Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 ... 14 15 [16] 17 18 ... 64

Author Topic: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware  (Read 347518 times)

haggster

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #225 on: May 06, 2015, 08:30:29 PM »

On that Italian forum which has a thread about the VMG8324 there was a user mentioning that after upgrading to 8C0 his connection dropped after 2 days with over 200 CRC errors, which had never happened before with that modem (the post is from earlier today):

http://www.hwupgrade.it/forum/showpost.php?p=42445872&postcount=526

So yeah, some long-term reliability data regarding the new firmware would be interesting to see. :hmm:
Logged

Tyke

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 37
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #226 on: May 07, 2015, 08:33:08 AM »

Well that is my third and final try with the 8C0 firmware. Lots of disconnects, whilst 7C0 is absolutely rock solid!
Logged

broadstairs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3231
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #227 on: May 07, 2015, 09:31:08 AM »

It does seem strange that some folks with the 8324 or 8924 have problems and others dont. I am one who has not had issues with either of mine. My 8324 is an F1000 re-flashed but was using the old f/w as V7 and V8 were not around when I was using it, but it ran just fine. My 8924 which is currently being used has also been good and stats can be seen on mydslstats user broadstair (it wont take the extra 's' in user name  ;) ) it is using the latest V8, currently has been up about 18 days the previous reboot was me and not the router.

Stuart
Logged
ISP:TalkTalk Connection:FTTC Cab:ECI Router:Netgear D6220

clonc

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #228 on: May 07, 2015, 09:39:33 AM »

It seems there are problems using 8C0 on vdsl lines sometimes; on my adsl2+ 8C0 is ok
Logged

Ronski

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3451
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #229 on: May 07, 2015, 10:12:42 AM »

I'm still on version 6 and occasionally have problems, just haven't got around to updating yet.
Logged
Formerly restrained by ECI and ali,  now surfing along at 390/36  ;D

Tyke

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 37
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #230 on: May 08, 2015, 05:53:05 AM »

It does seem strange that some folks with the 8324 or 8924 have problems and others dont. I am one who has not had issues with either of mine. My 8324 is an F1000 re-flashed but was using the old f/w as V7 and V8 were not around when I was using it, but it ran just fine. My 8924 which is currently being used has also been good and stats can be seen on mydslstats user broadstair (it wont take the extra 's' in user name  ;) ) it is using the latest V8, currently has been up about 18 days the previous reboot was me and not the router.

Stuart

Interesting, because I have a 8924 on VDSL on MDSLS as Tyke 
Logged

PhilipD

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 450
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #231 on: May 21, 2015, 07:38:38 AM »

Hi

My ZyXEL 8924 has now been up for over 30 days including the VDSL sync, so looks good for firmware version 8.  Of course all the counters for various statistics have halted at 2147483647, some a little time ago, so not much use if wanting to monitor data used by using the router statistics over a monthly basis.

Regards

Phil
Logged

spudgun

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 85
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #232 on: May 21, 2015, 03:09:55 PM »

Am i right in thinking that 8C0 is the latest release?
Logged

clonc

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #233 on: May 21, 2015, 09:34:11 PM »

All ok also for me with 8C0, no reboot at all.
Logged

haggster

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #234 on: May 22, 2015, 05:14:59 PM »

All ok also for me with 8C0, no reboot at all.
Are you connected via ADSL (green LED) with a maximum of 50mbit/s upstream (or lower) or connected via VDSL2 (yellow LED) with up to 100mbit/s?
Logged

haggster

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #235 on: May 22, 2015, 05:24:15 PM »

BTW, does anybody know if it's possible to log onto the VMG8324 and change values such as the send buffer size, the TCP congestion control algorithm and so on? I've performed some speed tests and while doing that I saw that my connection still suffers from some buffer bloat which I was able to reduce by using QoS in the wi-fi router that the VMG8324 is bridged to - however I guess that limiting the VMG8324's buffer size could further reduce the buffer bloat if I just had the chance to adjust these values.
Logged

clonc

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #236 on: May 22, 2015, 05:40:22 PM »

All ok also for me with 8C0, no reboot at all.
Are you connected via ADSL (green LED) with a maximum of 50mbit/s upstream (or lower) or connected via VDSL2 (yellow LED) with up to 100mbit/s?

I have a 20/1 (DL/UL) Mbps ADSL connection but i am in italy (ISP Telecomitalia)
Logged

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 6006
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #237 on: May 22, 2015, 06:39:11 PM »

BTW, does anybody know if it's possible to log onto the VMG8324 and change values such as the send buffer size, the TCP congestion control algorithm and so on? I've performed some speed tests and while doing that I saw that my connection still suffers from some buffer bloat which I was able to reduce by using QoS in the wi-fi router that the VMG8324 is bridged to - however I guess that limiting the VMG8324's buffer size could further reduce the buffer bloat if I just had the chance to adjust these values.

I think this would only help if QoS is used or a VPN, as the router is in the middle and not the endpoint.

With that said I guess it might be worth a try but since the router isnt a wrt variant you wont have access to those commands.
Logged
AAISP - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE

PhilipD

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 450
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #238 on: May 22, 2015, 07:41:28 PM »

Hi

Are you connected via ADSL (green LED) with a maximum of 50mbit/s upstream (or lower) or connected via VDSL2 (yellow LED) with up to 100mbit/s?

I'm connected via the built in VDSL modem on a 80/20 service with a sync speed of 80/20 if that helps.

Regards

Phil
Logged

haggster

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #239 on: May 22, 2015, 08:00:44 PM »

With that said I guess it might be worth a try but since the router isnt a wrt variant you wont have access to those commands.
thanks for the info. Well, since I'm operating the ZyXEL as a blackbox basically and it's only doing the bridging, I think it's fine and I'll leave it that way. even if there'd be some way to access those values, I'd probably have to re-adjust those every single time the modem reboots (which doesn't happen often, but it will happen), so it's not worth the hassle.
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 14 15 [16] 17 18 ... 64