Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Getting programs to show in Control Panel  (Read 2780 times)

renluop

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2938
Getting programs to show in Control Panel
« on: December 07, 2012, 09:56:43 PM »

I have Routerstats full version installed in Program Files (X86) in Win7, set to run as Administrator. For some reason it does not appear in Control Panel. And there is only one item AFAICS in the registry in ...\shell\muicache.

I have known other programs like that.

Can anyone explain why some programs do not appear and if there is a way to make them? Please!
Logged

HPsauce

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2464
Re: Getting programs to show in Control Panel
« Reply #1 on: December 07, 2012, 10:06:02 PM »

Where in Control Panel were you expecting it to appear, and why?  ???
Logged

renluop

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2938
Re: Getting programs to show in Control Panel
« Reply #2 on: December 08, 2012, 08:57:19 AM »

In programs and features, where all the others are listed.

Using control panel makes it easier to delete or repair programs and they do form part of the registry.
« Last Edit: December 08, 2012, 09:00:02 AM by renluop »
Logged

HPsauce

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2464
Re: Getting programs to show in Control Panel
« Reply #3 on: December 08, 2012, 09:56:21 AM »

Ah right, so you weren't expecting it to have it's own icon like Flash or Java for example.

It will only show in the installed programs list if it uses windows standard install/uninstall and presumably it doesn't. Ask the author why.  ;)

The documentation (you've read it to install presumably...) says:

To uninstall:
------------
RouterStats makes no changes to any system files so, to uninstall, simply delete routerstats.exe and routerstats.ini


You could write an installer yourself with one of the many free tools, such as this: http://www.jrsoftware.org/isinfo.php
« Last Edit: December 08, 2012, 10:20:44 AM by HPsauce »
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 31173
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Getting programs to show in Control Panel
« Reply #4 on: January 15, 2013, 12:05:55 PM »

Just noticed this now - hence the late comment.

Routerstats is a standalone program, which means that it doesnt impact on any of the system files (as HP already said).   
Standalone programs can be run from anywhere -  for example from a usb stick.  Because they dont use any changes to the system, nor leave parts of the program scattered all over the place,   when you delete the exe file thats the program gone.

Other programs (say AV) will make changes to system files and leave parts of the program on various parts of the drive... therefore they need an uninstall process to keep track of what its put where.  If you just delete the .exe without doing a proper install then parts of the program will always remain on your drive and in the registry.  These types of program are the ones that you will find in CP. 
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

oldfogy

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3568
  • If it ain't broke....... I'll soon fix it.
Re: Getting programs to show in Control Panel
« Reply #5 on: January 17, 2013, 02:21:31 PM »

Would something like CCleaner list it in it's list of installed programs and also give you the option of deleting it from there?
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 31173
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Getting programs to show in Control Panel
« Reply #6 on: January 24, 2013, 02:08:10 PM »

Im not sure OF..  I havent got ccleaner installed to check :/ ...  but I wouldnt have thought so and I would have thought it just checked for programs which were actually installed, rather than standalones.
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker