Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 ... 8 9 [10] 11 12 ... 16

Author Topic: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A Preliminary findings.  (Read 117196 times)

les-70

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1255
Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A Preliminary findings.
« Reply #135 on: June 21, 2014, 07:30:47 AM »

  I have an ECI dslam which is, I think, the same as Kitz.   I once bought a lot of 3 DG834g's, none were in my view faulty, but there was a big variation in the dsl performance with same firmware.  Modems do vary and I suspect suspect the analog input side and A/D conversion may be the main source of variation. No two analog devices are ever identical in performance.  It is hard to say that my Zyxel was  definitely "faulty" but the dsl side was clearly substandard re error rates compared with the other dsl devices I have tried. I doubt most here would put up with a 5 fold increase in the error rates coupled with odd daytime resyncs where none occurred before.  The other niggles I had are most likely firmware related.
« Last Edit: June 21, 2014, 11:18:40 AM by les-70 »
Logged

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 6716
Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A Preliminary findings.
« Reply #136 on: June 21, 2014, 02:28:15 PM »

I think kitz is hauwei dslam, and yes I wouldnt put up with 5x error rates like that either you did the right thing to switch back.  The ECI dslams seem much more finicky than the hauwei's.
Logged
AAISP - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 34773
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A Preliminary findings.
« Reply #137 on: June 21, 2014, 05:07:26 PM »

Hmm . . . I have a strong suspicion that Kitz's VDSL2 service is via an ECI equipped cabinet.  :-\
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 33072
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A Preliminary findings.
« Reply #138 on: June 21, 2014, 06:37:56 PM »

Yep Im on an ECI cab.

These are my stats from the ZyXel

Quote
dsl info --stats
adsl: ADSL driver and PHY status
Status: Showtime
Last Retrain Reason:    0
Last initialization procedure status:   0
Max:    Upstream rate = 30803 Kbps, Downstream rate = 89932 Kbps
Bearer: 0, Upstream rate = 20000 Kbps, Downstream rate = 79987 Kbps

Link Power State:       L0
Mode:                   VDSL2 Annex B
VDSL2 Profile:          Profile 17a
TPS-TC:                 PTM Mode
Trellis:                U:ON /D:ON
Line Status:            No Defect
Training Status:        Showtime
                Down            Up
SNR (dB):        8.4             12.6
Attn(dB):        0.0             0.0
Pwr(dBm):        14.3            5.6

                        VDSL2 framing
                        Bearer 0
MSGc:           18              150
B:              239             236
M:              1               1
T:              23              5
R:              0               16
S:              0.0955          0.3771
L:              20104           5410
D:              1               1
I:              240             255
N:              240             255

                        Counters
                        Bearer 0
OHF:            305775192               407799
OHFErr:         2392            10
RS:             0               757628
RSCorr:         0               255
RSUnCorr:       0               0

Which has now been up for 5 days 20hrs, with a very nice flat-lined SNRm

Compare with the HG612

Quote
xdslcmd info --stats
xdslcmd: ADSL driver and PHY status
Status: Showtime
Retrain Reason:   0
Max:   Upstream rate = 30854 Kbps, Downstream rate = 86204 Kbps
Path:   0, Upstream rate = 20000 Kbps, Downstream rate = 79999 Kbps

Link Power State:   L0
Mode:         VDSL2 Annex B
VDSL2 Profile:      Profile 17a
TPS-TC:         PTM Mode
Trellis:      U:ON /D:ON
Line Status:      No Defect
Training Status:   Showtime
      Down      Up
SNR (dB):    7.6       13.1
Attn(dB):    0.0       0.0
Pwr(dBm):    14.3       6.3
         VDSL2 framing
         Path 0
B:      239      236
M:      1      1
T:      23      5
R:      0      16
S:      0.0955      0.3771
L:      20107      5410
D:      1      1
I:      240      255
N:      240      255
         Counters
         Path 0
OHF:      2283204036      2739102
OHFErr:      26919      38
RS:      0      4292676
RSCorr:      0      3222
RSUnCorr:   0      0

and now compare with a router with a Lantiq based chipset (this is all the info I can give)

