Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 ... 11 12 [13] 14

Author Topic: HG612 Stats Editor updates  (Read 50284 times)

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 6615
Re: HG612 Stats Editor updates
« Reply #180 on: January 12, 2014, 12:06:25 PM »

I think its the task, your gui updates itself at exactly 00 seconds?

I am pretty sure it happened with the app closed also but I cant say with certianty at this moment.
Logged
AAISP - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE

Ronski

  • Moderator
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4143
Re: HG612 Stats Editor updates
« Reply #181 on: January 12, 2014, 04:20:49 PM »

My app updates the stats displayed immediately after HG612_Stats has written to the log file.
Logged
Formerly restrained by ECI and ali,  now surfing along at 390/36  ;D

Ronski

  • Moderator
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4143
Re: HG612 Stats Editor updates
« Reply #182 on: January 24, 2014, 07:52:24 PM »

Minor update.

Quote
1.1.5137.35543  24-01-2014

      Added INP values to the stats tab.


Latest version can be download from here
or via checking for updates if you have a recent version.
Logged
Formerly restrained by ECI and ali,  now surfing along at 390/36  ;D

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4850
Re: HG612 Stats Editor updates
« Reply #183 on: January 24, 2014, 08:19:41 PM »

Minor update.

Quote
1.1.5137.35543  24-01-2014
Added INP values to the stats tab.

Yes I see it but what does it meen? I have an INP of 3.00 on Downstream and 0.00 on the Upstream my downstream is Interleaved and the Upstream is non Interleaved.

edit sorry i'll upload a pic of the GUI





« Last Edit: January 24, 2014, 08:25:37 PM by NewtronStar »
Logged

Ronski

  • Moderator
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4143
Re: HG612 Stats Editor updates
« Reply #184 on: January 24, 2014, 08:23:21 PM »

I don't really know, Chrysalis requested it was added. I believe it stands for Impulse Noise Protection and it's something to do with interleaving.

Edit: Bit of info here
« Last Edit: January 24, 2014, 08:25:55 PM by Ronski »
Logged
Formerly restrained by ECI and ali,  now surfing along at 390/36  ;D

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4850
Re: HG612 Stats Editor updates
« Reply #185 on: January 24, 2014, 08:39:41 PM »

I don't really know, Chrysalis requested it was added. I believe it stands for Impulse Noise Protection and it's something to do with interleaving.

Edit: Bit of info here

Many thanks Ronski looking at that link now in short a lower INP result is better than a higher one, I will have a read at this link in full when the time is right  :)
Logged

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 6615
Re: HG612 Stats Editor updates
« Reply #186 on: January 24, 2014, 08:43:39 PM »

to be honest I am not sure exactly what it does other than a feature to make a line more resistant to noise/errors.  But we are all stat lovers here so I requested it. :)

Here is mine and my errors not been this low for ages, looking on track to be 300-400 errors for the day.  With a 7.1dn snrm so even a extra 1db margin has huge impact on error rates I was seeing 1500-2000 a day on 6db before my line went crazy.
Logged
AAISP - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE

Ronski

  • Moderator
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4143
Re: HG612 Stats Editor updates
« Reply #187 on: January 24, 2014, 08:50:26 PM »

I'm sure at some point WWWombat over on TBB forums explained it all in detail, even to the extent of calculating how much of an 'speed' the interleaving was effectively taking up.
Logged
Formerly restrained by ECI and ali,  now surfing along at 390/36  ;D

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4850
Re: HG612 Stats Editor updates
« Reply #188 on: January 24, 2014, 08:56:59 PM »

I'm sure at some point WWWombat over on TBB forums explained it all in detail, even to the extent of calculating how much of an 'speed' the interleaving was effectively taking up.

when looking at My stats and Chrysalis stats I know which one looks better without getting deep into documentation,but still I do love a detailed documented inspection into the workings  :-[

and it looks like Chrysalis has got his Fastpath back but thats for another thread  ;D
« Last Edit: January 24, 2014, 09:11:20 PM by NewtronStar »
Logged

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4850
Re: HG612 Stats Editor updates
« Reply #189 on: January 25, 2014, 07:32:31 PM »

I was thinking if you could find away to show the line attenuation in the Stats Editor as at the moment it just shows N/A but as the HH5 is able to show the line attenuation figures at least it gives them and idea for the local loop length.

as it looks like the HH5 just uses the signal attenuation from the U0 band and D1 band so my line attenuation would  show as 7.8dB Upstream and 21.7dB Downstream.

the 21.7db /22.0dB DS shows me being 1600 meters from exchange using kitz calc which is near to correct give or take 50 meters and if i divide that by 2 to the FTTC cab I get 800 meters which is correct.
« Last Edit: January 25, 2014, 08:23:11 PM by NewtronStar »
Logged

Ronski

  • Moderator
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4143
Re: HG612 Stats Editor updates
« Reply #190 on: January 26, 2014, 11:24:21 AM »

I was thinking if you could find away to show the line attenuation in the Stats Editor as at the moment it just shows N/A but as the HH5 is able to show the line attenuation figures at least it gives them and idea for the local loop length.

as it looks like the HH5 just uses the signal attenuation from the U0 band and D1 band so my line attenuation would  show as 7.8dB Upstream and 21.7dB Downstream.

