Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: More Than One Quote.  (Read 5238 times)

tickmike

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3266
  • Yes Another Penguin !. :)
    • Free Download from.
More Than One Quote.
« on: December 02, 2007, 11:11:25 PM »

How do you have a reply with more than one quote from more the one post, instead of making say three separate quote/reply's to three posts on one topic ?.
Logged
I RECOMMEND TRYING PCLinuxOS (www.pclinuxos.com) .
I have a set of 8 fixed IP's From my Eclipse isp.
BT ADSL2 (G992.3) line>HG612 set as a Modem, Bridge, WAN not Bound to LAN1 or 2 >Smoothwall (Hardware Firewall and routing) > Ethernet LAN, DMZ,WiFI LAN and Spare LAN .
DSLstats LAN2  linked Ethernet

oldfogy

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3568
  • If it ain't broke....... I'll soon fix it.
Re: More Than One Quote.
« Reply #1 on: December 03, 2007, 02:27:34 AM »

Quote
Posted on: December 02, 2007, 11:11:25 PMPosted by: tickmike 
How do you have a reply with more than one quote from more the one post, instead of making say three separate quote/reply's to three posts on one topic ?.


Hi tickmike.

With the text above what I did was to "Copy & Paste" from the text below after I selected "Reply" then just enclosed it all with "Quote" from the tool menu above.
(Tool-bar just above the smilies, 2nd from the right)

If there had been other replies I could also have used "Copy & Paste" with those also.

Hope this helps.

Logged

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39471
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: More Than One Quote.
« Reply #2 on: December 03, 2007, 06:56:01 AM »

Yes, copy and paste is the way to do it. Either use the Quote item on the toolbar or type {quote} before the text and {/quote} after it, but use square brackets instead of curly ones.
Logged
  Eric

tickmike

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3266
  • Yes Another Penguin !. :)
    • Free Download from.
Re: More Than One Quote.
« Reply #3 on: December 03, 2007, 11:31:23 PM »

Yes, copy and paste is the way to do it. Either use the Quote item on the toolbar or type {quote} before the text and {/quote} after it, but use square brackets instead of curly ones.

Hi tickmike.

With the text above what I did was to "Copy & Paste" from the text below after I selected "Reply" then just enclosed it all with "Quote" from the tool menu above.
(Tool-bar just above the smilies, 2nd from the right)

If there had been other replies I could also have used "Copy & Paste" with those also.

Hope this helps.


I think I've got the idea, I see were I was going wrong.

Now click 'preview'    :) It works.
Thanks.
Logged
I RECOMMEND TRYING PCLinuxOS (www.pclinuxos.com) .
I have a set of 8 fixed IP's From my Eclipse isp.
BT ADSL2 (G992.3) line>HG612 set as a Modem, Bridge, WAN not Bound to LAN1 or 2 >Smoothwall (Hardware Firewall and routing) > Ethernet LAN, DMZ,WiFI LAN and Spare LAN .
DSLstats LAN2  linked Ethernet

Floydoid

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 8188
  • Marmalade... I like marmalade
Re: More Than One Quote.
« Reply #4 on: December 04, 2007, 05:25:36 AM »

If you're hitting the quote post button for multiple quotes, sometimes it's easier to c&p all the bits into notepad to compose your reply. :)

(I find notepad indispensable as a temporary text repository.)
Logged

oldfogy

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3568
  • If it ain't broke....... I'll soon fix it.
Re: More Than One Quote.
« Reply #5 on: December 04, 2007, 03:03:14 PM »

Yes, copy and paste is the way to do it. Either use the Quote item on the toolbar or type {quote} before the text and {/quote} after it, but use square brackets instead of curly ones.


Quote
Posted on: December 03, 2007, 02:27:34 AMPosted by: oldfogy
Hi tickmike.

With the text above what I did was to "Copy & Paste" from the text below after I selected "Reply" then just enclosed it all with "Quote" from the tool menu above.
(Tool-bar just above the smilies, 2nd from the right)

If there had been other replies I could also have used "Copy & Paste" with those also.

Hope this helps.


Quote
[quotePosted on: Today at 05:25:36 AMPosted by: Floydoid
I think I've got the idea, I see were I was going wrong.

Now click 'preview'    :) It works.
Thanks.

If you separate the individual replies using the {quote} and {/quote} (with square brackets) then they should show as this one (I hope) as separate quotes.
Basically, do them one at a time, then with at least 2 line spaces between each persons quote start the next one.
Logged

tickmike

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3266
  • Yes Another Penguin !. :)
    • Free Download from.
Re: More Than One Quote.
« Reply #6 on: December 04, 2007, 10:37:54 PM »

If you're hitting the quote post button for multiple quotes, sometimes it's easier to c&p all the bits into notepad to compose your reply. :)

(I find notepad indispensable as a temporary text repository.)

