Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 2 [3]

Author Topic: Novices question  (Read 7516 times)

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 27378
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Novices question
« Reply #30 on: August 22, 2014, 05:02:30 PM »

;D
took modem to old XP pc and unlocked it at first time of asking

Excellent news.  :)  (So the problem was down to BGW, as I suspected.)

Quote
Lowestoft

Ah, a fellow East Anglian!  ;)
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4834
Re: Novices question
« Reply #31 on: August 22, 2014, 05:32:31 PM »

Yes that's a good result shamus  :thumbs:
And your thread has helped me kind of understand why my Vista PC seems unable to flash the HG612 by using the direct from PC lan to HG612 port 2 method

(So the problem was down to BGW, as I suspected.)
Quote

Thanks BC could you expand on the BGW issue it would be much appreciated when the next time I have to re-flash HG612.
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 27378
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Novices question
« Reply #32 on: August 22, 2014, 06:17:00 PM »

Quote
Thanks BC could you expand on the BGW issue it would be much appreciated when the next time I have to re-flash HG612.

It's quite simple, really. Do not use M$ Vista when attempting to flash a modem with new firmware image.  ;D
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

loonylion

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 723
Re: Novices question
« Reply #33 on: August 22, 2014, 06:20:32 PM »

win 7 works so it's just another black mark against vista  :P
Logged

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4834
Re: Novices question
« Reply #34 on: August 22, 2014, 06:46:10 PM »

Quote
Thanks BC could you expand on the BGW issue it would be much appreciated when the next time I have to re-flash HG612.

It's quite simple, really. Do not use M$ Vista when attempting to flash a modem with new firmware image.  ;D

B*CAT you make me LOL

Ok the first time I flashed the HG612 over 2 years ago with Vista and Configure the ethernet NIC on PC with IP address 192.168.1.100. (Direct PC lan to MODEM port 2) it worked fine.

It was the second flash 6 months later that I notice the (Direct PC lan to HG612 port 2) had stopped working when entering 192.168.1.1 and the only way to re-flash the HG612 was to have the router (HH3) inplace PC to HH3 and lan cable from router to port 2 on HG612 that's the only way I can flash the HG612 on Vista as of to-day.
« Last Edit: August 22, 2014, 06:49:16 PM by NewtronStar »
Logged

shamus

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 23
Re: Novices question
« Reply #35 on: August 22, 2014, 09:12:55 PM »

Glad to be of help
Logged
Pages: 1 2 [3]
 

anything