Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 ... 35 36 [37] 38 39 ... 64

Author Topic: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware  (Read 357419 times)

skyeci

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1154
    • skyECI line stats
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #540 on: August 21, 2016, 03:32:02 PM »

Bridge mode yes. Not as modem/router..
Someone brought this up recently but still could not get it working.
Logged
Zen 80/20 - billion 8800nl V1 (bridge mode) + Opnsense(i5 Qotom) with IPV6 , AC-88U WAP- ECI cab,

click for ECI cab line stats


click for line stats by pi3/Huawei cab 

digitalnemesis

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 305
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #541 on: August 24, 2016, 06:23:16 PM »

Is anyone getting random reboots on v14? I've had around 3 in 5 weeks.
Logged

skyeci

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1154
    • skyECI line stats
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #542 on: August 24, 2016, 06:27:05 PM »

8324 in Bridge mode = no
Logged
Zen 80/20 - billion 8800nl V1 (bridge mode) + Opnsense(i5 Qotom) with IPV6 , AC-88U WAP- ECI cab,

click for ECI cab line stats


click for line stats by pi3/Huawei cab 

Starman

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 175
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #543 on: August 24, 2016, 06:34:38 PM »

Only issue I have with V14, and the last couple of previous releases from that is my 2.4GHz Wi-Fi dropping out randomly. I disable, and re-enable it on the admin page which then sorts it out no reboot required.
Logged

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2770
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #544 on: August 25, 2016, 01:08:29 AM »

Is anyone getting random reboots on v14? I've had around 3 in 5 weeks.
have you tried hard resetting the unit? are you using it in bridge mode, or as a modem/router?
Logged
Plusnet FTTC 80/20 -  ECI now Huawei cab
retx low @ 3dB target SNRM
Zyxel VMG1312-B10A bridged with 1508 MTU + Asus RT-AC68U running Asuswrt-Merlin

samwise78

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 67
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #545 on: August 25, 2016, 11:36:48 AM »

You can add me to the list of 8324 users with the FEC "issue" - you can see how much on MDWS under my username.
Mine shipped with 1.00(AAKL.13)C0 and issue persists through onto 1.00(AAKL.14)C0
I did go back to V1.00(AAKL.7)C0 briefly - which appeared to stem the flow - I also logged a ticket with Zyxel to investigate, they've asked me to stick to 1.00(AAKL.14)C0 and apparently their development team are now looking into it..
I've got an underlying & unrelated fault on my line - but what with the firmware jumps and LOS/RDI resyncs I was having, DLM kindly stepped in and banded my connection to 60/20 so seeing a lot fewer errors/resyncs now but the FEC count is still astronomical, should I be concerned?
Cheers
Sam
Logged

vic0239

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 399
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #546 on: August 25, 2016, 02:13:25 PM »

Iím glad ZyXel are looking into this as I have the same problem across all of my ZyXel devices, a VMG8924 and two VMG1312s. I think it is possibly related to how well (or badly) the modems handle G.INP. For example I have two lines, one new the other well established with G.INP active, and could see from MDWS the FEC and CRC graphs more or less in step on the respective lines. However, within a few days of G.INP being enabled on the new line the FEC count rose sharply to ridiculous levels whereby the original line remained unaffected. It doesnít appear to have any detrimental effect on the line, but it is disconcerting to see such large counts. I have reverted to my HG612s in the meantime pending a firmware fix.
Logged

starfire

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 22
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #547 on: August 25, 2016, 06:02:05 PM »

Only issue I have with V14, and the last couple of previous releases from that is my 2.4GHz Wi-Fi dropping out randomly. I disable, and re-enable it on the admin page which then sorts it out no reboot required.

I am having this problem on my VMG8924-B10A, however disabling re-enabling via the admin page does not fix the issue. 5GHz keeps working in this situation.

I have raised a ticket with Zyxel support, have you done the same, if not could you please ?
Logged

samwise78

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 67
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #548 on: September 01, 2016, 10:09:45 AM »

So ZyXel support have gone very very quiet on my open ticket with them regarding the excessive FEC errors on 1.00(AAKL.13)C0 & 1.00(AAKL.14)C0
Dabbled with 1.00(AAKL.7)C0 briefly - and this seemed to sort the FEC error reporting - but it also led to log-in issues with MDWS which I also get on AAKL.13 & AAKL.14 from time to time so I've gone back to 1.00(AAKL.6)b1
No ridiculous FEC counts, no Telnet issues and sync is fine at 60/20 - the GUI is a bit sluggish but my topology is pretty simple so not going to tax the box..
Fingers crossed ZyXel fix this in a later release - I won't hold my breath as it only seems to affect a handful of us.

