Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum

Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: TVs - 50 Hz v 100 Hz  (Read 16685 times)

kitz

• Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
TVs - 50 Hz v 100 Hz
« on: November 23, 2012, 06:04:47 PM »

Quick question.

Some of you may be aware that my downstairs TV has been a right PITA since we went digital and there is no firmware upgrade, so Ive been stuggling for a few years and mostly resort to the upstairs tv / apple TV.

However Ive been offered a TV for xmas that involves the use of a heavily discounted Toshiba staff discount scheme.

Dilema - I understand the 50/100Hz refresh rate, but dont know how much this affects 'real time viewing'. 
Budget allows either a 32" 100Hz or a 40" 50Hz.   Out of the 2 which would you choose?

Im not a sports fan...  mostly movies, streaming/catch-up tv, documentaries type of stuff.

Have to make a decision soon so all input would be appreciated.
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

kitz

• Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
Re: TVs - 50 Hz v 100 Hz
« Reply #1 on: November 23, 2012, 06:09:47 PM »

As an example this is one of the available TVs

Toshiba 40BL702 40" Full HD 1080p LED Backlit TV.

Please note that it isnt from Tesco though nor their prices.

I have been to Curry's to check out what they look like, but it wasnt much help when it comes to real life viewing as they loop through their own dvd because apparently  dont have a tv licence to view how it would look in the real world.
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----

roseway

• Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats