihi%3D%26_sadis%3D15%26_stpos%3D%26_sop%3D12%26_dmd%3D1%26_ipg%3D50%26_nkw%3D350900210088%26_rdc%3D1

For connection Instructions and much more see dmcdonnell's Excellent thread 'Unbranding the ZyXel VMG8324-B10A' :
http://forum.kitz.co.uk/index.php/topic,13939.msg269724.html#msg269724
Logged

SupremeOne

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #325 on: September 20, 2015, 07:57:20 PM »


Or am I doing something wrong, because with all of the earlier firmware version I never had problems with.

If it is a VMG8324-B10A then possibly the firmware is getting corrupted before you do the update ?

else

If it is an Eircom F1000 branded version ?

The F1000 version cannot flash the firmware for the VMG8324-B10A as the 'Model No.' is different, even though the hardware is the same.
There is the 4-pin header on the motherboard which you can use to reflash the modem.
Connect a USB to RS232/TTL PL2303HX Cable Adapter COM Module Converter Adapter for Arduino to the header and you have an always open serial connection.
Such as:
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/350900210088?ru=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.ebay.co.uk%2Fsch%2Fi.html%3F_sacat%3D0%26_udlo%3D%26_udhi%3D%26_ftrt%3D901%26_ftrv%3D1%26_sabdlo%3D%26_sabdhi%3D%26_samilow%3D%26_samihi%3D%26_sadis%3D15%26_stpos%3D%26_sop%3D12%26_dmd%3D1%26_ipg%3D50%26_nkw%3D350900210088%26_rdc%3D1

For connection Instructions and much more see dmcdonnell's Excellent thread 'Unbranding the ZyXel VMG8324-B10A' :
http://forum.kitz.co.uk/index.php/topic,13939.msg269724.html#msg269724
Afaik its not a eircom f1000 branded version. How can I see if İve that version? Thank you very much.
Logged

SupremeOne

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #326 on: September 20, 2015, 08:07:03 PM »

Lol sorry for disturbing you instead of upgrading I tried to "Restore" the configuration being very stupid with the firmware bin file. Excuse me for being stupid.
Logged

AArdvark

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1008
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #327 on: September 20, 2015, 08:15:51 PM »

No problem  ;D
We all make mistakes at times.
Hope it is working now.
 ;D ;D
Logged

jasjeet

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 86
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #328 on: September 20, 2015, 09:09:16 PM »

Does the 8924 support MER for SKy Fibre? Ive got one on the way and just assumed it would =/
See this ......... http://forum.kitz.co.uk/index.php/topic,13769.msg278974.html#msg278974

Oh no, well if somebody wants an 8924 I got it for 120. Otherwise I'll try refund with stuff-uk..
Logged

KeithB

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #329 on: September 26, 2015, 07:49:44 PM »

Actually is does work with sky fibre. It's just hard to get it to do so. Took me a month to work it out. It's still a botch and restart or resend will cut you off. Asked zyxel to add custom command to Internet setup To make permanent but they said no. You need to add ipoe setup in router setup as per kits setting and leave the aiid  and duid blank then go to the Cli interface. Out of interest if you log in as supervisor the time out works as to what you set it. No 2 min and kicks you off. Then run the udhcp command. can take upto 5 min to connect.
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 20 21 [22] 23 24 ... 64