Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: dslstats and routerstats  (Read 2117 times)

tonyappuk

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 589
dslstats and routerstats
« on: November 07, 2013, 12:38:44 PM »

I would be very grateful for some pointers on fixing what I'm sure is a silly or finger trouble with my use of router monitoring software. I can get neither of the two programs in the subject line to work now and it appears to be a router config problem. Both progs according to their and the routers event logs telnet in but then exit after trying fruitlessly to extract data. At one time I got an error message suggesting there were too many progs trying to telnet in but that is not true now. The problem with routerstats occurred once before and I went on the routerstats forum but it suddenly came good without apparently any change by me.

The router is a TG582 supplied by Plusnet and it works fine in every other respect. The problems arose after a blue screen lock up after inadvertently trying to run an XP program on my Win 7 system a few weeks ago. A system restore and judicious tweaking has got me back to apparently normal working but not with routerstats or dslstats, although I can access the tg582 with my browser and read the data, it's not as convenient of course.

Could one of the admired gurus here suggest what else I might try, please.
Tony
Logged

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39500
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: dslstats and routerstats
« Reply #1 on: November 07, 2013, 01:17:29 PM »

DSLstats does work with a generic TG582N, but I've no personal experience with the Plusnet version. Assuming that there's no important difference, then all you should need to do is to select the TG582N from the drop-down list of routers *** and enter the password (the same one as you use when accessing it using a browser). If it doesn't work, could you copy the information from the event log, which might give a clue.

If you haven't already done this, you may need to reboot the router to clear any orphaned logins remaining from your earlier attempts.

*** Correction to the above: with the Plusnet TG582N the username is 'admin' and not 'Administrator' so you need to change this as well as entering the password.
« Last Edit: November 07, 2013, 01:43:24 PM by roseway »
Logged
  Eric

tonyappuk

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 589
Re: dslstats and routerstats
« Reply #2 on: November 07, 2013, 05:13:45 PM »

I have had it working with the 582 and with routerstats but it won't work now. The event log says
"Configuration files stored in C:\Users\Tony\AppData\Local\dslstats\
07 Nov 2013 11:54:24   Recording started
07 Nov 2013 11:54:28   No stats received
Connected
07 Nov 2013 11:55:28   No stats received
07 Nov 2013 11:56:28   No stats received
07 Nov 2013 11:57:28   No stats received"
Ad infinitum and it's still going now

In routerstats it says
 " Thu 07 Nov 2013   16:58:47:  Logging in with telnet...
      Thu 07 Nov 2013   16:58:51: 
      Thu 07 Nov 2013   16:58:53: 
      Thu 07 Nov 2013   16:58:57:  Logged in - telnet.
      Thu 07 Nov 2013   16:59:03:  Alarm timers reset
      Thu 07 Nov 2013   16:59:03:  Run button clicked
      Thu 07 Nov 2013   16:59:04:  Started
      Thu 07 Nov 2013   16:59:49:  Logging in with telnet...
      Thu 07 Nov 2013   16:59:53: 
      Thu 07 Nov 2013   16:59:55: 
      Thu 07 Nov 2013   16:59:57:  Logged in - telnet."
but fails to get any data.

If I telnet in with admin and my router password I get the funny (is it busybox?) graphic with the admin prompt and "help" gives me a list of commands.

If that works I don't see why neither DSL stats or routerstats won't.
Tony
Logged

renluop

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3204
Re: dslstats and routerstats
« Reply #3 on: November 07, 2013, 06:01:06 PM »

This i s likely a daft idea, but at one time I had cases of no data received. IIRC the snapshot folder was not where Config> Snapshot was pointing.
Logged

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39500
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: dslstats and routerstats
« Reply #4 on: November 07, 2013, 06:58:39 PM »

In DSLstats could you look at Telnet Data --> Connection Stats after it's failed to get any data. This may give a clue.
Logged
  Eric

tonyappuk

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 589
Re: dslstats and routerstats
« Reply #5 on: November 07, 2013, 07:17:24 PM »

Eric
That page is completely blank
Tony
Logged

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39500
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: dslstats and routerstats
« Reply #6 on: November 07, 2013, 07:38:33 PM »

Routerstats and DSLstats must be using the same commands to gather the data, and in neither case do they receive any, although the telnet login is successful.

I've had a sudden thought - are you running Routerstats and DSLstats at the same time? If so, it could possibly be the problem.

Otherwise, could you manually log into the router by telnet, then type:

xdsl info expand=enabled

(exactly like that) then see what the result is. From what you've said, I would expect there to be no output, but there may be an error message.
Logged
  Eric

tonyappuk

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 589
Re: dslstats and routerstats
« Reply #7 on: November 07, 2013, 07:58:10 PM »

Eric
I get a complete data dump with all the wanted info. Looking at the telnet command you had me send, I changed the config details in DSLstats so that the CLI command prefix was xdsl and everything came good. I'm sure I had tried that before but it was set up with adsl as the cli command prefix. Thank you all fixed now.

It doesn't explain the routerstats silly but thats not your problem.

Thanks again for taking the trouble to rescue me!
Tony
Logged

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39500
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: dslstats and routerstats
« Reply #8 on: November 07, 2013, 09:02:19 PM »

I'm glad it's fixed, Tony. :)
Logged
  Eric