Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum

Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Which modem?  (Read 2882 times)

Paul Carter

• Just arrived
Which modem?
« on: December 20, 2013, 04:26:02 PM »

Hi everyone.
This is my first post on here but I have been lurking for a while and found this forum to be a great source of information.
I hope I will be able to contribute some useful information based on years of building computers and tweaking my network performance too.
I'm not a pro but advanced amateur.

Anyway here is my query. I had a large capacity FTTC upgrade at the beginning of November and was initially very pleased with the performance of over 70Mbps download speeds. I've got a fully wired network with wireless for the laptop and iPad when needed.
The BTOR engineer had supplied an ECI B-FOCuS V-2FUb/I Rev.1B modem and Huawei router the latter which I immediately replaced with my Billion Bipac 7800N. I soon became frustrated at not being able to access the modem's webpage to view the stats so I bought a Huawei HG612 3B and unlocked it. In the process of swapping the modems over and playing around I have forced the DSLAM to reduce the download speed to just over 30Mbps. I'm reluctant to do any more resets now because I'm banking on the DSLAM resetting after a few days and increase sync speed.
However what I would like to know is which if either modem performs better overall, the ECI or the Huawei so I can use the better one?
Thank you.

boe323

Re: Which modem?
« Reply #1 on: December 21, 2013, 12:36:15 PM »

I would of thought matching the modem to the hardware would be better, do you know what's in the cabinet?, eci or Broadcom... find out and use the corresponding modem. No expert but makes sense... im sure the experts would agree here. I guess someone will post and correct me if im wrong.

HPsauce

• Helpful