Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Routerstats hangs from the off  (Read 3732 times)

renluop

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3210
Routerstats hangs from the off
« on: October 11, 2012, 01:30:10 PM »

I have used it successfully before, until I did a Windows repair. I installed the latest version of RS, 6.8.
Now it hangs from the outset. Windows event log reports an error
Code: [Select]
Log Name:      Application
Source:        Application Hang
Date:          11/10/2012 11:20:21
Event ID:      1002
Task Category: (101)
Level:         Error
Keywords:      Classic
User:          N/A
Computer:      gordon-PC
Description:
The program RouterStats.exe version 0.0.0.0 stopped interacting with Windows and was closed. To see if more information about the problem is available, check the problem history in the Action Center control panel.
 Process ID: 700
 Start Time: 01cda799a1ffda87
 Termination Time: 0
 Application Path: C:\routerstats68\RouterStats.exe
 Report Id: 3df69f44-138d-11e2-af58-00256485166c

Event Xml:
<Event xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event">
  <System>
    <Provider Name="Application Hang" />
    <EventID Qualifiers="0">1002</EventID>
    <Level>2</Level>
    <Task>101</Task>
    <Keywords>0x80000000000000</Keywords>
    <TimeCreated SystemTime="2012-10-11T10:20:21.000000000Z" />
    <EventRecordID>3912</EventRecordID>
    <Channel>Application</Channel>
    <Computer>gordon-PC</Computer>
    <Security />
  </System>
  <EventData>
    <Data>RouterStats.exe</Data>
    <Data>0.0.0.0</Data>
    <Data>700</Data>
    <Data>01cda799a1ffda87</Data>
    <Data>0</Data>
    <Data>C:\routerstats68\RouterStats.exe</Data>
    <Data>3df69f44-138d-11e2-af58-00256485166c</Data>
    <Binary>430072006F00730073002D0074006800720065006100640000000000</Binary>
  </EventData>
</Event>
, and I have followed the advice, as well as using the troubleshooter. Nothing solves the problem. May be one you friends can get something from the report?

As well here are the screen shots in a zipped folder in case I have made a stupid senior moment error.





































Logged

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39518
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: Routerstats hangs from the off
« Reply #1 on: October 11, 2012, 01:35:57 PM »

If you haven't already done so, I would delete the file RouterStats.ini then try running RS again.
Logged
  Eric

renluop

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3210
Re: Routerstats hangs from the off
« Reply #2 on: October 11, 2012, 03:10:42 PM »

No joy with that! :(
Logged

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39518
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: Routerstats hangs from the off
« Reply #3 on: October 11, 2012, 03:47:46 PM »

Did it hang immediately, or only after you configured it?

There does seem to be an oddity in your configuration - for the router login address you've put  telnet://192.168.1.254. Maybe that's required for the particular router you're using, but normally this box would just have 192.168.1.254
Logged
  Eric

renluop

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3210
Re: Routerstats hangs from the off
« Reply #4 on: October 11, 2012, 04:32:10 PM »

The app had been configured and then failed when I tried to use it. As to the telnet.... the Thompsond do not work as Netgears etc. I shall try just 192.168.1.254 next.
Logged

renluop

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3210
Re: Routerstats hangs from the off
« Reply #5 on: October 12, 2012, 11:00:27 PM »

It's "Go" at last! But not sure if don't deserve to be tail between legs. The firewall was blocking.
Logged

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39518
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: Routerstats hangs from the off
« Reply #6 on: October 12, 2012, 11:11:52 PM »

No need for the tail between the legs. :)  I'm pleased that you've got it going.
Logged
  Eric

renluop

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3210
Re: Routerstats hangs from the off
« Reply #7 on: October 13, 2012, 09:48:32 AM »

Just in case it was summat with v68 I installed 67f. I've an idea that upgrading to the later version has a special way (probably dreamt and wrong). Right: or do I just download and overwrite the old?