Quote
#adsl show info

INDEX=1
{
enable=1
status=Up
modulationType=VDSL2
CurrSupportLinkType=2
lineEncoding=
allowedProfiles=
currentProfile=
dataPath=
interleaveDepth=0
lineNumber=0
upstreamCurrRate=20000
downstreamCurrRate=80000
upstreamMaxRate=29422
downstreamMaxRate=80000
upstreamNoiseMargin=124
downstreamNoiseMargin=59
upstreamAttenuation=0
downstreamAttenuation=167
upstreamPower=128
downstreamPower=65
ATURVendor=
ATURCountry=
ATUCVendor=
ATUCCountry=
totalStart=530671
showtimeStart=319
quarterHourStart=0

}
cmd:SUCC


Then its an absolute no brainer why I personally like the Zyxel so much. 
I would give the Billion a shot, but one of my important requirements is GbE ports.
Im not buying a separate GbE switch just to hook up in between the PC and the NAS.  The wifi is decent on the Zyxel, so I dont even need CAT5 now for the smartTV.
« Last Edit: June 21, 2014, 06:41:19 PM by kitz »
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 6716
Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A Preliminary findings.
« Reply #139 on: June 21, 2014, 06:49:33 PM »

ok glad thats cleared up, in that case my opinion is kitz's line characteristics are just been handled better by the zyxel whilst les's are not.

assuming both of you had the same firmware version.

is there a cheaper version of zyxel with same modem chipset and firmware options? so e.g. like the hg612 which is small and cheap and useable as a modem only.
« Last Edit: June 21, 2014, 06:53:04 PM by Chrysalis »
Logged
AAISP - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 33072
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A Preliminary findings.
« Reply #140 on: June 21, 2014, 07:23:14 PM »

Yep I think Les-70 was using the same firmware as I provided the ones I had. 

>> s there a cheaper version of zyxel with same modem chipset

Not sure - suspect the Billion may have, best checking with Les-70 on that.

The WMG8324 contains the latest BCM63168 chipset with the 039 adsl_phy.

One thing has just struck me...  where did you buy yours from Les?   Over the past few months Ive had several PMs/emails from people asking for the latest firmware and most people have seen an improvement over the HG612.
Im not saying the router is perfect, because Ive detailed in this thread all the issues I had until putting on the latest firmware.. but afaik the only people that seem to have had problems are les and mrtoad
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

les-70

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1255
Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A Preliminary findings.
« Reply #141 on: June 21, 2014, 09:43:58 PM »

  I bought the Zyxel from Stuff-UK and have no complaints about their service.  I have used 4 Broadcom 63168 devices on my line now. An HG630, an HG658 the Zyxel with two firmwares and now a Billion 8800NL. The two  HG's both used an 037 adsl_phy, the Zyxel an 039 and Billion an 038.  All of them give me a sync about 1.5-2 Mb/s greater than an HG612 with 038.  I would expect that the speed increase to vary between lines and all except the Zyxel gave error rates roughly the same as the HG612 and possibly a little better.  I would also expect some variation in error rate performance between lines but the 5 fold increase seems just too far from anything I would expected possible without a fault. No one else seems to have any noticeable extra error rates with the Zyxel.

    I would be using the HG658 (I broke the HG630 trying get a serial port going -lifted some pcb strip with a 1mm drill while clearing a slighly blocked hole)  but only the devices with 038 or 039 adsl_phy's support max sync speed tweaks.  My attainable is currently varying by up to 20Mb/s depending on who round here has their modems switched on or is off on hols.  If I resync I prefer to ensure a safe sync at a speed compatible with the worst case.  I am also concerned that the DSLAM is likely to resync when the line at its best and may get very confused with these changes. 

   The Billion seems totally reliable so far, it just worked for me and my set up with everything boringly fine and good wireless.  It also uses so little power 3-4 watts that I have given up switching off at night myself.
« Last Edit: June 22, 2014, 06:42:45 AM by les-70 »
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 33072
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A Preliminary findings.
« Reply #142 on: June 21, 2014, 11:02:57 PM »

>> I bought the Zyxel from Stuff-UK

Cheers, was just wondering.  I dont know where mrtoad got his from. 
It may all be a moot point anyhow as I just noticed that both broadbandbuyer and stuff-uk are out of stock
Stuff-uks site said they will order on request.  Broadbandbuyer has just one 'B'grade which has been there for a few months now.
 
I did wonder if they were the same firm, but I cant find any link at all between them.   They are in different parts of the country.  Have different phone nos and use different payment carts.  Stuff-uk also seem to sell a broader range of items. So it looks like they are 2 entirely different companies although I havent looked that deep.

