Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 [2] 3

Author Topic: DSLstats v4.41 released  (Read 13375 times)

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 41106
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: DSLstats v4.41 released
« Reply #15 on: January 21, 2014, 09:08:01 PM »

I have to admit that it was a bit of a mess, but hopefully it's sorted now.
Logged
  Eric

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 33072
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: DSLstats v4.41 released
« Reply #16 on: January 21, 2014, 09:20:43 PM »

thankyou  :)
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

snadge

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1430
Re: DSLstats v4.41 released
« Reply #17 on: January 22, 2014, 12:14:12 AM »

since this version when I run it for first time it opens larger than my full screen (1440x900) ?? - I have to re-size it down - is there anyway to make it open as it used too?

oh and also the RS counter is now at 1.9 Billion... up from 0.7 billion just the other day... so ive used 1.2 billion in RS codewords in few days - so over the 35 days ive been online for I must have gone round the clock a few times... it must be 4 billion like you say and therefore the RS Percent starts to creep up as its not a true representation - maybe good if you could get DSL stats to record the RS to keep its own count.
« Last Edit: January 22, 2014, 12:16:40 AM by snadge »
Logged
BT900 <-> ONT <-> SmartHub 2.0
G/bit LAN to all devices <-> Speeds:
excellent <-> Good

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 33072
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: DSLstats v4.41 released
« Reply #18 on: January 22, 2014, 12:26:53 AM »

since this version when I run it for first time it opens larger than my full screen (1440x900) ?? - I have to re-size it down - is there anyway to make it open as it

That's weird, mine opened small and I had to resize and make it larger.   
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

snadge

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1430
Re: DSLstats v4.41 released
« Reply #19 on: January 22, 2014, 01:10:00 AM »

this is how mine opens..

Logged
BT900 <-> ONT <-> SmartHub 2.0
G/bit LAN to all devices <-> Speeds:
excellent <-> Good

snadge

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1430
Re: DSLstats v4.41 released
« Reply #20 on: January 22, 2014, 01:12:50 AM »

managed to fix

1) resize to the size you want it too open all the time
2) hold down CTRL then close the app

next time it opens it should open same size as closed

ive not yet tested too see if it works after a reboot though, this tweak works with most resizable windows and apps
Logged
BT900 <-> ONT <-> SmartHub 2.0
G/bit LAN to all devices <-> Speeds:
excellent <-> Good

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 41106
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: DSLstats v4.41 released
« Reply #21 on: January 22, 2014, 07:37:22 AM »

I feel that this must be something to do with Windows. DSLstats saves its window size and position on shutdown, and restores these values the next time it's started. The implementation of this hasn't changed since the early days of the program. You can see the saved values in dslstats.ini, in the section headed "[position]" (the values are in pixels). So it seems that something is overriding the values saved by the program.

[Edit] Just an afterthought - looking at the image you posted above, snadge, it appears that DSLstats is maximised (if I understand the buttons at the top right correctly), so I wonder if clicking on the Restore button would restore the program to its saved size and position.
« Last Edit: January 22, 2014, 07:43:40 AM by roseway »
Logged
  Eric

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 33072
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: DSLstats v4.41 released
« Reply #22 on: January 22, 2014, 07:46:32 AM »

I wouldn't worry too much about it Eric.   It only happened the first time after I updated, I resized to make it larger and its been fine since.  It wasn't tiny, just smaller than I usually have it.   It wasn't a problem and I only mentioned it because of what snadge said,   I wouldn't have bothered otherwise.
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 41106
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: DSLstats v4.41 released
« Reply #23 on: January 22, 2014, 08:12:45 AM »

Thanks for that, but because I have no personal means of testing DSLstats on recent versions of Windows, I do want to keep alert to possible issues like this.
Logged
  Eric

ryant704

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 318
Re: DSLstats v4.41 released
« Reply #24 on: January 22, 2014, 09:03:16 AM »

I re-sized mine by accident, I assumed it would take the same size snapshots it didn't so I just maximized it so they would be the same from there on out. Though I would like to return to the original size, maybe add a reset size button somewhere?
« Last Edit: January 22, 2014, 12:12:43 PM by ryant704 »
Logged

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 41106
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: DSLstats v4.41 released
« Reply #25 on: January 22, 2014, 10:34:25 AM »

Quote
maybe add a reset size button somewhere?

I'll have a look at that.
Logged
  Eric

snadge

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1430
Re: DSLstats v4.41 released
« Reply #26 on: January 22, 2014, 12:45:00 PM »

all I did was unpack the new version into the old version folder asking to overwrite everything, then upon first launch it was open full screen but not maximised.
Logged
BT900 <-> ONT <-> SmartHub 2.0
G/bit LAN to all devices <-> Speeds:
excellent <-> Good

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 41106
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: DSLstats v4.41 released
« Reply #27 on: January 22, 2014, 12:51:28 PM »

I can't explain that at the moment, snadge. Is it behaving as it should now (i.e. if you close it down and restart it, does it come up with the same size and position)?
Logged
  Eric

snadge

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1430
Re: DSLstats v4.41 released
« Reply #28 on: January 22, 2014, 10:19:23 PM »

I can't explain that at the moment, snadge. Is it behaving as it should now (i.e. if you close it down and restart it, does it come up with the same size and position)?

it only worked after resizing then closing whilst holding the CTRL button down, this is a trick in windows you can use to make windows open applications to max etc
Logged
BT900 <-> ONT <-> SmartHub 2.0
G/bit LAN to all devices <-> Speeds:
excellent <-> Good

Mark1

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 30
Re: DSLstats v4.41 released
« Reply #29 on: January 30, 2014, 12:27:26 AM »

I have a feature request which would make DSLstats really impressive.  ;D

How about a left/right scroll button for some of the graphs thus avoiding the cumbersome sideways movements of the mouse or perhaps the scroll wheel could be used for this purpose?
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3