Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Problems with unlocked HG612  (Read 9040 times)

can2002

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 22
Problems with unlocked HG612
« on: January 11, 2014, 04:26:49 PM »

Hi there,

I've just been upgraded to FTTC and received an ECI modem.

I bought a Huawei HG612 from eBay and the flashed the unlocked SP10 firmware as per instructions.  When I connect the unlocked HG612 to the phone line (removing the DSL, LAN and power cables from the ECI), it powers up and then the DSL light flashes rapidly for a short period then goes out - this then repeats continually.

Is there any configuration required after flashing the modem?

Regards,
Chris
Logged

les-70

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1228
Re: Problems with unlocked HG612
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2014, 05:07:52 PM »

   The previous owner may have changed details if they also unlocked it at some stage.  With modem powered up press the reset button for 10 secs. It should reboot and revert to the defaults.   hope that works.
Logged

can2002

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 22
Re: Problems with unlocked HG612
« Reply #2 on: January 11, 2014, 05:12:39 PM »

Thanks for that.  I had tried resetting through the web GUI before, but I'll try the reset button approach you suggested and report back.

UPDATE

Completed the reset using the button (power LED flashed shortly after to confirm it completed) and the same problem.  Each time I put the ECI back it connects fine.
« Last Edit: January 11, 2014, 05:32:27 PM by can2002 »
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 27123
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Problems with unlocked HG612
« Reply #3 on: January 11, 2014, 07:34:31 PM »

My only suggestion is to:
  • Power down the modem.
  • Disconnect it from the line.
  • Power up the modem and allow it to initialise.
  • Press and hold the Reset button for a good 10 seconds.
  • Allow the modem to initialise and then power it off, once again.
  • Now repeat the entire unlocking procedure, taking care not to rush any stage.
  • Once again, power-cycle the modem.
  • Perform another 10 second, long reset.
  • Finally, once the modem has initialised, reconnect it to the line.
If, after following the above, the HG612 still fails to synchronise with the cabinet MSAN then my only conclusion is that you have been sold a defective modem.  :(
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

can2002

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 22
Re: Problems with unlocked HG612
« Reply #4 on: January 11, 2014, 08:51:24 PM »

Many thanks for the feedback.

I found one further and slightly odd thing.  Before reading your message I tried another change.  I'm not exactly sure what led me to it, but I removed the ptm1.301 WAN connection and then changed the ptm1.101 connection from bridge to router mode as per the article at http://nprDOTmeDOTuk/hg612.html.

I then reconnected the HG612 and it actually established a connection - I'd left it for approximately half an hour and am not sure whether it was the configuration change or just leaving it to sync was the answer.

I've just reset the modem again and will try it this time without removing the ptm1.301 to see if this makes a difference.

Regards,
Chris
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 27123
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Problems with unlocked HG612
« Reply #5 on: January 12, 2014, 12:41:42 AM »

:hmm:  Hmm . . . I've just reviewed that link and what it shows is not relevant to usage of the HG612 with a FTTC service.

Seriously, I would recommend that you enter the GUI (via 192.168.1.1), take Maintenance ---> Device, left-click on the Restore Default Settings button and then leave the device configuration alone. With the unlocked firmware installed, you have the ability to monitor the line's performance. No configuration changes are necessary.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

can2002

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 22
Re: Problems with unlocked HG612
« Reply #6 on: January 12, 2014, 07:55:28 AM »

Hiya,

Thanks again.  I understand your point and I don't want to use the HG612 as a router but I was trying it to see if it made a difference.

I did a few more checks and with the modem converted to operate as a router (whether or not I remove the pmt1.301 wan connection) it eventually synchronises after approximately 30 minutes.

Once the configuration is reverted (either via the long-reset method or via the web GUI) it fails to sync (the last time I tried I left it for just over an hour).

A work colleague has a HG612 so I shall ask him to test the modem on his line in case it's something to do with my line.

Chris

UPDATE

I e-mailed the eBay seller to ask (amongst other things) when the modem was last used and in the process it transpired that it was being used with Sky.  Knowing how that company likes to fiddle with settings I wondered if this might be part of my problem??
« Last Edit: January 12, 2014, 08:25:01 AM by can2002 »
Logged

ryant704

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 318
Re: Problems with unlocked HG612
« Reply #7 on: January 12, 2014, 09:59:58 AM »

It doesn't matter whether the settings had been changed before, you have reset the modem to factory and then installed the unlocked firmware (which will change the settings so it will work with any FTTC connection).

I would do as BKAT has said in his post but before installing the new firmware again try it with the default and see if it syncs straight away. If it doesn't it's faulty and I would ask for a refund.
Logged

can2002

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 22
Re: Problems with unlocked HG612 - FIXED
« Reply #8 on: January 12, 2014, 11:47:54 AM »

Hiya,

Up until this morning I'd been using the B028SP10 firmware (I'd tried both the original and unlocked variants) with no success.

I realised this morning that I had not tried the B030SP06 version, so tried initially flashing the locked version and the modem synchronised straight away.  I then tried the unlocked version and again, the modem syncronised as quickly as the ECI modem openreach supplied me.

To be sure I then re-flashed B028SP10 on the HG612 and sure enough it failed to synchronise.  With B030SP06 back on, it synchronised straight away.

