Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5] 6

Author Topic: FTTC Attenuation  (Read 27967 times)

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4850
Re: FTTC Attenuation
« Reply #60 on: July 03, 2012, 02:49:33 PM »

Thankyou Bald_Eagle1 & c6em regarding Retrain explanation, and the re-sync of modem 1-2pm has got me Back the 1 Meg , Its silly all that for 1 lost Meg I know but it's all good fun  ;)

Logged

asbokid

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1286
    • Hacking the 2Wire
Re: FTTC Attenuation
« Reply #61 on: July 05, 2012, 05:48:27 AM »


Well, on Broadcom based chips running standard ADSL, reason 2 is negative margin
whether that applies to your setup/router/FTTC service I have no idea.

I posted some duff info about this on thinkbroadband, but it's too long ago to correct..

GrahamC posted Retrain Codes in this message on the plus.net forum [1]

It looks like Graham got the Codes from the source code for Broadcom's DSL driver [2]

Code: [Select]
/*  line-drop reason code */
#define kRetrainReasonLosDetector                   0
#define kRetrainReasonRdiDetector                   1
#define kRetrainReasonNegativeMargin                2
#define kRetrainReasonTooManyUsFEC                  3
#define kRetrainReasonCReverb1Misdetection          4
#define kRetrainReasonTeqDsp                        5
#define kRetrainReasonAnsiTonePowerChange           6
#define kRetrainReasonIfftSizeChange                7
#define kRetrainReasonRackChange                    8
#define kRetrainReasonVendorIdSync                  9
#define kRetrainReasonTargetMarginSync             10
#define kRetrainReasonToneOrderingException        11
#define kRetrainReasonCommandHandler               12
#define kRetrainReasonDslStartPhysicalLayerCmd     13
#define kRetrainReasonUnknown                      14
#define kRetrainReasonG992Failure                  15
#define kRetrainReasonSes                          16
#define kRetrainReasonCoMinMargin                  17

cheers, a

[1] http://community.plus.net/forum/?topic=104948.msg894217
[2] http://forum.openwrt.org/viewtopic.php?pid=120035#p120035   -
in the linked tarball see: DG834GBv4_V5.01.01_src/bcmdrivers/broadcom/char/adsl/bcm96348/softdsl/SoftDsl.h
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 33004
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: FTTC Attenuation
« Reply #62 on: July 09, 2012, 08:36:34 AM »

>> It looks like Graham got the Codes from the source code for Broadcom's DSL driver

That would be interesting info to dump on the main site or wiki sometime as I have on occasion wondered what they mean, thanks for the code source asbo.

Im sure Ive seen higher numbers than 17 though, let me try do some digging when I get a min.
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 33004
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: FTTC Attenuation
« Reply #63 on: July 09, 2012, 08:54:17 AM »

Just gone through a quick search on the forums.. 

The one code that crops up quite a lot is  8000 or 8800 for the Netgears DG834Gv4 (broadcom).   Ive also seen a 20 but unsure of the router model.

It would be good to put something like this up though, because it is a question I see asked from time to time
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 40751
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: FTTC Attenuation
« Reply #64 on: July 09, 2012, 09:24:22 AM »

Looking at my D-Link DSL-2740B, I see this in the stats:

Showtime Drop Reason:   8000
Last Retrain Reason:    8000

That drop and retrain corresponded with an incoming phone call.
Logged
  Eric

Bald_Eagle1

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2721
Re: FTTC Attenuation
« Reply #65 on: July 09, 2012, 11:08:57 AM »

I have only ever seen 0 & 2 for Retrain Raesons on FTTC/VDSL2 connections using a Huawei HG612 modem.

However, I have seen 0, 1 & 8000 on ADSL connections, still using the Huawei HG612 but in ADSL mode.

b*cat may be able to expand on ADSL Retrain Reasons using that modem/router as it is he that is currently using the HG612 on his ADSL2 connection.
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 34017
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: FTTC Attenuation
« Reply #66 on: July 09, 2012, 06:49:26 PM »

Quote
b*cat may be able to expand on ADSL Retrain Reasons using that modem/router as it is he that is currently using the HG612 on his ADSL2 connection.

I have seen an 8000 and (I think) a 2000 but I shall have to check to see if I have details of the causes of those Retrain Reasons.

For the record, I am not the only person using a Huawei HG612 for a ADSLx service -- we must not forget the person who made their usage possible by "unlocking" the firmware, Asbokid.  :clap2:
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

asbokid

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1286
    • Hacking the 2Wire
Re: FTTC Attenuation
« Reply #67 on: July 09, 2012, 08:37:41 PM »

Oh God. Don't rely on me  ???

