Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4

Author Topic: D-Link DSL3780 - routerstats wont connect  (Read 19800 times)

delia

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
Re: D-Link DSL3780 - routerstats wont connect
« Reply #15 on: April 08, 2014, 04:49:39 PM »

Sorry about the delay and apologies for the typing error, it's down to complete ignorance I'm afraid!

Quote
# ls /sbin
arp       ifconfig  insmod    rmmod     sysctl    udhcpc
getty     init      reboot    route     udevd
# ls /usr/bin
LogFileParser     expr              pppd              traceroute
[                 firewallcmd       prolinecmd        udevinfo
adslphxcmd        free              qoscmd            udevstart
algcmd            head              smuxctl           updatewifistatus
alpha_mgr         hwnat             sys               uptime
atmphxcmd         ip                syslogd           utelnetd
basename          ip6tables         taskset           w
br2684ctl         iptables          tc                wan
brctl             killall           tcci              wlanphxcmd
cpu               klogd             tce               wscd
cut               mpstat            tcwdog            yes
dirname           nslookup          test
ebtables          passwd            tftp
env               portbindcmd       top
# uname -a
Linux tc 2.6.22.15 #12 SMP Tue Aug 27 19:10:39 CST 2013 mips unknown
#

Logged

Blackeagle

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 257
Re: D-Link DSL3780 - routerstats wont connect
« Reply #16 on: April 08, 2014, 05:12:35 PM »

Ah ha !!!!!!  Now, we are getting somewhere delia !!!

Please try the following command

adslphxcmd info --show

If that returns what I hope it does, it should be a fairly trivial matter for Eric to support your router with DSLstats.

Do not worry about typing errors or timings.  You may not realise it yet, but what you have revealed could end up benefiting an awful lot of people  :)
« Last Edit: April 08, 2014, 05:45:16 PM by Blackeagle »
Logged
ASCII stupid question, get a stupid ANSI -- TalkTalk Broadband since 2006

delia

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
Re: D-Link DSL3780 - routerstats wont connect
« Reply #17 on: April 08, 2014, 06:05:13 PM »

Quote
tc login: admin
Password:
# adslphxcmd info --show
adslphxcmd: ADSL driver and PHY status
Status Showtime
Channel: Interleave, UpInterleavestream rate = 596 Kbps, DownInterleavestream ra
te = 4168 Kbps
Link Power State:       L0
Mode:                   ITU G.992.3(ADSL2)
Channel:                Interleave
Line Status:            No Defect
Training Status:        Showtime
                Down            Up
SNR (dB):       6.2             9.2
Attn (dB):      55.3            35.6
Pwr (dBm):      0.0             12.5
Max(Kbps):      4680            704
Rate (Kbps):    4168            596
Intl Depth:     32              2
                        G.dmt framing
R:              0               0
S:              0               0
D:              0               0
                        ADSL2 framing
MSGc:           38              10
R:              6               12
S:              1.47            11.87
D:              32              2
                        Counters
RS:             79874808                9915721
RSCorr:         55574           0
RSUnCorr:       458             65504
HEC:            1643            0
OCD:            0               0
LCD:            0               0
Total Cells:    289357702               1841911
Drop Cells:     0               0
Bit Errors:     0               0

ES:             183             0
SES:            3               0
UAS:            85              85
CRC:            458             65504
FEC:            55574           0
#
Logged

Blackeagle

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 257
Re: D-Link DSL3780 - routerstats wont connect
« Reply #18 on: April 08, 2014, 06:31:14 PM »

Oh excellent  :dance:

That is indeed the correct command to pull of the stats.  Way to go delia !!

Whilst we wait for the author of DSLstats to confirm whether or not he can add the required support, it may be possible to use routerstats to grab the telnet data.

What you would need to do is click the cog at the top left of RS to get to the settings page. Set up the http login to the telnet login details (probably admin admin) and then move to the telnet configuration page.
Tick the top two boxes and untick the third.  Make sure the middle 'dot' is selected for broadcom in the chipset selection, then delete everything in the box at the side and type in /usr/bin/adslphxcmd info --show

Click in the 'disable http plotting' box, and then 'apply and save' and close the set up window.

Now if you click the 'run' button, the graphs should be available under the 'telnet router' tab. 

Of course DSLstats (if support can be added) will give you more info and save you having to configure everything manually.
Logged
ASCII stupid question, get a stupid ANSI -- TalkTalk Broadband since 2006

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39516
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: D-Link DSL3780 - routerstats wont connect
« Reply #19 on: April 08, 2014, 07:00:55 PM »

Having had an initial look at this, it may be possible to get DSLstats to work with this router, so long as the CLI provides the necessary data.

Delia, you're doing sterling work here, and I'm very grateful. Could I bother you to try just two more commands:

adslphxcmd info --stats

and

adslphxcmd info --Bits    (note the capital B)

You don't need to post the entire output of the second command (it'll be very long if it works) but just the first 10 lines or so would be useful.

