Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum

Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Telephone Extension  (Read 3441 times)

z1ts

• Reg Member
Telephone Extension
« on: August 15, 2013, 08:05:30 AM »

2 quick simple questions (I hope!) :

1) I have a (post 2007) NTE master OR socket downstairs and an extension upstairs wired into the front faceplate of the NTE.  If I plug my router (ADSL) into the extension, providing my internal wiring is of a good standard (within last 12 months so should be v.v.v. good!) will it work and will I have any significant (>20%) drop in connection speed?

2)  If I upgrade to FTTC and end up with a modem + router, can this also be plugged into the extension or will it have to be at the master socket?

roseway

• Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: Telephone Extension
« Reply #1 on: August 15, 2013, 08:29:50 AM »

1) Assuming that the faceplate on the NTE isn't a filtered one (i.e. it only has a single telephone socket on the front) then your router should work perfectly well from the extension, so long as the wiring really is of a good standard, using twisted-pair cable.

2) Is for someone else to answer. :)
  Eric

kitz

• Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
« Reply #2 on: August 15, 2013, 10:38:50 AM »

>> If I upgrade to FTTC and end up with a modem + router, can this also be plugged into the extension or will it have to be at the master socket?