Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Monitor query  (Read 3319 times)

ralphw

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
Monitor query
« on: December 02, 2007, 09:48:30 AM »

I've just be given a new monitor, HP 19" and whilst it is a great picture it is annoying in one respect, when scrolling up or down, instead of smoothly moving it goes in jerks, the picture seems to be refreshing in the new position instead of sliding smoothly. I have gone through the set up but don't seem to be ablt to find anything that covers this problem.
Any thoughts or suggestions would be appreciated.
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32147
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Monitor query
« Reply #1 on: December 02, 2007, 11:31:36 AM »

Just checking the obvious really since I dont know what size your previous one was
- but have you set the resolution correctly for the new size monitor?

Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

Pwiggler

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1542
Re: Monitor query
« Reply #2 on: December 02, 2007, 11:54:42 AM »

hi ralph

you get that exact problem when the display driver isnt installed properly.

reinstall that driver or update it from the vid card manu's webby and check if the monitor came with an installation disk - which some do these days.  if it does then bang it in and install.

let us know how you get on  :)

Logged
Paul

Astral

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 6864
Re: Monitor query
« Reply #3 on: December 02, 2007, 12:08:29 PM »

I seem to remember having the same problem when I got a 19" monitor some years back. I wonder whether you have an old graphics card that may not be up to the job? Having said that I think it is more likely to be an incorrect setting on either the card or monitor your because I'm currently using the old graphics card, that I had pre-19", with a 17" monitor of the same resolution as a 19".
Logged

ralphw

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
Re: Monitor query
« Reply #4 on: December 02, 2007, 12:29:10 PM »

Still struggling a bit, the old monitor was a 15". I've reloaded the driver and gone through the setup but it has not helped. Odd thing is that when I first connected it yesterday it worked OK it's only when I switched on today it did not work properly.. :-\
Logged

maxping

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 46
Re: Monitor query
« Reply #5 on: December 02, 2007, 12:52:28 PM »

Try a system restore back to yesterday when it worked.
Logged

Floydoid

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 8188
  • Marmalade... I like marmalade
Re: Monitor query
« Reply #6 on: December 02, 2007, 01:57:46 PM »

What graphics card do you have?
Logged

jabns

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 247
Re: Monitor query
« Reply #7 on: December 02, 2007, 02:18:57 PM »

You have to wipe every aspect of the old driver before you install the new ones. I would actualy try useing the ones available on update.microsoft.com as that will do it for you.
Logged

ralphw

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
Re: Monitor query
« Reply #8 on: December 02, 2007, 03:50:23 PM »

Right so I went back to a restore point before I installed the drivers that came with it and it works OK now.  :hmm:
I think I'll leave well alone until I've got an hour or two to have a fiddle..
Thanks for all your suggestions and advice.
Logged
 

anything