Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 ... 64

Author Topic: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware  (Read 365099 times)

manny2003

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 38
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #45 on: November 03, 2014, 04:22:19 AM »

Thanks. Any noticeable differences from the b2?
At the moment I just found they fixed the problem I talked about the missing other tab for 5Ghz wireless config. But as Kitz stated the VMG8324 is only 2.4Ghz so you won't notice.
Unfortunately no changelog as usual for the last releases. I don't remember if it was already there in the previous version but I see a menu I didn't remember: IGMP/MLD. Pay attention to the fact that you need to enable it via the privileges setting, logging in with the supervisor user.
Logged

manny2003

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 38
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #46 on: November 06, 2014, 12:22:40 PM »

Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32446
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #47 on: November 06, 2014, 04:48:17 PM »

Thank you :)
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

Jeroen06

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #48 on: November 06, 2014, 07:25:30 PM »

Nice all those firmwares thnx manny2003, looks like ZyXEL is busy improving this device  ;)
Hopefully ZyXEL will soon release an stable firmware with an actual changelog  ;D
Logged

simoncraddock

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 232
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #49 on: November 06, 2014, 09:26:11 PM »

Running latest beta 6b4 and 'touchwood' it's running much better with no CRC or ES errors in the past 2 hrs.
Attainable rate is a about 3mb higher, wonder if DLM will grant me extra speed if it stays stable.
« Last Edit: November 06, 2014, 11:57:06 PM by simoncraddock »
Logged
Fritzbox 7490 l Plusnet FTTC

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32446
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #50 on: November 07, 2014, 12:40:56 PM »

Hopefully it should.    I may upgrade to the latest f/w this w/e -  My line is slightly wobblier since BT did whatever they did the other week.  Plus I seem to have acquired a new crosstalk disturber that instantly lopped 5Mbps from my max rate. :/
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

simoncraddock

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 232
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #51 on: November 07, 2014, 01:15:35 PM »

I've just logged into mine from work and in 19 hours it has recorded 90 CRC errors and 12 ES, which compared to the 410 ES it notched up in an hour on firmware 6b2 is good progress.
Logged
Fritzbox 7490 l Plusnet FTTC

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32446
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #52 on: November 07, 2014, 01:18:53 PM »

That sounds pretty good.   Lets hope that the DLM notices and takes action accordingly :)
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

les-70

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1254
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #53 on: November 07, 2014, 03:14:35 PM »

   I look forwards to seeing if others get the same error reductions from the latest firmware, maybe the VMG8324-B10A is finally OK on a noisy line.
Logged

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 6203
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #54 on: November 07, 2014, 03:15:18 PM »

the b6 actually has a newer broadcom blob?

The zyxel is very good at US ES, note kitz has 0 US ES and I had 0 or almost 0 every day on the zyxel also, but was worse on the DS for me.
Logged
AAISP - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE

simoncraddock

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 232
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #55 on: November 08, 2014, 10:33:14 AM »

Anyone else having issues with the ppoe password not working after a resync? Had to log back in delete the password and re-enter one just to connect. Hopefully a one off issue but DLM raised  my DS speed by 2mbps overnight so that's a plus.
« Last Edit: November 08, 2014, 11:26:22 AM by simoncraddock »
Logged
Fritzbox 7490 l Plusnet FTTC

Ronski

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3621
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #56 on: November 08, 2014, 12:25:36 PM »

I accidentally dislodged the power lead from my UPS this morning for the router, so I've taken the opportunity to flash the B4 firmware, slight increase in speed but thats probably just the time of day.

No problems with PPOE password yet.
Logged
Formerly restrained by ECI and ali,  now surfing along at 390/36  ;D

simoncraddock

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 232
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #57 on: November 08, 2014, 09:41:25 PM »

Still doing very well on this new firmware, in the past 18hrs since DLM raised my DS connection by 2mbps my DS error rates are CRC=82 and ES=23. It'll be interesting to see if DLM raises my profile again tonight or whether it will wait a couple more days.
Logged
Fritzbox 7490 l Plusnet FTTC

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32446
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #58 on: November 09, 2014, 12:18:33 AM »

I updated the firmware today, and so far, Ive not noticed any difference at all in my error rates.   

But then again, unlike les-70, I never saw my errors get any worse when moving from the HG612 to the Zyxel.
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

Ronski

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3621
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #59 on: November 09, 2014, 09:48:20 AM »

I'm currently unable to access the router, and my stats have stopped logging as well. Internet is working fine though.

I get the login page, enter my details and then after hitting login I get the following.

Quote
The connection was reset

The connection to the server was reset while the page was loading.

    The site could be temporarily unavailable or too busy. Try again in a few moments.
    If you are unable to load any pages, check your computer's network connection.
    If your computer or network is protected by a firewall or proxy, make sure that Firefox is permitted to access the Web.

I'll have to power down the router and see what happens, this is with the B4 firmware which I changed to yesterday.

Edit: Normal service resumed after a reboot.
« Last Edit: November 09, 2014, 09:53:34 AM by Ronski »
Logged
Formerly restrained by ECI and ali,  now surfing along at 390/36  ;D
Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 ... 64
 

anything