A recursive grep of the (full) source code tree for the DG834, another Broadcom 63xx-based router, uncovered no obvious references to Retrain Reason 8000.

 Hmm..

Perhaps "8000" isn't defined explicitly in the source. Elsewhere in other code, Broadcom uses offsets or bitwise shifts to define constants. e.g. retrainCode could be stored as (1<<15) or as (0x7000 + 0x1000), or maybe the retrain reason code 8000 is not hexadecimal, but base10 like the reason codes up to 17. etc..   It does seem a strange number, not in keeping with other reason codes. Perhaps it's more of a flag (bit 15 set).

The search continues :)

cheers, a




« Last Edit: July 09, 2012, 10:32:16 PM by asbokid »
Logged

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4850
Re: FTTC Attenuation
« Reply #68 on: July 09, 2012, 08:42:07 PM »

I had this error in the Log of the HG612 just the one.

2000-1-1 0:0:3 Warning 10400 KLOB Pool 1 Initialized: 1048576 bytes <0x80300000 ... 0x80400000>
Logged

Bald_Eagle1

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2721
Re: FTTC Attenuation
« Reply #69 on: July 09, 2012, 09:08:08 PM »

I had this error in the Log of the HG612 just the one.

2000-1-1 0:0:3 Warning 10400 KLOB Pool 1 Initialized: 1048576 bytes <0x80300000 ... 0x80400000>

That usually immediately follows a reboot, so it isn't really an error.
If you did indeed set the date/time for the inbuilt log, then a reboot resets it to 2000-1-1, whereas an on the fly resync doesn't:-

2000-1-1 0:0:21 Notice 104500 DSL activate succeed
2000-1-1 0:0:17 Debug 104500 LAN1 up
2000-1-1 0:0:15 Debug 104500 LAN2 up
2000-1-1 0:0:14 Notice 1 System up
2000-1-1 0:0:3 Warning 10400 KLOB Pool 1 Initialized: 1048576 bytes <0x80300000 ... 0x80400000>
2012-6-2 19:22:54 Warning 104001 System reboot



2012-6-14 3:22:46 Notice 104500 DSL activate succeed
2012-6-14 3:22:30 Notice 104500 DSL deactivate


Logged

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4850
Re: FTTC Attenuation
« Reply #70 on: July 09, 2012, 09:46:48 PM »

Thanks BE1 all quite here with my logs Sync going up and SNR DS & US have flatline'd at 6DB long my it continue  ;D
Logged

Bald_Eagle1

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2721
Re: FTTC Attenuation
« Reply #71 on: July 09, 2012, 09:53:22 PM »

Thanks BE1 all quite here with my logs Sync going up and SNR DS & US have flatline'd at 6DB long my it continue  ;D

So are you now in sync at higher than 30Mb?

Just for curiosity, does your SNR graph change much between morning & night time?
« Last Edit: July 09, 2012, 09:58:22 PM by Bald_Eagle1 »
Logged

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4850
Re: FTTC Attenuation
« Reply #72 on: July 09, 2012, 10:02:14 PM »

Not at 30Mbps yet but looking at Sync something it changing

Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 34017
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: FTTC Attenuation
« Reply #73 on: July 10, 2012, 01:00:57 AM »

I had this error in the Log of the HG612 just the one.

2000-1-1 0:0:3 Warning 10400 KLOB Pool 1 Initialized: 1048576 bytes <0x80300000 ... 0x80400000>

b*cat goes into pedantic mode and says that there is no error noted on the line you have quoted, only a Warning:P
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 34017
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: FTTC Attenuation
« Reply #74 on: July 10, 2012, 01:05:21 AM »

It does seem a strange number, not in keeping with other reason codes. Perhaps it's more of a flag (bit 15 set).

That is what I am considering . . .  :-\

However I am now in a position to correct my earlier statement. The only Retrain Reason codes I currently have on record are 0, 1 and 8000.

Code: [Select]
[b*cat@Duo2 HG612]$ grep -iR reason * | sort | uniq
ADSL1/data-20120630.txt:Retrain Reason: 1
ADSL1/data-20120705.txt:Retrain Reason: 0
ADSL2+/data-20120703.txt:Retrain Reason: 8000
ADSL2+/data-20120704.txt:Retrain Reason: 8000
ADSL2/data-20120709.txt:Retrain Reason: 8000
[b*cat@Duo2 HG612]$
« Last Edit: July 21, 2012, 08:38:53 PM by burakkucat »
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.
Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5] 6