Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 ... 36 37 [38] 39 40 ... 65

Author Topic: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware  (Read 391486 times)

samwise78

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 67
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #555 on: September 01, 2016, 05:14:09 PM »

No, no resync .  For DNS I'm using the standard PlusNet ISP ones whic work fine with the PN Hub.

I've just had a little play with it but cannot switch over until tomorrow. I've set the ZyXel up as follows in advance of tomorrow:
1. Running firmware "1.00(AAKL.14)C0"
2. Backup of config taken
3. Performed factory reset
4. Installed firmware "1.00(AAKL.14)C0_20160408"
5. Performed factory reset
6. Restored backup config

I'm assuming the firmware in item 4 is slightly newer as it's date stamped. Overall file size was the same.

Previously, other routers,  I've found the "factory resets" a good practice to follow when flashing firmware.
As far as I'm aware 14 is the newest firmware, I don't think there's been any revisions since..

May be worth experimenting with alternative DNS providers like OpenDNS, Google, Level3 etc before binning off the Zyxel..

Cheers
Sam

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

Logged

Starman

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 180
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #556 on: September 01, 2016, 06:23:59 PM »

I personally don't use PN DNS - Google myself only because they are so easy to remember :)

Running the v14 firmware and have no issues with DNS.
Logged

cliver

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 153
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #557 on: September 01, 2016, 09:05:20 PM »

Sent in pvt ;)
Why in Pvt? I'd be interested in the answer to this as I have one myself :)

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
Logged

jstallan

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 33
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #558 on: September 01, 2016, 10:46:00 PM »

I personally don't use PN DNS - Google myself only because they are so easy to remember :)

Running the v14 firmware and have no issues with DNS.

I don't remember them either , but it draws them directly from the ISP...
Logged

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3155
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #559 on: September 01, 2016, 11:44:56 PM »

I think he meant Google was the easiest to remember that isn't the ISPs. I haven't used my ISPs DNS servers for about 10 years, no matter what ISP I've been with. I used OpenDNS for a few years but have used Google's DNS for the past 5-6 years and never ever had an issue. TalkTalk have had a number of issues with their DNS servers in the past couple years that I'm aware of, including a 24 hour period of very intermittent service (which was blamed on their DNS servers), and my connection ticked along fine.

I used to have OpenDNS memorized, but I would need to quickly Google it now. I think I'll remember Google's DNS till the day I die though. 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4. As suggested try setting a custom DNS on the ZyXEL to see if that fixes it.
Logged
BT FTTP 160/30 - BQM - speed test

jstallan

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 33
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #560 on: September 02, 2016, 10:36:01 AM »

Point taken...  Amended DNS to google and also disabled logging (GUI seems more resonsive)
Logged

jstallan

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 33
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #561 on: September 02, 2016, 11:48:30 AM »

Damm!!!! Failed again..  The router said the sync ws still up but no internet pages and no ping reply from Google DNS Servers....   No sure what next.....
Logged

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39674
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #562 on: September 02, 2016, 12:02:48 PM »

I suspect that this may nothing to do with DNS. The DNS errors could be a symptom of the real issue, that the router is losing the PPP connection. I had the same problem with this router and never resolved it, so I now use it in bridge mode with a separate router.
Logged
  Eric

digitalnemesis

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 386
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #563 on: September 02, 2016, 12:11:43 PM »

I don't seem to experience that. I've just been noticing random reboots for some reason.
Logged

samwise78

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 67
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #564 on: September 02, 2016, 12:15:42 PM »

I don't seem to experience that. I've just been noticing random reboots for some reason.
I've had occasions where sync has stayed up but router became unresponsive (not allowing telnet or GUI access) on version 14 and the only fix was a power cycle, but haven't found the same on 6b1..
I'm not suggesting 6b1 should be the go-to firmware as others' mileage may vary on it but it seems to work for my setup at least and I know a few others are still using it.
Cheers
Sam

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

Logged

jstallan

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 33
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #565 on: September 02, 2016, 12:21:23 PM »

What I have noticed is that when rebooting the router it takes a long time to establish the internet connection (Is this PPP ?). Although the IP address is set to Auto on the router (as per the setup guide) I do have a fixed IP from the ISP but not sure on the Subnet and Gateway values...

6b1 firmware is one I cannot seem to locate..
Logged

samwise78

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 67
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #566 on: September 02, 2016, 12:34:05 PM »

What I have noticed is that when rebooting the router it takes a long time to establish the internet connection (Is this PPP ?). Although the IP address is set to Auto on the router (as per the setup guide) I do have a fixed IP from the ISP but not sure on the Subnet and Gateway values...

6b1 firmware is one I cannot seem to locate..
Can't really advise on the fixed IP issue but 6b1 is available still via the ZyXel Italian FTP site on the first post..
From memory it's in a folder named Old.
Please note if you do downgrade it'll drop your current config so you'd need to setup from scratch.
Be sure to read the release notes for 14 backwards to see if any issues fixed in later versions will affect you on 6b1..

Cheers
Sam

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

Logged

jstallan

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 33
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #567 on: September 02, 2016, 01:01:37 PM »

6b1 isn't there.. 6c0,6c2,6c3,6c4 and so on are.....  Maybe it was so good it has been pulled   :lol:
Logged

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39674
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #568 on: September 02, 2016, 01:17:33 PM »

I've got to go out, but I'll upload it to my website when I get back.
Logged
  Eric

jstallan

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 33
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #569 on: September 02, 2016, 01:32:31 PM »

Thank you but I've now found a copy   at  http://www.chrysalisnet.org/zyxel/
« Last Edit: September 02, 2016, 01:54:07 PM by jstallan »
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 36 37 [38] 39 40 ... 65
 

anything