Broadband Related > Telephony Wiring + Equipment

NO Master Socket but have a LJU4 / 1A

(1/2) > >>

silverlayman2012:

HI ALL WIRING EXPERTS ..... Your help and advice would be most welcomed...... i am just a silver haired layman as far as wiring is concerned......

I shall explain my  present layout as best i can and attach a few jpgs .
You will see i have a LJU4/1A in socket in room 3.   Can this become the Master Socket .....i am thinking of taking up PLUSNET Fibre ... i have been with them for 8 years for ordinary broadband.   
If it can be replaced with a Master socket i am assuming that does not constitute a "move of position" and therefore  no extra charge.

OK here goes     BT cable comes into the loft of my BUNGLALOW ...   and  enters a simple junction box ( 3inch sq white)  and  connects to the out cable  installed by the electrical contractor when the house was new in 2000.
The cable goes down into the lounge into a ordinary socket with Dae17 written on it. This is used as my sky telephone connection
The cable exist back to the loft and then down into the kitchen  same dae17 type socket ( see jpg  ROOM 2 ) a phone is on this box ......
 and then back up the loft and down into my study/ computer room..... into a LJU4/1A  Socket  ( see jpg room 3 ) which has a double outlet  because originally i had two bt numbers on this line... one for phone and one for dial up.... the second number was cancelled when broadband was enabled.  see jpg attached     When broadband was enabled the bt engineer did the change over on this socket.   This socket has a phone and the router.

The cable then exists to the loft and then to a bedroom phone on  the final socket number four (see room 4 jpg).

I am presently on Plusnet value and my speed is normally about 5 ... my package is up to 8.