Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: Speed up Firefox  (Read 6277 times)

Floydoid

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 8188
  • Marmalade... I like marmalade
Re: Speed up Firefox
« Reply #15 on: January 01, 2008, 12:06:52 PM »

Hmm, my notes also suggest these values, comments anyone?

network.http.max-connections-per-server - set it to 16

network.http.max-persistent-connections-per-proxy - set it to 8

network.http.max-persistent-connections-per-server - set it to 8
« Last Edit: January 01, 2008, 12:09:41 PM by Floydoid »
Logged

tickmike

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3307
  • Yes Another Penguin !. :)
    • Free Download from.
Re: Speed up Firefox
« Reply #16 on: January 01, 2008, 06:17:22 PM »

I have tried the advice on Kitz link  "Also worth reading"

http://egonitron.com/2007/05/25/the-truth-about-the-firefox-pipelining-trick/

But it did not seem to load any faster  :(.
I have between 20 to 35 tabs open at any one time (24 now) and they are loaded after 90 seconds then the page completely reloads again and is fully loaded at about 120 seconds.

I also use a proxy server.

I will get a better idea after using it a few times.
Logged
I RECOMMEND TRYING PCLinuxOS (www.pclinuxos.com) .
I have a set of 8 fixed IP's From my Eclipse isp.
BT ADSL2 (G992.3) line>HG612 set as a Modem, Bridge, WAN not Bound to LAN1 or 2 >Smoothwall (Hardware Firewall and routing) > Ethernet LAN, DMZ,WiFI LAN and Spare LAN .
DSLstats LAN2  linked Ethernet

guest

  • Guest
Re: Speed up Firefox
« Reply #17 on: January 01, 2008, 06:36:00 PM »

I suspect a good site to test this on would be www.numion.com - with a few tweaks to the test you can almost eliminate server-side lag (eg the UK http tests are stunningly slow compared to the Belgian ones - it is in fact an EXCELLENT example of how UK infrastructure lags way behind everyone else).
Logged

dave.m

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1453
Re: Speed up Firefox
« Reply #18 on: January 01, 2008, 08:56:37 PM »

I've changed it to 8 in the original post. OK Eric?  :-[ :blush:
dave
Logged

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39516
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: Speed up Firefox
« Reply #19 on: January 01, 2008, 10:33:39 PM »

Yes, that's fine Dave, and I won't make you stand in the naughty corner. :D
Logged
  Eric

Accordion

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 468
Re: Speed up Firefox
« Reply #20 on: January 02, 2008, 09:02:21 AM »

I'm glad I read this - and it's surprising that I first became aware of the tweaks through Lockergnome. You'd think that those guys would be a bit more clued up.

I've adjusted mine accordingly.
Logged

Azzaka

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 572
  • SysAdmin
    • A Designers Work in Progress
Re: Speed up Firefox
« Reply #21 on: January 02, 2008, 01:35:27 PM »

To be honest I have never tried tweeking FF, i am now using the Beta3 and it works for me nicely on 8. the only difference was nglayout.initialpaint.delay had to be set to disabled.
Logged
I Sync', I Auth', therefore I am.
Online

tickmike

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3307
  • Yes Another Penguin !. :)
    • Free Download from.
Re: Speed up Firefox
« Reply #22 on: January 02, 2008, 11:17:17 PM »

Anyone who uses a lot of Tabs tried it ? (I'm using 25 open now). If so did you see any difference ?.
Logged
I RECOMMEND TRYING PCLinuxOS (www.pclinuxos.com) .
I have a set of 8 fixed IP's From my Eclipse isp.
BT ADSL2 (G992.3) line>HG612 set as a Modem, Bridge, WAN not Bound to LAN1 or 2 >Smoothwall (Hardware Firewall and routing) > Ethernet LAN, DMZ,WiFI LAN and Spare LAN .
DSLstats LAN2  linked Ethernet
Pages: 1 [2]
 

anything