Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: TD's computer is very ill  (Read 9270 times)

tuftedduck

  • Senior Kitizen
  • ******
  • Posts: 29658
  • Router Luvvin Duck
Re: TD's computer is very ill
« Reply #15 on: December 16, 2007, 10:57:54 AM »

Good morning, he grins after a flawless boot up  ;D

Floydoid, thank you for the link, that drive would seem to be the sort of thing I want.
Can, however, I ask one further question.

That drive was IDE ATA 100, according to my motherboard book, I want an IDE ATA 133. Is that a different beast ?

Thank you.
Logged

Pwiggler

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1542
Re: TD's computer is very ill
« Reply #16 on: December 16, 2007, 01:12:42 PM »

the 100 and 133 in the ATA is the burst speed of the drive ....ie. the max it can deliver data to the mainboard.

the ata100 will work perfectly well but under some circumstances will be a little slower (not that you would notice tho).

Logged
Paul

tuftedduck

  • Senior Kitizen
  • ******
  • Posts: 29658
  • Router Luvvin Duck
Re: TD's computer is very ill
« Reply #17 on: December 16, 2007, 01:27:07 PM »

Thank you Pwiggler.

Will go and part with some cash  :(

Logged

tuftedduck

  • Senior Kitizen
  • ******
  • Posts: 29658
  • Router Luvvin Duck
Re: TD's computer is very ill
« Reply #18 on: January 17, 2008, 03:45:18 PM »

I wonder if some kind soul could help to explain a mystery which is puzzling what passes for a mind in TD's bonse.

Prior to all the above fiddlings, Belarc Advisor informed me that I was the proud possessor of an AMD Athlon 1.8GHz
processor ( not the fastest but good enough for my needs )

After the above events, Belarc tells me that I now have an AMD Duron 1.45GHz processor.

I did not change the chip and do not understand why removing a hard drive and replacing it with another can alter the chip.

The machine is as fast ( or as slow  :D ) as it was before, and am just mystified as to what has happened.

Grateful for any advice.
Logged

oldfogy

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3568
  • If it ain't broke....... I'll soon fix it.
Re: TD's computer is very ill
« Reply #19 on: January 17, 2008, 05:32:49 PM »

Sorry no explanantion here, but you could  try disconnecting the new HD to see what report Belarc then tells you?

Might just help to solve the riddle.
Logged

Floydoid

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 8473
  • Marmalade... I like marmalade
Re: TD's computer is very ill
« Reply #20 on: January 17, 2008, 06:59:17 PM »

What does My Computer / properties tell you, re. processor?

You could also try a different system properties tool such as SANDRA.
Logged
"A common mistake that people make when trying to design something completely foolproof is to underestimate the ingenuity of complete fools." - Douglas Adams, Mostly Harmless

tuftedduck

  • Senior Kitizen
  • ******
  • Posts: 29658
  • Router Luvvin Duck
Re: TD's computer is very ill
« Reply #21 on: January 17, 2008, 07:02:49 PM »

Thanks for the suggestion, OF, will give that a go tomorrow and let you know what transpires.

Floydoid, thank you too. The My Comp/properties  reports the same as Belarc............, will try the alternative tool and let you know.
Logged

guest

  • Guest
Re: TD's computer is very ill
« Reply #22 on: January 17, 2008, 08:35:42 PM »

What does it say at the boot splash screen? Eg - if it is a 1.8GHz Athlon then it should be reported as an Athlon XP 2200+

Edit - a quick google yields this :

http://2fcareers.computing.net/hardware/wwwboard/forum/28377.html
« Last Edit: January 17, 2008, 08:38:27 PM by rizla »
Logged

tuftedduck

  • Senior Kitizen
  • ******
  • Posts: 29658
  • Router Luvvin Duck
Re: TD's computer is very ill
« Reply #23 on: January 18, 2008, 11:56:28 AM »

Good morning, and the plot thickens.

This morning, and according to both Belarc and My Computer/properties.............I now have an AMD Athlon XP2400 2.00 GHz.

Rizla, I tried and failed to see the BIOS screen, either I am not quick enough or was doing something wrong, but could not open it. Will try again later when Colin, the local PC builder, comes round to have a look.

Thanks for the link, will get Col to put in a new cmos battery, see what that does. The date and time and constant and correct but that link does suggest that a dying battery may have the effect I am seeing.

Just to cheer up the day, wee screenie attached with todays properties.

This is getting exciting, tomorrow it might tell me that I have some super fast quad core thing !!

[attachment deleted by admin]
Logged

tuftedduck

  • Senior Kitizen
  • ******
  • Posts: 29658
  • Router Luvvin Duck
Re: TD's computer is very ill
« Reply #24 on: January 19, 2008, 11:22:00 AM »

A quick note to finish off the story.

Took the machine to bits and had a look at the chip etc., and I definitley have a AMD Athlon XP2400 2.00 GHz. processor.

Quite why it reported something else on a couple of occasions, I cannot find a convincing reason........but will forget that until and if it happens again.

Put in new battery, might as well whilst the tower was opened.

Thanks to all for reading my post, and for your help and guidance.
Logged

guest

  • Guest
Re: TD's computer is very ill
« Reply #25 on: January 19, 2008, 11:46:45 AM »

I have a couple of old Shuttle boxes which sometimes set the front-side bus (FSB) frequency to 100MHz instead of 166MHz. I never have worked out why but a hard reset (reset button) sorts it out, so you're not alone. I guess the processors fitted (Athlon 2800+) have a high enough multiplier that they don't get reported as Durons ???

I'd say it must be the FSB to blame in your case too. If it happens again then try resetting using the reset button and see whether that helps.
Logged

tuftedduck

  • Senior Kitizen
  • ******
  • Posts: 29658
  • Router Luvvin Duck
Re: TD's computer is very ill
« Reply #26 on: January 19, 2008, 04:37:34 PM »

Hokeydokey, will do.........ta.
Logged
Pages: 1 [2]
 

anything