Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Draytek interleaving on downstream  (Read 1722 times)

Alucidnation

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 58
Draytek interleaving on downstream
« on: February 06, 2019, 06:53:33 PM »

Hi guys,

Does anyone know if the Draytek models apply interleaving at the user end?

Reason I ask is that I am having ongoing issues with my connection, and I have now found out that dlm has been applied to my line, but my 2862 is still showing as fast path.

I have tried rebooting to see if that made any difference but it still shows fast path.
Logged

ejs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2077
Re: Draytek interleaving on downstream
« Reply #1 on: February 06, 2019, 07:15:17 PM »

It might help if you showed us the stats. Some Draytek models mix up a few stats between downstream and upstream or at best make things confusing with downstream/upstream and near end/far end.

You can't really have interleaving applied at one end. Things like this have to be negotiated and agreed on between both ends.
Logged

Alucidnation

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 58
Re: Draytek interleaving on downstream
« Reply #2 on: February 07, 2019, 08:59:18 AM »

Ok thanks.

ISP showing..

Profile Name   40M-80M Downstream, Retransmission Low - 10M-20M Upstream, Retransmission Low

Router is showing..

        
Downstream               Upstream               
Path Mode   Fast   Fast
Interleave Depth   1   1
Actual PSD   6. 7   dB   6. 9   dB
Near End                    Far End                   
Trellis   ON   ON
Bitswap   ON   ON
ReTx   0       0   
SNR Margin   5   dB   6   dB
Attenuation   19   dB   24   dB
CRC   38   0
FECS   411   s   5700   s
ES   35   s   0   s
SES   0   s   0   s
LOSS   0   s   27   s
UAS   131   s   17408113   s
Logged

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3547
Re: Draytek interleaving on downstream
« Reply #3 on: February 07, 2019, 10:20:35 AM »

Just a heads up but the profile the ISP can see is 13 days out of date.
So if it changes in the last 13 days they won't see it.

Quote
I have now found out that dlm has been applied to my line

Can you expand on that? In what way did you "find out"?

The modems stats show the line is on fastpath.
The ISP provided profile show the line was on Retransmission (G.INP) 13 days ago.

The DLM profile doesn't change between modems.
You can't be fastpath on 1 modem, interleaved on another.

The only exception to this is modems that don't support retransmission.
Logged
Talktalk FTTP 550/75 - Speedtest - BQM

Alucidnation

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 58
Re: Draytek interleaving on downstream
« Reply #4 on: February 07, 2019, 11:17:19 AM »

Hi John,

My ISP showed me the GEA results which showed the interleaved profile, plus they also confirmed that the line was interleaved, whereas the previous results showed as being on an open profile.

My modem has showed interleaving being applied before, but when this was questioned and pointed out to my ISP previously, they said it wasn't.

Hence my question in so much that what i see on the modem and what they see at their appears to differ.






Logged

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3547
Re: Draytek interleaving on downstream
« Reply #5 on: February 07, 2019, 11:37:35 AM »

Can you provide the stats from the other modem.
What modem is it?

The DrayTek is definitely running fastpath, no retransmission or interleaving.

As I said above, the line profile reported on GEA tests is 13 days old.

Logged
Talktalk FTTP 550/75 - Speedtest - BQM

Alucidnation

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 58
Re: Draytek interleaving on downstream
« Reply #6 on: February 07, 2019, 11:50:47 AM »

Hi John,

It's only the Draytek 2862 modem/router thats in use, as the OR modem was an old ECi that i couldn't access the stats on.

The Draytek has been in service for a few weeks.

I dont think the GEA test is that old as the result was posted after the engineer left on Tuesday, and the previous test was done on the 31/1?

Stats as of now..... been online sine around 2pm Tuesday 5th.

        
Downstream               Upstream               
Actual Rate   61316   Kbps   16296   Kbps
Attainable Rate   60926   Kbps   16074   Kbps
Path Mode   Fast   Fast
Interleave Depth   1   1
Actual PSD   6. 7   dB   6. 9   dB
Near End                    Far End                   
Trellis   ON   ON
Bitswap   ON   ON
ReTx   0       0   
SNR Margin   5   dB   6   dB
Attenuation   19   dB   24   dB
CRC   46   0
FECS   670   s   5701   s
ES   40   s   0   s
SES   0   s   0   s
LOSS   0   s   27   s
UAS   131   s   17408113   s



Also just noticed that i am now connecting via PPPoA rather than PPPoE.

Would this be a problem?
« Last Edit: February 07, 2019, 11:57:55 AM by Alucidnation »
Logged

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3547
Re: Draytek interleaving on downstream
« Reply #7 on: February 07, 2019, 12:50:30 PM »

It's reporting PPPoA incorrectly don't worry about it.

PPPoA means PPP over ATM.
FTTC (VDSL2) uses PTM. It can actually use ATM but OpenReach don't use this configuration.

Quote
Would this be a problem?

It would. It's nowhere near as efficient.
It's 100% not using PPPoA though.
« Last Edit: February 07, 2019, 12:52:33 PM by j0hn »
Logged
Talktalk FTTP 550/75 - Speedtest - BQM

d2d4j

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1052
Re: Draytek interleaving on downstream
« Reply #8 on: February 07, 2019, 03:28:21 PM »

Hi

I think the interleave confusion appeared because someone did not realise interleave depth 1 is fastpath perhaps

Many thanks

John
Logged

Alucidnation

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 58
Re: Draytek interleaving on downstream
« Reply #9 on: February 07, 2019, 05:12:48 PM »

@j0hn & @d2d4j

Thanks both.

:)

Logged
 

anything