Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 5

Author Topic: Stuck IP Profile??  (Read 31034 times)

Brian Coat

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 43
Stuck IP Profile??
« on: October 19, 2013, 10:06:22 PM »

 Hi

I just fitted a Zyxel 3300N Modem to replace my OR Modem and HH3.

The IP profile has been 2MBPS for months on the old modem, although it has been higher in the past.

Now I have a modem where I can see stats, it looks like the line could be capable of faster rates (see below).

Is this the case and is it possible that the IP profile is stuck on 2MBPS???

Any advice gratefully received!!!

Thanks


============================================================================
VDSL Training Status: Showtime
Mode: VDSL2 Annex B
VDSL Profile: Profile 17a
Traffic Type: PTM Mode
Link Uptime: 0 day: 4 hours: 54 minutes
============================================================================
VDSL Port Details Upstream Downstream
Line Rate: 0.522 Mbps 2.070 Mbps
Actual Net Data Rate: 0.503 Mbps 1.998 Mbps
Trellis Coding: ON ON
SNR Margin: 6.1 dB 24.4 dB
Actual Delay: 0 ms 16 ms
Transmit Power: 5.1 dBm 9.3 dBm
Receive Power: -4.7 dBm -22.5 dBm
Actual INP: 0.0 symbols 8.0 symbols
Total Attenuation: 9.8 dB 31.8 dB
Attainable Net Data Rate: 0.508 Mbps 18.436 Mbps
============================================================================
VDSL Band Status U0 U1 U2 U3 D1 D2 D3
Line Attenuation(dB): 9.8 69.8 67.7 N/A 31.7 90.3 102.3
Signal Attenuation(dB): 9.8 N/A N/A N/A 31.8 N/A N/A
SNR Margin(dB): 6.1 N/A N/A N/A 24.4 N/A N/A
Transmit Power(dBm): 5.1 N/A N/A N/A 9.3 N/A N/A
============================================================================

VDSL Counters

Downstream Upstream
Since Link time = 54 min 55 sec
FEC: 3033 0
CRC: 2 0
ES: 1 0
SES: 0 0
UAS: 0 0
LOS: 0 0
LOF: 0 0
LOM: 0 0
Latest 15 minutes time = 10 min 17 sec
FEC: 92 0
CRC: 0 0
ES: 0 0
SES: 0 0
UAS: 0 0
LOS: 0 0
LOF: 0 0
LOM: 0 0
Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
FEC: 114 0
CRC: 0 0
ES: 0 0
SES: 0 0
UAS: 0 0
LOS: 0 0
LOF: 0 0
LOM: 0 0
Latest 1 day time = 4 hours 55 min 17 sec
FEC: 3033 0
CRC: 2 0
ES: 1 0
SES: 0 0
UAS: 20 20
LOS: 0 0
LOF: 0 0
LOM: 0 0
Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
FEC: 0 0
CRC: 0 0
ES: 0 0
SES: 0 0
UAS: 0 0
LOS: 0 0
LOF: 0 0
LOM: 0 0
Total time = 4 hours 55 min 17 sec
FEC: 3033 0
CRC: 2 0
ES: 1 0
SES: 0 0
UAS: 20 20
LOS: 0 0
LOF: 0 0
LOM: 0 0
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 33882
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Stuck IP Profile??
« Reply #1 on: October 19, 2013, 10:52:44 PM »

:ouch: :o :swoon:  Oh!

Hi and welcome btw Brian.  :)

Can you please do a BT performance test and let us see the results. (make sure you dont include your phone no though).
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

burakkucat

  • Respected
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 38300
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Stuck IP Profile??
« Reply #2 on: October 19, 2013, 10:59:16 PM »

A VDSL2 service that is worse than some of the horrors that Walter has encountered in Ewhurst:o

I would not have thought it possible that anyone could have a service worse than that of a Ewhurst resident.  :hmm:

I think the BT Wholesale Perfomance Test may also be appropriate. Ignore the instructions in Steps 1 to 8, select 'Yes' and click on 'Begin Test'. Once that has completed then take the 'Further Diagnostics' option.
« Last Edit: October 19, 2013, 11:03:50 PM by burakkucat »
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 33882
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Stuck IP Profile??
« Reply #3 on: October 19, 2013, 11:12:15 PM »

yep :(

* kitz suspects a banded profile.

Brian appears to be with BT so we may have some difficulty explaining it to their 1st line support.     The line isnt brilliant but there's certainly quite a bit more speed in it.  Wonder what happened to make it get banded so low?



Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

burakkucat

  • Respected
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 38300
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Stuck IP Profile??
« Reply #4 on: October 19, 2013, 11:20:31 PM »

Depending upon Brian's location, we could send in Walter and his wheelbarrow to gather statistical data on the line's performance. Once the evidence has been collated, Walter would be the one to help in 'getting the message across' to Beattie.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

Brian Coat

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 43
Re: Stuck IP Profile??
« Reply #5 on: October 20, 2013, 09:03:43 AM »

Firstly, thanks for all the replies - what a cracking forum!!

Tests
====

The BT Wholesale Speed Test results are below - they are the same whether you use BT kit or the Zyxel but of course I can get stats off the latter only (my OR modem is bog standard).

BT
==
I contacted BT support today via Online chat and they got me to go through various very basic checks using the OR Modem + HH3 and they then referred me to "Network Fault Specialist Team. The team will call you within the next 48hrs". It took 1.5 hours for them to get to this stage so I'm doubtful of a quick fix ...
             
If anyone knows a way to get through to someone (at BT) who actually understands the systems and can help, I'd really appreciate it!

BrianCoat

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

1. Best Effort Test: -provides background information.

   Download Speed
   1.86 Mbps
    
0 Mbps   1.93 Mbps
Max Achievable Speed

 Download speedachieved during the test was - 1.86 Mbps
 For your connection, the acceptable range of speedsis 1.35 Mbps-1.93 Mbps .
 Additional Information:
 IP Profile for your line is - 1.93 Mbps

2. Upstream Test: -provides background information.

   Upload Speed
   0.41 Mbps
    
0 Mbps   2 Mbps
Max Achievable Speed

Upload speed achieved during the test was - 0.41Mbps
 Additional Information:
 Upstream Rate IP profile on your line is - 2 Mbps
« Last Edit: October 20, 2013, 11:00:02 AM by Brian Coat »
Logged

Black Sheep

  • Helpful
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 5721
Re: Stuck IP Profile??
« Reply #6 on: October 20, 2013, 12:10:03 PM »

Hi Brian

'If anyone knows a way to get through to someone (at BT) who actually understands the systems and can help, I'd really appreciate it!'

As this is the start of the faulting process, I'm afraid you'll have to abide by your ISP's protocol for now. If this was, for example, the 3,4,5th time you've had to report the fault, then other forces come into play. 'Triage Teams', 'Chairmans Letters', 'e-Viper' ...... are introduced, in order to bottom out the issue.

Before we ring Walter on the Bat-phone, lets give the ISP and probably Openreach, a chance to diagnose and repair the circuit. That's what we do.  :)

Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 33882
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Stuck IP Profile??
« Reply #7 on: October 20, 2013, 01:51:54 PM »

Thanks for letting us see the test results.   I think the best possible form of action is gathering the evidence in case its needed.

Im not sure which chipset the Zyxel 3300N uses, so unsure of compatability with either DSLstats or routerstats.  You could try routerstats lite.  These tools monitor your connection and log items such as the SNRm which can often give us a good indication of any faults on your line.

The 2nd bit of information which may help your cause is getting the results from the BT FTTC availability checker.   It may also be worthwhile putting in a neighbours phone number for comparision with yours just in case it picks up that youve been banded.

As regards to your ISP, as Blacksheep says, then at first you will have to go through the process.  It wont harm to say something along the lines of "Due to the length of time my IPprofile has been restricted to 2Mbps, I suspect my line may have been banded by the DLM"

It is also worthwhile mentioning to them that you have bought a new router which shows a sync rate of 2.07/0.5 Mbps, yet the line has 24dBm of SNR indicating speeds up to 18.5 Mbps should be possible.


----------

To be perfectly honest I think there is something else going on with your line.  The fact that the upstream IPprofile is 2Mb yet your line only syncs at .5 Mbps makes me go hmmm.   Youve only got 6dB of SNRm on your upstream which to me suggests either something wrong with the internal wiring, a faulty filter (there was a bad batch of VDSL filters) or a physical problem with your actual telephone line.

I would also suggest doing the quiet line test to see if you can hear any audible noise on your line.  (Dial 17070 and select option 2)

If you can get one of the above router monitoring tools to work that would also be good.

I think perhaps an engineers visit may be needed, but the more info you have beforehand about your line adds ammo to your belt.  Only a BT openreach engineer can get the DLM reset and any banding removed.


Your line attenuation data is also interesting note how U0 is at 9.8 dBm, yet U1 is at 69dB and U2 at 67dB.   This 'could' indicate that something within those frequencies is interfering with your dsl signal from the band frequencies of U1 upwards.  This is unproven though because aside from U0 and D1 none of the other bands are in use so there's no bitloading outside of those bands. I wouldnt expect U1 to be more than U2 though.   The fact that U1 isnt in use is likely why your upstream is so low.
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

Brian Coat

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 43
Re: Stuck IP Profile??
« Reply #8 on: October 20, 2013, 04:54:36 PM »

Kitz, BlackSheep,

Many thanks for the advice.

