Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: Advice please on strange networking issue in W7  (Read 12096 times)

broadstairs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3068
Re: Advice please on strange networking issue in W7
« Reply #15 on: June 15, 2013, 11:26:30 AM »

Uninstall software, factory reset the printer and start again. Could it actually be faulty?

Or you may indeed have a corrupt W7.  :-X

Printer works OK on network using the Canon app from my phone so there is no problem with either printer or network. Nothing else fails on the lappy, this is the ONLY problem I have and as I have said W7 sees the printer on the Network, it's just the Canon install which does not see it.

Stuart
Logged
ISP:TalkTalk Connection:FTTC Cab:ECI Router:Netgear D6220

HPsauce

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2464
Re: Advice please on strange networking issue in W7
« Reply #16 on: June 15, 2013, 11:37:50 AM »

it's just the Canon install which does not see it.
You said the standard W7 Add Printer install didn't see it either.
Logged

broadstairs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3068
Re: Advice please on strange networking issue in W7
« Reply #17 on: June 15, 2013, 12:43:10 PM »

it's just the Canon install which does not see it.
You said the standard W7 Add Printer install didn't see it either.

Sorry yes I did. However the W7 one times out when it cannot find it, the Canon s/w just sits there - I left it over an hour this morning and nothing happened, had to use task manager to end it.

I've also tried it with Firewall and Microsoft Essentials turned off, and in safe mode with networking but nothing detects it as a printer. Network sees it as 'Other Device'. I suspect that it uses some kind of proprietary protocol over TCP/IP but since it shows up as a network device with its correct IP address I dont understand why the Canon driver install cant find it. As I said the printer does work from the Android Canon app when my phone is on my local Wi-Fi lan so the connection does work. It also works as a USB device just fine.

My problem with Canon is that they cannot tell me what their installer is waiting for, if I knew that I might be able to solve it. since Ive been messing around so much recently I went back to a restore point before I had even purchased the printer so that at least it was nothing I had done and it still hangs. I can accept error messages but not it hanging.

I am loathed to completely re-install W7 as nothing else fails, it detects all my other network stuff and I am not getting any errors from the anything else I run on the lappy. Also I only have recovery disks as you dont get an install disk these days with laptops. I dont want to purchase a copy just to get the full install DVD.

Stuart
Logged
ISP:TalkTalk Connection:FTTC Cab:ECI Router:Netgear D6220

broadstairs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3068
Re: Advice please on strange networking issue in W7
« Reply #18 on: June 19, 2013, 11:00:14 AM »

Well Canon have finally come back and said it installs OK on their W7 PC so it must be mine. No explanation of why it might be. So I'm going to run trace on it and try to find out if there are any packets being sent via IP to discover the printer. I can see no reason why if W7 can see the printer on the network that an application cannot see the same device, I've tried in Administrator mode as well although my login is the admin on this laptop.

Stuart
Logged
ISP:TalkTalk Connection:FTTC Cab:ECI Router:Netgear D6220

HPsauce

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2464
Re: Advice please on strange networking issue in W7
« Reply #19 on: June 19, 2013, 12:21:44 PM »

I can see no reason why if W7 can see the printer on the network
But you said it doesn't.  ???
I think you just said you can ping the IP from W7, that's all?

I think Canon may be right and you have a W7 problem.
Logged

ColinS

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 529
Re: Advice please on strange networking issue in W7
« Reply #20 on: June 19, 2013, 02:04:02 PM »

Well, It seems to me as if perhaps somehow your W7 is not detecting the device properly.

You could try this http://software.intel.com/en-us/articles/intel-tools-for-upnp-technologies and use the device spy/sniffer components to see if it gives you any further clues as to what is or isn't happening
Logged

broadstairs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3068
Re: Advice please on strange networking issue in W7
« Reply #21 on: June 19, 2013, 05:37:44 PM »

I can see no reason why if W7 can see the printer on the network
But you said it doesn't.  ???
I think you just said you can ping the IP from W7, that's all?

I think Canon may be right and you have a W7 problem.

No I said the installer does not see it, W7 in Network sees it and when I click on it and select properties it shows up on the correct IP address so W7 network is finding the printer, if a firewall or some such was preventing something I'd expect it not to show up in Network.

Stuart
Logged
ISP:TalkTalk Connection:FTTC Cab:ECI Router:Netgear D6220

broadstairs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3068
Re: Advice please on strange networking issue in W7
« Reply #22 on: June 19, 2013, 05:39:50 PM »

Well, It seems to me as if perhaps somehow your W7 is not detecting the device properly.

You could try this http://software.intel.com/en-us/articles/intel-tools-for-upnp-technologies and use the device spy/sniffer components to see if it gives you any further clues as to what is or isn't happening

Thanks I'll try them (or some of them later) I have wireshark installed and a packet sniff to wade through later.

Stuart
Logged
ISP:TalkTalk Connection:FTTC Cab:ECI Router:Netgear D6220

broadstairs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3068
Re: Advice please on strange networking issue in W7
« Reply #23 on: June 19, 2013, 05:55:09 PM »

Just run Device Sniffer from the UPNP tools and when I turn on the CP900 I get all the Notify packets from the printer so it IS communicating with W7.

This is a sample of one packet.