Cheers
Sam
Logged

GigabitEthernet

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1949
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #549 on: September 01, 2016, 10:41:17 AM »

Do the earlier releases support vectoring okay?
Logged

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39586
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #550 on: September 01, 2016, 11:40:51 AM »

I've got the 6b1 firmware, and it certainly reports the vectoring status, although of course I have no idea what it would do on a vectored connection.

Code: [Select]
adsl info --vectoring
adsl: ADSL driver and PHY status
Status: Showtime
Last Retrain Reason:    0
Last initialization procedure status:   0
Max:    Upstream rate = 28774 Kbps, Downstream rate = 69854 Kbps
Bearer: 0, Upstream rate = 19999 Kbps, Downstream rate = 78419 Kbps
Bearer: 1, Upstream rate = 0 Kbps, Downstream rate = 0 Kbps
Vectoring state: 5
VCE MAC Address: 0:0:0:0:0:0
Total error samples Ethernet pkts sent: 0
Total error samples Ethernet pkts discarded: 0
Total error samples statuses sent: 0
Total error samples statuses discarded: 0
 >
Logged
  Eric

samwise78

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 67
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #551 on: September 01, 2016, 12:29:45 PM »

Do the earlier releases support vectoring okay?
As it's BCM63168 based it should do from the off..
6b1 uses A2pv6F039i.d24e, and while I haven't reviewed the release notes from 6b1 to 14 for any show-stoppers, I'm happy for now.
In the unlikely event there is a show-stopper on this version AND vectoring actually makes it onto my connection I'll re-evaluate  :fingers:

Code: [Select]
> xdslctl --version
xdslctl version 1.0
ADSL PHY: AnnexA version - A2pv6F039i.d24e
 > adsl info --vectoring
adsl: ADSL driver and PHY status
Status: Showtime
Last Retrain Reason:    1
Last initialization procedure status:   0
Max:    Upstream rate = 19703 Kbps, Downstream rate = 63757 Kbps
Bearer: 0, Upstream rate = 19699 Kbps, Downstream rate = 60000 Kbps
Bearer: 1, Upstream rate = 0 Kbps, Downstream rate = 0 Kbps
Vectoring state: 5
VCE MAC Address: 0:0:0:0:0:0
Total error samples Ethernet pkts sent: 0
Total error samples Ethernet pkts discarded: 0
Total error samples statuses sent: 0
Total error samples statuses discarded: 0
 >
« Last Edit: September 01, 2016, 02:09:30 PM by samwise78 »
Logged

jstallan

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 33
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #552 on: September 01, 2016, 03:22:41 PM »

I've got the VMG8924-B10a running the v14 firmware ona FTTC connection and becoming very frustrated with it as a product. Seems to work ok for a couple of days and then starts giving out 'DNS probe' errors when internet browsing. I'm thinking of downgrading the firmware but not sure what to go.

There seems to be very little vendor support (forums) for a product that holds, in my mind, a premium price tag.

To stem the moans from the family about lack of internet, I've return to the PlusNet Hub One for the time being. School re-opens tomorrow so I might play a little with firmware versions.
Logged

samwise78

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 67
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #553 on: September 01, 2016, 04:58:41 PM »

I've got the VMG8924-B10a running the v14 firmware ona FTTC connection and becoming very frustrated with it as a product. Seems to work ok for a couple of days and then starts giving out 'DNS probe' errors when internet browsing. I'm thinking of downgrading the firmware but not sure what to go.

There seems to be very little vendor support (forums) for a product that holds, in my mind, a premium price tag.

To stem the moans from the family about lack of internet, I've return to the PlusNet Hub One for the time being. School re-opens tomorrow so I might play a little with firmware versions.

I've not experienced that I have to say, although after a resync it can take a while for traffic to start flowing correctly.
I'm assuming you haven't had a resync around the same time Chrome throws the DNS_Probe_Finished_No_Internet error?
Also, who (or what) are you using for your DNS?

Cheers
Sam
Logged

jstallan

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 33
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #554 on: September 01, 2016, 05:10:01 PM »

I've not experienced that I have to say, although after a resync it can take a while for traffic to start flowing correctly.
I'm assuming you haven't had a resync around the same time Chrome throws the DNS_Probe_Finished_No_Internet error?
Also, who (or what) are you using for your DNS?

Cheers
Sam
No, no resync .  For DNS I'm using the standard PlusNet ISP ones whic work fine with the PN Hub.

I've just had a little play with it but cannot switch over until tomorrow. I've set the ZyXel up as follows in advance of tomorrow:
1. Running firmware "1.00(AAKL.14)C0"
2. Backup of config taken
3. Performed factory reset
4. Installed firmware "1.00(AAKL.14)C0_20160408"
5. Performed factory reset
6. Restored backup config

I'm assuming the firmware in item 4 is slightly newer as it's date stamped. Overall file size was the same.

Previously, other routers,  I've found the "factory resets" a good practice to follow when flashing firmware.
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 35 36 [37] 38 39 ... 64