One problem must have a spell checker.  ;)

Yes, copy and paste is the way to do it. Either use the Quote item on the toolbar or type {quote} before the text and {/quote} after it, but use square brackets instead of curly ones.



Quote
Posted on: December 03, 2007, 02:27:34 AMPosted by: oldfogy
Hi tickmike.

With the text above what I did was to "Copy & Paste" from the text below after I selected "Reply" then just enclosed it all with "Quote" from the tool menu above.
(Tool-bar just above the smilies, 2nd from the right)

If there had been other replies I could also have used "Copy & Paste" with those also.

Hope this helps.


Quote
[quotePosted on: Today at 05:25:36 AMPosted by: Floydoid
I think I've got the idea, I see were I was going wrong.

Now click 'preview'    :) It works.
Thanks.

If you separate the individual replies using the {quote} and {/quote} (with square brackets) then they should show as this one (I hope) as separate quotes.
Basically, do them one at a time, then with at least 2 line spaces between each persons quote start the next one.


Well I just clicked on 'Quote' For 'Floydoid' made a reply, then previewed it, then clicked insert quote from 'Oldfogy' below the 'post reply box' then made this comment.
Corrected spelling, previewed, post.
Logged
I RECOMMEND TRYING PCLinuxOS (www.pclinuxos.com) .
I have a set of 8 fixed IP's From my Eclipse isp.
BT ADSL2 (G992.3) line>HG612 set as a Modem, Bridge, WAN not Bound to LAN1 or 2 >Smoothwall (Hardware Firewall and routing) > Ethernet LAN, DMZ,WiFI LAN and Spare LAN .
DSLstats LAN2  linked Ethernet

oldfogy

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3568
  • If it ain't broke....... I'll soon fix it.
Re: More Than One Quote.
« Reply #7 on: December 05, 2007, 12:57:58 AM »

If you're hitting the quote post button for multiple quotes, sometimes it's easier to c&p all the bits into notepad to compose your reply. :)

(I find notepad indispensable as a temporary text repository.)

One problem must have a spell checker.  ;)

Yes, copy and paste is the way to do it. Either use the Quote item on the toolbar or type {quote} before the text and {/quote} after it, but use square brackets instead of curly ones.



Quote
Posted on: December 03, 2007, 02:27:34 AMPosted by: oldfogy
Hi tickmike.

With the text above what I did was to "Copy & Paste" from the text below after I selected "Reply" then just enclosed it all with "Quote" from the tool menu above.
(Tool-bar just above the smilies, 2nd from the right)

If there had been other replies I could also have used "Copy & Paste" with those also.

Hope this helps.


Quote
[quotePosted on: Today at 05:25:36 AMPosted by: Floydoid
I think I've got the idea, I see were I was going wrong.

Now click 'preview'    :) It works.
Thanks.

If you separate the individual replies using the {quote} and {/quote} (with square brackets) then they should show as this one (I hope) as separate quotes.
Basically, do them one at a time, then with at least 2 line spaces between each persons quote start the next one.


Well I just clicked on 'Quote' For 'Floydoid' made a reply, then previewed it, then clicked insert quote from 'Oldfogy' below the 'post reply box' then made this comment.
Corrected spelling, previewed, post.
Certainly works ok.

Quote
Posted on: December 02, 2007, 11:11:25 PMPosted by: tickmike 
How do you have a reply with more than one quote from more the one post, instead of making say three separate quote/reply's to three posts on one topic ?.


Hi tickmike.

With the text above what I did was to "Copy & Paste" from the text below after I selected "Reply" then just enclosed it all with "Quote" from the tool menu above.
(Tool-bar just above the smilies, 2nd from the right)

If there had been other replies I could also have used "Copy & Paste" with those also.

Hope this helps.
Well i'll be blowed.

Since asking your original question, you are now teaching us  :lol:  :lol:
Logged

Floydoid

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 8188
  • Marmalade... I like marmalade
Re: More Than One Quote.
« Reply #8 on: December 05, 2007, 05:22:30 AM »

If you're hitting the quote post button for multiple quotes, sometimes it's easier to c&p all the bits into notepad to compose your reply. :)

(I find notepad indispensable as a temporary text repository.)

One problem must have a spell checker.  ;)

In that case use Word... I should have said 'notepad or other text/word processor'.
Logged