OT the immediate theme, but this morning is the first time I have noticed upstream bit swapping ( though in the immediate period after Rs's start only).
Logged

renluop

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3210
Re: Routerstats hangs from the off
« Reply #8 on: October 14, 2012, 08:19:51 PM »

How wrong could I be?!  Nothing is progressing and recording though running
The messages
Code: [Select]
  Sun 14 Oct 2012   19:35:44:  Started
      Sun 14 Oct 2012   19:35:47:  Alarm timers reset
      Sun 14 Oct 2012   19:35:47:  Run button clicked
      Sun 14 Oct 2012   19:35:48:  Logging enabled.  Log every 20 seconds.
      Sun 14 Oct 2012   19:35:48:  Logging enabled.  Log router connection status changes.
      Sun 14 Oct 2012   19:35:48:  Started
      Sun 14 Oct 2012   19:35:56:  Saving configuration settings...
      Sun 14 Oct 2012   19:35:58:  Configuration saved.
      Sun 14 Oct 2012   19:36:02:  Saving configuration settings...
      Sun 14 Oct 2012   19:36:03:  Configuration saved.
      Sun 14 Oct 2012   19:36:09:  Saving configuration settings...
      Sun 14 Oct 2012   19:36:10:  Configuration saved.
      Sun 14 Oct 2012   19:36:51:  Saving configuration settings...
      Sun 14 Oct 2012   19:36:52:  Configuration saved.
      Sun 14 Oct 2012   19:37:18:  Saving configuration settings...
      Sun 14 Oct 2012   19:37:19:  Configuration saved.
      Sun 14 Oct 2012   19:37:40:  Saving configuration settings...
      Sun 14 Oct 2012   19:37:41:  Configuration saved.
      Sun 14 Oct 2012   19:38:06:  Saving configuration settings...
      Sun 14 Oct 2012   19:38:08:  Configuration saved.
      Sun 14 Oct 2012   19:38:20:  Listening for HTTP connections on 192.168.1.64.81.
'suppose last item is the problem? Not sure how to deal with it. Routerstats history
http://vwlowen.co.uk/internet/routerstats_history.txt in faint case it might help advise.
Logged

c6em

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 502
Re: Routerstats hangs from the off
« Reply #9 on: October 16, 2012, 08:20:20 PM »

Just read this thread......

I sometimes have problems in getting the full RS to start.  Never a problem with RSlite.
It seems to be only a problem after total re-booting PC (Win XP home), Never after a standby/Hibernate.
This is in telnet mode of RS not http mode which my router won't play with RS on.

The symptoms are that it connects OK and the terminal window shows it getting the info - but it doesn't record on the graphs - (just records at zero).
If you leave it for a while - it eventually seems to start behaving itself and sorts itself out.
I've found the best way to kick it into action rapidly is (while it is still supposedly running/recording) go on to the terminal page and just press some of the stats buttons at the bottom at random to force a stats production out of sync with the data collection sequence.
No idea why this is - but all version of RS current AND previous have done this on my Dlink 2640 router.
On ever rarer occassions it seems to start OK and provides the SNRM at say 3.5, but then seems stuck at this value and keeps on re-plotting this value regardless of the actual value.  Same solution as above seems to work.
Logged

renluop

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3210
Re: Routerstats hangs from the off
« Reply #10 on: October 16, 2012, 08:58:55 PM »

Nor does Lite work for me. I see that at the bottom is: noise margin t db, connnection speed ng kbps, and then an increasing number.
Are you also using PN's version of the 582N? TBH I wonder if that could be the reason.
Logged

c6em

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 502
Re: Routerstats hangs from the off
« Reply #11 on: October 16, 2012, 09:53:10 PM »

Nope
My router is the Dlink 2640 and as I said all versions of RS lite have always worked perfectly on it.
Never used Plusnet's routers and don't have any of their units at home though I am with them as my ISP.
Sorry I can't be of any further help and I don;t have any more ideas to try - other than a different router!

When you download the new version of RS you can use the old ini file from the previous ver in the directory.
If John has made a major change with new ini paramaters he will advise users to re-start from scratch (rare).
You just download the upadated zip file, unzip it and run the exe.
It does not store program stuff elsewhere or make registry changes.
If there is no ini file in the running/operating directory then it creates one at first run which becomes the stored inin file for future runs.
Logged

renluop

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3210
Re: Routerstats hangs from the off
« Reply #12 on: October 16, 2012, 10:51:33 PM »

Sorry if I missed that! Once I am sure nothing at all will work, I'll swap back to an old router and see what happens then.
Logged