If BE1 can confirm the correct information to use from the stats then I can add it to the stats displayed. I have a vague idea they not available, but I'm sure BE1 can confirm.

Quote
the 21.7db /22.0dB DS shows me being 1600 meters from exchange using kitz calc which is near to correct give or take 50 meters and if i divide that by 2 to the FTTC cab I get 800 meters which is correct.

I'm not sure your logic is correct, surely on FTTC the line attenuation would be to the cabinet and not the exchange, also you're presuming the cab if halfway between the property and the exchange in your example, which may be so in your case but not others.
Logged
Formerly restrained by ECI and ali,  now surfing along at 390/36  ;D

Bald_Eagle1

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2721
Re: HG612 Stats Editor updates
« Reply #191 on: January 26, 2014, 11:44:18 AM »


If BE1 can confirm the correct information to use from the stats then I can add it to the stats displayed. I have a vague idea they not available, but I'm sure BE1 can confirm.


It is field 88 for DS & field 89 for US in modem_stats.log, although a value for only DS is actually displayed.

It is also displayed in the Plink log, again with no US value:-

Code: [Select]
=~=~=~=~=~=~=~=~=~=~=~= Plink log 2014.01.26 10:00:04 =~=~=~=~=~=~=~=~=~=~=~=

xdslcmd info --stats
xdslcmd: ADSL driver and PHY status
Status: Showtime
Retrain Reason: 0
Last initialization procedure status: 0
Max: Upstream rate = 5056 Kbps, Downstream rate = 23688 Kbps
Bearer: 0, Upstream rate = 4928 Kbps, Downstream rate = 20488 Kbps

Link Power State: L0
Mode: VDSL2 Annex B
VDSL2 Profile: Profile 17a
TPS-TC: PTM Mode(0x0)
Trellis: U:ON /D:ON
Line Status: No Defect
Training Status: Showtime
Down Up
SNR (dB): 6.4 6.5
Attn(dB): 24.5 0.0
Pwr(dBm): 12.7 6.7


The overall DS attenuation of 24.5dB isn't quite just the line/signal attenuation for the D1 band for my connection though:-

Code: [Select]
  VDSL Band Status U0 U1 U2 U3 U4 D1 D2 D3
  Line Attenuation(dB): 8.1 53.2   N/A   N/A   N/A 21.7 65.3   N/A
Signal Attenuation(dB): 8.1 52.0   N/A   N/A   N/A 30.4 65.0   N/A
SNR Margin(dB): 6.4 6.5   N/A   N/A   N/A 6.4 6.3   N/A
TX Power(dBm): -1.1 5.9   N/A   N/A   N/A 11.6 6.0   N/A


« Last Edit: January 26, 2014, 11:49:44 AM by Bald_Eagle1 »
Logged

Ronski

  • Moderator
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4143
Re: HG612 Stats Editor updates
« Reply #192 on: January 26, 2014, 11:57:52 AM »

I've added the line attenuation as requested, thanks for the confirmation BE1.

Quote
1.1.5139.21364   26-01-2014

      Added line attenuation values, although upstream is only displayed as 0.


Latest version can be download from here
or via checking for updates if you have a recent version.
Logged
Formerly restrained by ECI and ali,  now surfing along at 390/36  ;D

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 6615
Re: HG612 Stats Editor updates
« Reply #193 on: January 26, 2014, 01:22:02 PM »

14.7 attenuation reported in gui, there is 3 values calculated one for each band?
Logged
AAISP - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE

Bald_Eagle1

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2721
Re: HG612 Stats Editor updates
« Reply #194 on: January 26, 2014, 01:33:47 PM »

14.7 attenuation reported in gui, there is 3 values calculated one for each band?

Could you provide the line & signal attenuation for each band for us?

We have no real idea how the single overall attenuation value is calculated (yet).
It doesn't seem to be an average across the bands.
It could possibly be the value at a given tone/frequency (as per ADSL?), but I haven't found that relationship on my own connection.

Logged
Pages: 1 ... 11 12 [13] 14