Here is the FTTC Availability Checker result. When I check my neighbours they are more (15-20MBPS) but they are 0.5km+ further along the wire to Marton Exchange than me.

Not sure what this result tells me?

BrianCoat
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Telephone Number 01926633*** on Exchange MARTON is served by Cabinet 5

Available Products
   

Downstream Line Rate(Mbps)
   

Upstream Line Rate(Mbps)
   

Downstream Range(Mbps)
   

Availability Date

Featured Products
WBC FTTC    Up to 12.4    Up to 1    --    Available
ADSL Max    Up to 1    --    0.75 to 2.5    Available
Fixed Rate    0.5    --    --    Available
Other Offerings
Fibre Multicast    --    --    --    Available

For all ADSL and WBC Fibre to the Cabinet (FTTC) services, the stable line rate will be determined during the first 10 days of service usage. Throughput/download speeds will be less than line rates and can be affected by a number of factors within and external to BT's network, Communication Providers' networks and within customer premises.
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 33882
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Stuck IP Profile??
« Reply #9 on: October 20, 2013, 05:15:35 PM »

It tells you that BTw/BToR (the group responsible for line provision) expect your line to be capable of 12.4Mbps.   This is often conservative, but it certainly gives you some figures to play with and use with BTr (your ISP) and complain that there is something wrong with your speeds.

The fact that a neighbour gets different predicted speeds could also be further ammunition for you.  However with FTTC it depends on distance to the green cabinet and not the exchange..  so just make sure they are connected on the same cab as you (cabinet 5).

Its looking more & more like you have a possible fault on your line or internal wiring, which is keeping your speeds low and why the DLM has triggered a banded profile.

Its definitely worth mentioning to your ISP that you arent getting anywhere near the speeds from the FTTC checker.  They should understand that and hopefully get an engineer out to you.
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

Bald_Eagle1

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2721
Re: Stuck IP Profile??
« Reply #10 on: October 20, 2013, 05:15:50 PM »

Hi Brian,

I responded to an almost identical query in the TBB forum this morning:-

http://forums.thinkbroadband.com/general/4276218-zyxel-modem-stats.html?view=collapsed

Was it yours?

Logged

Bald_Eagle1

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2721
Re: Stuck IP Profile??
« Reply #11 on: October 20, 2013, 05:19:42 PM »


'If anyone knows a way to get through to someone (at BT) who actually understands the systems and can help, I'd really appreciate it!'


We suspect that a number of people know/understand the systems, but didn't you know?.......it's a secret  :lol: :lol: >:(

Logged

Brian Coat

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 43
Re: Stuck IP Profile??
« Reply #12 on: October 20, 2013, 06:41:38 PM »

Re: "Was it yours?"

Er yes. :-[

I'm new to all this so I hedged my bets on which forum to ask.

I had no idea people would be so responsive and helpful!

Thanks, Bald Eagle.

I'll post in "mono" from now on !!!
« Last Edit: October 20, 2013, 07:01:29 PM by Brian Coat »
Logged

Bald_Eagle1

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2721
Re: Stuck IP Profile??
« Reply #13 on: October 20, 2013, 06:46:42 PM »


To be honest I'm new to all this so I hedged my bets on which forum to ask.

I had no idea people would be so responsive and helpful!

Thanks, Bald Eagle.

I'll stuck to posting on this forum/thread.


A lot of users use both forums (and other forums - different audiences etc.).
It's just sometimes slightly confusing when the same user adopts a different name for each forum  :)

Logged

boe323

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 59
Re: Stuck IP Profile??
« Reply #14 on: October 21, 2013, 09:11:26 AM »

You will probably see better results if you use bt's modem, im sure(my theory) that the dlm looks for something in the modem, see's its not Bt openreach and gives you pooh speed, I spent a fortune on a draytek router to compliment my new vdsl2 install, draytek router as got the same chipset so shouldn't be hardly any difference in speed, first day of plugging in the draytek, got my full sync speed (meaning the same as bt modem) after 5mins the dlm kicked in and rysnced my router, lost 5meg up and down, second day, dlm rsyncec the router, lost another 5meg up and down. I straight away unplugged router, sent it back and swapped it, while I was waiting for the new one to arrive I was using bt's modem which instantly gave me my full sync back when plugged in, new draytek arrives, plugged in, full sync speed, 5mins later, lost 5meg up and down, second day, same thing again, so you can see where im coming from, to much of a coincidence for me, lost 150 selling the draytek on ebay. Maybe you could go around check your connections, and plug the bt modem back in, but wait until around 11.30 or after 1pm but before 3.30pm to do it, best snr margin times.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 5