Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: TV Systems  (Read 2096 times)

Shaft

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 65
TV Systems
« on: May 06, 2014, 03:38:28 PM »

Hi,
I know UK is PAL but does anybody know which system they use in Canada?
I am asking as I am bidding on some kit (Atari Games console) from there and suddenly thought will it work in UK, the guy selling doesn't know!

Shaft
Logged

tonyappuk

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 589
Re: TV Systems
« Reply #1 on: May 06, 2014, 04:07:09 PM »

USA is NTSC so probably too is Canada. Not sure how the TV standard impacts an Atari Console.
Tony
Logged

4candles

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3018
  • Not young enough to know everything
Re: TV Systems
« Reply #2 on: May 06, 2014, 04:09:47 PM »

Canada    NTSC M

according to table here.

I know next to nowt about games consoles, but someone may know whether they are built for specific countries or whether maybe the output signal type can be switched.   :-\
Logged
For every complex problem there is an answer that is clear, simple, and wrong.

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 40227
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: TV Systems
« Reply #3 on: May 06, 2014, 04:18:02 PM »

I guess it depends on how the console connects to the TV. If it uses a modulator and connects through the aerial socket, then presumably it would need an NTSC TV. But if it has an RGB connection of some kind, then it's independent of the colour TV system used. There's still the question of whether the TV will sync at 60 Hz frame rate, but I'm guessing (again) that's not an issue.
Logged
  Eric

JGO

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 729
Re: TV Systems
« Reply #4 on: May 06, 2014, 04:22:06 PM »

From (distant) memory, most of the hardware for NTSC and PAL is the same, only the colour subcarrier phase sync differs.  I think I've seen video players which can be switched between the two.
Logged

Shaft

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 65
Re: TV Systems
« Reply #5 on: May 06, 2014, 04:45:39 PM »

Thanks guys,
it connects to the TV with a coaxial cable and the UK is specifically PAL without any way of changing it.
I think I will let the guy know and withdraw my bid.   Though my bid hasn't reached his reserve p[rice so I wont have to buy it.

Cheer
Shaft
Logged

neilius

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
Re: TV Systems
« Reply #6 on: May 06, 2014, 07:21:29 PM »

Depending on your TV you might be able to change the standard that the tuner uses. Certainly can on mine (see photo) - it doesn't matter what actual country you're in, you can set it up however you want.
Logged
 

anything