I assume the problem might be something to do with my telephone line or maybe the equipment in my cabinet, but either way the B030SP06 firmware seems to be working.

Thanks again for the feedback!

Cheers,
Chris
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 27123
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Problems with unlocked HG612
« Reply #9 on: January 12, 2014, 04:41:25 PM »

Something weird is definitely occurring! (And it troubles me that I cannot "put my paw" on it.)  :-\

In total, there are five different firmware images for the HG612. I know them as --
  • bcm96368MVWG_fs_kernel_HG612V100R001C01B028SP10_Asbo_Unlocked
  • bcm96368MVWG_fs_kernel_HG612V100R001C01B028SP10_Asbo_Unlocked_Updated_BLOB
  • bcm96368MVWG_fs_kernel_HG612V100R001C01B030SP06_Wolfy_Unlocked
  • bcm96368MVWG_fs_kernel_HG612V100R001C01B030SP06_Wolfy_Unlocked_GUI
  • bcm96368MVWG_fs_kernel_HG612V100R001C01B030SP06_Wolfy_Unlocked_GUI_No_BTAgent
Out of those five (all of which are perfectly viable), I would recommend using number 4.

There is the possibility that one of the firmware images was corrupted during the download. Did you verify the image, once downloaded? (I.e. check the md5sum or sha*sum hash?)
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

Ronski

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3250
Re: Problems with unlocked HG612
« Reply #10 on: January 12, 2014, 04:49:10 PM »

There was also another that appeared around April last year

bcm96368MVWG_fs_kernel_HG612V100R001C01B028SP10ulk003-1364525729

I used it up until my firmware auto updated.
Logged
Formerly restrained by ECI and ali,  now surfing along at 390/36  ;D

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 27123
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Problems with unlocked HG612
« Reply #11 on: January 12, 2014, 05:16:30 PM »

Hmm . . . I suspect that was one of Wolfy's experiments, based on one of the two Asbokid images.

If that is the case, then it will be what I know as --

bcm96368MVWG_fs_kernel_HG612V100R001C01B028SP10_Wolfy_No_BTAgent
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

can2002

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 22
Re: Problems with unlocked HG612
« Reply #12 on: January 12, 2014, 07:34:55 PM »

Hiya,

I got it using the link shown in http://huaweihg612hacking.wordpress.com/2013/03/26/firmware-with-the-newest-hardware-driver-blog/ (from Google Drive).

The filename (for the unlocked version I tried yesterday) and MD5 checksum are shown below:

Filename: bcm96368MVWG_fs_kernel_HG612V100R001C01B028SP10unlocked002
MD5 Checksum: 063d193e5e579075f1d53947ff46bfa3

Cheers,
Chris

p.s. really impressed with the forum - friendly, helpful and knowledgeable responses!!
« Last Edit: January 12, 2014, 07:41:18 PM by can2002 »
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 27123
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Problems with unlocked HG612
« Reply #13 on: January 12, 2014, 10:00:02 PM »

Checking the images held at The Cattery, here are the relevant md5sum hashes --

Code: [Select]
3977c5c398932073a88cbbe1ac9558d7  bcm96368MVWG_fs_kernel_HG612V100R001C01B028SP10_BT_Original
063d193e5e579075f1d53947ff46bfa3  bcm96368MVWG_fs_kernel_HG612V100R001C01B028SP10_Asbo_Unlocked
b44ffc3a98eae8e264a7540982fb1114  bcm96368MVWG_fs_kernel_HG612V100R001C01B028SP10_Asbo_Unlocked_Updated_BLOB
63bf11106d3fc568ccbb80ad9829ac0e  bcm96368MVWG_fs_kernel_HG612V100R001C01B028SP10_Wolfy_No_BTAgent

36914cf0cec31ec18937ae67adf94812  bcm96368MVWG_fs_kernel_HG612V100R001C01B030SP06_BT_Original
d8a11d7de7756bdd93a38d2bf74193c2  bcm96368MVWG_fs_kernel_HG612V100R001C01B030SP06_Wolfy_Unlocked
23415ce3a842e404e5a0544feace00f4  bcm96368MVWG_fs_kernel_HG612V100R001C01B030SP06_Wolfy_Unlocked_GUI
7e4d07f0c7e9264342a5c6b5f97b4663  bcm96368MVWG_fs_kernel_HG612V100R001C01B030SP06_Wolfy_Unlocked_GUI_No_BTAgent
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

can2002

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 22
Re: Problems with unlocked HG612
« Reply #14 on: January 12, 2014, 10:56:22 PM »

So the one I consistently had problems with corresponds to the file named:

bcm96368MVWG_fs_kernel_HG612V100R001C01B028SP10_Asbo_Unlocked

As mentioned in the earlier posts, I was never able to get this firmware to sync regardless of what combination of factory resets (before/after/both, long-press/GUI, etc.) unless I reconfigured the wan connection labelled pmt1.101 from bridged to routed and entered my PPP username/password and even then, only after a good 30-40 minutes.

The file I achieved success with corresponds with the file named:

bcm96368MVWG_fs_kernel_HG612V100R001C01B030SP06_Wolfy_Unlocked

Cheers,
Chris
Logged
Pages: [1] 2