Code: [Select]
Received 19/06/2013 at 17:49:01 (815)

NOTIFY * HTTP/1.1
HOST:239.255.255.250:1900
CACHE-CONTROL: max-age=1800
LOCATION: http://192.168.0.20:80/root/description_folder/devdesc
NT: urn:schemas-cipa-jp:device:DPSPrinter:1
NTS: ssdp:alive
SERVER: ThreadX/1 UPnP/1.0 SELPHY/1
USN: uuid:128d4610-c208-44ea-9d71-2c9efc450517::urn:schemas-cipa-jp:device:DPSPrinter:1


Stuart
Logged
ISP:TalkTalk Connection:FTTC Cab:ECI Router:Netgear D6220

ColinS

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 529
Re: Advice please on strange networking issue in W7
« Reply #24 on: June 19, 2013, 07:08:50 PM »

Just run Device Sniffer from the UPNP tools and when I turn on the CP900 I get all the Notify packets from the printer so it IS communicating with W7.
Well that's a good start!  ;) Any signs of W8 responding?  Could it be that it doesn't recognise the device class or something?  Perhaps you can play a bit more with the tools.

Another thought is - have you tried just adding it initially as a generic printer, to get a different driver?  Then perhaps you could use windows update to look for another?
Logged

broadstairs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3068
Re: Advice please on strange networking issue in W7
« Reply #25 on: June 19, 2013, 07:54:09 PM »

Just run Device Sniffer from the UPNP tools and when I turn on the CP900 I get all the Notify packets from the printer so it IS communicating with W7.
Well that's a good start!  ;) Any signs of W8 responding?  Could it be that it doesn't recognise the device class or something?  Perhaps you can play a bit more with the tools.

Another thought is - have you tried just adding it initially as a generic printer, to get a different driver?  Then perhaps you could use windows update to look for another?

I've tried that but no go. The device sniffer also shows up the device and reports thus

Code: [Select]
Base URL http://192.168.0.20/
Device icon None
Device URN urn:schemas-cipa-jp:device:DPSPrinter:1
Embedded devices 0
Expiration timeout 1800
Friendly name Canon CP900
Has presentation True
Interface to host 192.168.0.7
Manufacturer Canon Inc.
Manufacturer URL http://www.canon.com
Model description Canon Compact Photo Printer
Model name Canon SELPHY CP900
Model number 0x3255
Presentation URL http://192.168.0.20:80/
Product code
Proprietary type
Remote endpoint 192.168.0.20:80
Serial number 2c9efc450517
Services 1
Standard type
Unique device name 128d4610-c208-44ea-9d71-2c9efc450517
Version 1.0

If I try to open the Presentation URL I get 'NetX HTTP Request Aborted' returned, I've mentioned this to Canon but they did not say it was a problem.

Stuart
Logged
ISP:TalkTalk Connection:FTTC Cab:ECI Router:Netgear D6220

broadstairs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3068
Re: Advice please on strange networking issue in W7
« Reply #26 on: June 20, 2013, 09:29:25 AM »

Further tests and running wireshark shows W7 communicating with the printer, I can see the get requests for the XML data and using the correct URL in a browser returns the XML data. I can also see SSDP packets emanating form the printer being received by W7.

All of this seems to me to show that W7 can communicate with the printer however the Canon driver install and W7 Add Printer still dont connect. I can see the packets in Wireshark which are scanning the network asking 'Who has 192.168....etc" for each IP address however as far as I can tell it does not ask about 192.168.0.20 which is the CP900 which is already known to W7 and showing under Other Devices on the network in explorer.

After all this I'm still puzzled by all this. W7 is communicating with the printer so firewall cannot be an issue although I have tested with it disabled but still no joy. If the Canon driver install is waiting for the printer to be discovered why does it not time out and give an error (I've left it an hour but still just sits there).

I have sent further updates to Canon support but as yet still nothing back from them.

Stuart
Logged
ISP:TalkTalk Connection:FTTC Cab:ECI Router:Netgear D6220

broadstairs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3068
Re: Advice please on strange networking issue in W7
« Reply #27 on: June 28, 2013, 03:53:46 PM »

Well finally after exhausting every avenue I could think of and discussing it with the very helpful guys in my local PC shop (no not PCW but a local independent) who also agreed I'd tried everything I decided to re-install but not using the recovery disks but another vanilla copy of W7 64-bit but using my key supplied with the laptop.

I now have it all re-installed and now not only does W7 network find the printer but so does the install program (and this was with the Microsoft Firewall and Security Essentials installed and running the defaults). I only installed one of the supplied ACER programs so I can only assume it was a (very) obscure setting somewhere or something one of these other programs ACER installed which was causing the problem. The bonus is that I now have ALL the HDD available to use rather than having that hidden partition taking up space.

Its all just reminded me why I like Linux so much these days despite the lack of hardware support from Vendors it is extremely rare to have issues like this in Linux and I've never yet had to re-install Linux because I had a problem which could not be resolved the proper way (ie identify and fix).

Stuart
Logged
ISP:TalkTalk Connection:FTTC Cab:ECI Router:Netgear D6220

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 22564
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Advice please on strange networking issue in W7
« Reply #28 on: June 28, 2013, 06:34:51 PM »

 :clap2:  The desired result.  :)
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 31187
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Advice please on strange networking issue in W7
« Reply #29 on: July 01, 2013, 09:46:21 AM »

So glad you got it sorted.  Shame it had to take a reinstall though.
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker
Pages: 1 [2]