 
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 6716
Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A Preliminary findings.
« Reply #143 on: June 22, 2014, 03:25:07 AM »

may be different firms but have the same supplier.

now days its common for these small stores to order from their supplier at same time customer orders so the website stock levels are the supplier stock not the retailer stock if that makes sense.

Last time I ordered from broadbandbuyer there was a delay where they blamed their supplier (it was listed as in stock).

I dont like the practice of companies pretending they have local stock when they dont so I decided not to use them again.
Logged
AAISP - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE

manny2003

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 38
Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A Preliminary findings.
« Reply #144 on: July 21, 2014, 03:52:24 AM »

Does anybody know how to:

  • recover the router's firmware in case of bad flash (is there any boot tftp procedure or similar)?
  • automate a command after the router startup. For instance to issue the "adsl configure --snr 10" command after each reboot

Many thanks!
Logged

dmcdonnell

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 93
Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A Preliminary findings.
« Reply #145 on: July 22, 2014, 12:13:27 PM »

Does anybody know how to:

  • recover the router's firmware in case of bad flash (is there any boot tftp procedure or similar)?
  • automate a command after the router startup. For instance to issue the "adsl configure --snr 10" command after each reboot

Many thanks!

1. See unbranding the VMG8324-B10 on how to flash a firmware from the bootloader via serial. http://forum.kitz.co.uk/index.php?topic=13939.msg262807#msg262807
2. I doubt it but ZyXel have released recently their ZyXEL AP Configurator which may be of use. (It runs under windoze which I do not have). http://www.zyxel.com/products_services/zyxel_ap_configurator.shtml?t=p#
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 33072
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A Preliminary findings.
« Reply #146 on: July 22, 2014, 01:02:05 PM »

Quote
automate a command after the router startup. For instance to issue the "adsl configure --snr 10" command after each reboot

Try DSLstats which works with the VMG8324.  It has both an Advanced Tweak and Custom Commands tab in the configuration section.
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 41106
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A Preliminary findings.
« Reply #147 on: July 22, 2014, 01:25:04 PM »

Quote
automate a command after the router startup. For instance to issue the "adsl configure --snr 10" command after each reboot

Try DSLstats which works with the VMG8324.  It has both an Advanced Tweak and Custom Commands tab in the configuration section.

Yes, it's probably not the best idea to issue that command after a reboot, because it will trigger another reboot. But you could use DSLstats' Advanced Tweak function instead of rebooting manually, then it will reboot and set the SNRM target in one go.
Logged
  Eric

manny2003

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 38
Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A Preliminary findings.
« Reply #148 on: July 23, 2014, 11:26:34 PM »

1. See unbranding the VMG8324-B10 on how to flash a firmware from the bootloader via serial. http://forum.kitz.co.uk/index.php?topic=13939.msg262807#msg262807
2. I doubt it but ZyXel have released recently their ZyXEL AP Configurator which may be of use. (It runs under windoze which I do not have). http://www.zyxel.com/products_services/zyxel_ap_configurator.shtml?t=p#

Thank you very much dmcdonnell. So it is how I supposed, there is no other way than opening the router and using a serial.
For the AP Configurator, thank you very much for the info, it's good to know. In any case I doubt it will work without a running router, I mean in the case the router is bricked due to a bad flash. More or less all the constructors supply a tool or a procedure for uploading the firmware via tftp, in an emergency boot for instance... but apparentrly Zyxel doesn't care...

Try DSLstats which works with the VMG8324.  It has both an Advanced Tweak and Custom Commands tab in the configuration section.

Thank you kitz! I will dig into DSLstats and how I can install/use it.

Yes, it's probably not the best idea to issue that command after a reboot, because it will trigger another reboot. But you could use DSLstats' Advanced Tweak function instead of rebooting manually, then it will reboot and set the SNRM target in one go.

Thank you roseway. I think it should be ok since when I issue the command the router does not reboot, just restart the dsl connection.
« Last Edit: July 23, 2014, 11:30:11 PM by manny2003 »
Logged

dmcdonnell

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 93
Re: ZyXel VMG8324-B10A Preliminary findings.
« Reply #149 on: July 27, 2014, 05:41:01 PM »

Boot log from Eircom F1000 (branded VMG8324-B10A) is here: http://pastebin.com/kaS2Md2D
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 8 9 [10] 11 12 ... 16