Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Babylon search help  (Read 3116 times)

GayleTek

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Babylon search help
« on: September 11, 2013, 08:00:05 AM »

Babylon search takes over my chrome homepage somehow. I did not install anything recently, but i saw Babylon Search toolbar is listed in my laptop program center. I tried to uninstall it, no luck, Babylon search still can not removed.
So any idea to remove it completely? i don't want it appear again  :-[
BTW, i also ask this on yahoo answers, someone give me a removal guide link, it's here
But it requires to download sth, so can someone know whether it is reliable?
Please help
Regards
Logged

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39682
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: Babylon search help
« Reply #1 on: September 11, 2013, 09:21:29 AM »

This goes back a bit now, but it may still help:

http://forum.kitz.co.uk/index.php/topic,10456.msg207804.html#msg207804
Logged
  Eric

sheddyian

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1159
    • My Shed Blog
Re: Babylon search help
« Reply #2 on: September 11, 2013, 08:08:22 PM »

This is from memory, but I've removed a few instances of this by now  :-X

Go to control panel, programs and features (or add/remove programs if you're on earlier version of Windows).

Look for Babylon toolbar in the list.  If it's there, click it, then click uninstall.

Go here http://www.majorgeeks.com/files/details/malwarebytes_anti_malware.html to download Malwarebytes and install it (it's free - but right near the end of the install, you might want to untick the "trial" option so it doesn't nag you to buy additional software.

Let malwarebtes update itself, then do a full scan (can take a while).  You can then choose which bits of malware to remove (if it finds any, of course!)  Post your results here if you're not sure what to do.

Reboot and check that the browser is now ok, and especially check that when you open a new tab in your browser you get the screen that you expected, and not Babylon search.

Let me know how you get on.

Ian
Logged

GayleTek

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Babylon search help
« Reply #3 on: September 12, 2013, 06:28:10 AM »

Thanks all, already removed this every one hated virus :D
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32550
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Babylon search help
« Reply #4 on: September 12, 2013, 11:26:53 AM »

:)
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

Olen

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Babylon search help
« Reply #5 on: May 07, 2014, 07:12:36 PM »

Babylon is active again. Here is an article about it - http://soft2secure.com/knowledgebase/babylon
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32550
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Babylon search help
« Reply #6 on: May 07, 2014, 09:17:14 PM »

That looks like a useful article..  thanks.
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker
 

anything