Many thanks
Logged
  Eric

delia

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
Re: D-Link DSL3780 - routerstats wont connect
« Reply #20 on: April 08, 2014, 08:56:41 PM »

Hi roseway, here it is
Quote


# adslphxcmd info --stats
adslphxcmd: ADSL driver and PHY status
Status Showtime
Channel: Interleave, UpInterleavestream rate = 596 Kbps, DownInterleavestream ra
te = 4168 Kbps
Link Power State:       L0
Mode:                   ITU G.992.3(ADSL2)
Channel:                Interleave
Line Status:            No Defect
Training Status:        Showtime
                Down            Up
SNR (dB):       6.0             9.2
Attn (dB):      55.3            35.6
Pwr (dBm):      0.0             12.6
Max(Kbps):      4680            704
Rate (Kbps):    4168            596
Intl Depth:     32              2
                        G.dmt framing
R:              0               0
S:              0               0
D:              0               0
                        ADSL2 framing
MSGc:           38              10
R:              6               12
S:              1.47            11.87
D:              32              2
                        Counters
RS:             107507584               13346080
RSCorr:         11252           0
RSUnCorr:       788             65504
HEC:            3190            0
OCD:            0               0
LCD:            0               0
Total Cells:    389461319               2305528
Drop Cells:     0               0
Bit Errors:     0               0

ES:             270             0
SES:            7               0
UAS:            85              85
CRC:            788             65504
FEC:            11252           0
#
Sorry the second one didn't work!
Logged

delia

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
Re: D-Link DSL3780 - routerstats wont connect
« Reply #21 on: April 08, 2014, 09:19:27 PM »

Hi Blackeagle. I have tried following your instructions for configuring Router stats but I must be doing something wrong as it doesn't seem to be working.

Is the Telnet IP address 192.168.1.1?
Logged

krypton

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 127
Re: D-Link DSL3780 - routerstats wont connect
« Reply #22 on: April 08, 2014, 09:24:44 PM »

Normally the --Bits command should work. Maybe you have a stripped-down version with fewer functions.

Try adslphxcmd or adslphxcmd --help to get an overview of the available commands.
Logged

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39516
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: D-Link DSL3780 - routerstats wont connect
« Reply #23 on: April 08, 2014, 10:53:43 PM »

This isn't actually a Broadcom-based modem/router. It has a Ralink SoC, and the CLI has been designed to mimic Broadcom, but it isn't complete.

Looking at the information delia posted above, it seems that all the features of the normal --stats command are available, so DSLstats can be made to work with it in a somewhat reduced fashion. There's enough there to make it worthwhile, so I'll certainly be going ahead with it. It will be interesting to see if any other useful functions are revealed by morphium's suggestion above.
Logged
  Eric

delia

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
Re: D-Link DSL3780 - routerstats wont connect
« Reply #24 on: April 08, 2014, 11:10:27 PM »

I have tried both of morphium's suggestions
Quote
adslphxcmd
adslphxcmd --help

Unfortunately neither worked.
Logged

Blackeagle

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 257
Re: D-Link DSL3780 - routerstats wont connect
« Reply #25 on: April 09, 2014, 09:55:31 AM »

This isn't actually a Broadcom-based modem/router. It has a Ralink SoC, and the CLI has been designed to mimic Broadcom, but it isn't complete.

Looking at the information delia posted above, it seems that all the features of the normal --stats command are available, so DSLstats can be made to work with it in a somewhat reduced fashion. There's enough there to make it worthwhile, so I'll certainly be going ahead with it. It will be interesting to see if any other useful functions are revealed by morphium's suggestion above.

That is great news for owners of routers based around this chipset as they all seem to share the same adslphxcmd binary. 

Looking at the F/W of a similar hardware based router reveals a command wan.  This works in a bit of a non-conformist method as it outputs its results to /var/log/messages

Running a command then such as wan adsl linedata near outputs the result and to read it, one executes cat /var/log/messages

Similarly, wan adsl perfdata would list the errors.  You can see delia's router implements this command in /usr/bin

I point out this information in the hope it may be useful to someone.

Further information on commands and my original source - here

Quote
Hi Blackeagle. I have tried following your instructions for configuring Router stats but I must be doing something wrong as it doesn't seem to be working.

Is the Telnet IP address 192.168.1.1?

Yes it is.  I can't guarantee that it'll work but I have had success in the past getting RS to graph from telnet (by changing the command) when it couldn't scrape the http page.

@ Eric  - You did notice both the --stats and --show options return the same data ?
Logged
ASCII stupid question, get a stupid ANSI -- TalkTalk Broadband since 2006

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39516
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: D-Link DSL3780 - routerstats wont connect
« Reply #26 on: April 09, 2014, 10:10:17 AM »

Quote
@ Eric  - You did notice both the --stats and --show options return the same data ?

Actually I didn't. In Broadcom based routers the --stats option returns more comprehensive data. I think I'll stick with --stats because that's what DSLstats already uses.
Logged
  Eric

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 27724
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: D-Link DSL3780 - routerstats wont connect
« Reply #27 on: April 09, 2014, 03:48:06 PM »

I have tried both of morphium's suggestions
Quote
adslphxcmd
adslphxcmd --help

Unfortunately neither worked.

But what actually happened?  ???

Absolutely nothing? Just the command line prompt returned? Or was there some error message shown?
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

delia

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
Re: D-Link DSL3780 - routerstats wont connect
« Reply #28 on: April 09, 2014, 09:31:27 PM »

Quote
But what actually happened?

Just the command line prompt returned
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 27724
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: D-Link DSL3780 - routerstats wont connect
« Reply #29 on: April 09, 2014, 09:53:24 PM »

Just the command line prompt returned

Thank you.  :)

We now know that the adslphxcmd utility has been built to ignore any command line flags that it does not understand and to not provide any form of help.  :(
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4
 

anything