Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: D-Link DSL-320B Model - Broadcom Chipset  (Read 3838 times)

pcourtney

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 15
D-Link DSL-320B Model - Broadcom Chipset
« on: February 28, 2014, 06:19:20 PM »

is anyone using DSLstats with an ADSL modem from D-Link  model  DSL-320B ??

http://www.dlink.com/uk/en/home-solutions/connect/modems-and-gateways/dsl-320b-adsl-2-ethernet-modem
Logged

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39471
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: D-Link DSL-320B Model - Broadcom Chipset
« Reply #1 on: February 28, 2014, 06:48:10 PM »

It apparently has a Broadcom chipset, so there's a good chance that it will work. I suggest that you try it (if you haven't already). On the login configuration page, select one of the other D-Link models to fill in the login details. If you've changed the modem's password or IP address from the default, then edit the details accordingly.
Logged
  Eric

pcourtney

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: D-Link DSL-320B Model - Broadcom Chipset
« Reply #2 on: March 01, 2014, 04:11:57 PM »

after reading this about the 320 modem I think I will not bother

http://phil.lavin.me.uk/2012/01/d-link-dsl-320b-a-truly-awful-modem/

does anybody know of a pure ADSL modem that uses the Broadcom chip so I can use Eric's
DSLstats software with it ??

Logged

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39471
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: D-Link DSL-320B Model - Broadcom Chipset
« Reply #3 on: March 01, 2014, 04:22:58 PM »

I think the favourite would be the HG612, although you may have read elsewhere that I haven't been able to get it working in bridge mode. That's probably down to my incompetence, because others have succeeded.
Logged
  Eric

renluop

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3190
Re: D-Link DSL-320B Model - Broadcom Chipset
« Reply #4 on: March 01, 2014, 05:56:03 PM »

To the OP
I admit to not having anywhere near the knowledge of others here, but I hoe you will permit me to make an observation.  :-\ :)

I notice that the link belongs to a sole person's POV. I hope you will have read other reviews and opinions too, to get a wider perspective on the modem
Logged

pcourtney

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: D-Link DSL-320B Model - Broadcom Chipset
« Reply #5 on: March 01, 2014, 05:59:50 PM »

yes, I did do a bit more searching around, and as I was doing this the post I highlighted about the 320B was the final straw

some of the reviews on Amazon were pretty damming of the 320B as well, my think was to stay clear of trouble  :no:
Logged

renluop

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3190
Re: D-Link DSL-320B Model - Broadcom Chipset
« Reply #6 on: March 02, 2014, 07:24:40 AM »

 :)OT abit

 From the Amazon opinions it is a love it/ hate it, yet in PC Advisor it's pretty good.

Reviews, aren't they just >:D ;)
Logged
 

anything