Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5 6

Author Topic: FTTC Attenuation  (Read 27981 times)

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4850
Re: FTTC Attenuation
« Reply #45 on: June 29, 2012, 07:37:54 PM »

BT had a big maintenance overhall that started at 23:45 (28/6/2012) this caused a widespread BB slowdowns and full Disconnections it was fully fixed at 8:00 (29/6/2012) I have asked BTOR to ring me before they do this again  :D
Logged

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4850
Re: FTTC Attenuation
« Reply #46 on: June 29, 2012, 11:23:50 PM »

Hi have had the PC on for 12 hours I did some edititing in the Stats_log again its scratchy as I am turning off PC sorry.


Also when starting a new Log I get this in the cmd window

Logged

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4850
Re: FTTC Attenuation
« Reply #47 on: June 29, 2012, 11:50:05 PM »

12 hour graph

Logged

Bald_Eagle1

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2721
Re: FTTC Attenuation
« Reply #48 on: June 30, 2012, 08:18:51 AM »

That all looks quite steady now.

What caused the gap between 23:00 & 23:30?

Also, what caused the resync at a slightly lower speed at not much before 01:00 on 29th?


Your sync speeds are now very similar to mine (your US is a bit higher).

Could you post your xdslcmd info --pbParams for me to compare against mine (or preferably a zipped Plink log that will be small enough to post in this forum):-

Code: [Select]

# xdslcmd info --pbParams
xdslcmd: ADSL driver and PHY status
Status: Showtime
Retrain Reason: 2
Max: Upstream rate = 4698 Kbps, Downstream rate = 33224 Kbps
Path: 0, Upstream rate = 4818 Kbps, Downstream rate = 28085 Kbps

Discovery Phase (Initial) Band Plan
US: (0,95) (868,1207) (1972,2783)
DS: (32,859) (1216,1963) (2792,3959)
Medley Phase (Final) Band Plan
US: (0,95) (868,1207)
DS: (32,859) (1216,1963)
       VDSL Port Details       Upstream        Downstream
Attainable Net Data Rate:       4698 kbps         33224 kbps
Actual Aggregate Tx Power:        6.3 dBm          12.4 dBm
============================================================================
  VDSL Band Status        U0      U1      U2      U3      D1      D2      D3
  Line Attenuation(dB): 8.4 54.8 77.8   N/A 21.9 64.5 0.1
Signal Attenuation(dB): 9.3 54.3   N/A   N/A 21.9 64.5   N/A
        SNR Margin(dB): 5.7 5.8   N/A   N/A 6.3 6.5   N/A
         TX Power(dBm): -4.4 5.8   N/A   N/A 11.4 5.3   N/A
#
« Last Edit: June 30, 2012, 08:21:25 AM by Bald_Eagle1 »
Logged

Bald_Eagle1

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2721
Re: FTTC Attenuation
« Reply #49 on: June 30, 2012, 08:20:26 AM »

Hi have had the PC on for 12 hours I did some edititing in the Stats_log again its scratchy as I am turning off PC sorry.


Also when starting a new Log I get this in the cmd window


That just means you are trying to plot more data samples than are actually stored in modem_stats.log
Logged

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4850
Re: FTTC Attenuation
« Reply #50 on: June 30, 2012, 06:04:08 PM »

The Re Sync Issue you saw that, The BT outage on Friday 00:30 Internet went down for 1 hour I turned off HH3 & HG612 but it did not fix it, only found out on Friday afternoon BT where doing a large Maintenance upgrade that effected a large part of the UK, I have lost another Meg and others on BT Forums have also lost sync speed.

I guess its my fault I should not have turned off HG612 during the outage  :'(

the one the that seems to have changed is the D1 D2 Snr Margin from 6.1 to 6.8

« Last Edit: June 30, 2012, 06:38:57 PM by NewtronStar »
Logged

Bald_Eagle1

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2721
Re: FTTC Attenuation
« Reply #51 on: June 30, 2012, 07:34:23 PM »


the one the that seems to have changed is the D1 D2 Snr Margin from 6.1 to 6.8


Target SNRM when the modem syncs is 6dB.

While it is connecting, line conditions are examined & a "suitable" sync speed is achieved.

Throughout the day/night conditions will fluctuate as people switch electrical equipment on/off etc. making the connection "noisier" or "quieter".

Your increased SNRM suggests that your connection could achieve a little more speed if you had synced at the time you grabbed the stats (not much more though).

SNRM tends to rise a little during the day & lower a little during the night.

You attenuation (Hlog), QLN & SNR are slightly better than mine & thus your connection is able to load more bits in the D2 band than mine.

However, your D1 band looks quite a bit noisier than mine & thus your connection has a large dip in bit loading in the D1 band (usually the best bitloading band as it is the lowest frequencies & so is the least attenuated).

I have attached your montage to compare against mine as shown in the post a little higher up this thread.
Logged

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4850
Re: FTTC Attenuation
« Reply #52 on: June 30, 2012, 07:58:47 PM »

Thanks Bald_eagle1 I am wondering what the shared/other is in the Band Plan graph that shows as blue ?

Is it the Voice (Telephone) !

Ok D1 band looking at yours and mine and see the dip in my lower Band, I might stick the dsl lead straight into master socket and see if extension wire to Data socket is causing this ??
« Last Edit: June 30, 2012, 08:15:49 PM by NewtronStar »
Logged

Bald_Eagle1

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2721
Re: FTTC Attenuation
« Reply #53 on: June 30, 2012, 08:35:47 PM »

Thanks Bald_eagle1 I am wondering what the shared/other is in the Band Plan graph that shows as blue ?

Is it the Voice (Telephone) !


No, it's for the shared US & DS tones & anything else (other) that has some bits loaded but isn't really part of the band plans.

I don't know how to distinguish between shared US & DS as they are all shown in the same column in the modem's stats.
It is the scripts that splits them up.

US: (0,95) (868,1207) (1972,2783)
DS: (32,859) (1216,1963) (2792,3959)

You can see that US uses tones 0 to 95, yet DS uses tones 32 to 859.

Therefore tones 32 to 95 must be shared.

Quote
Ok D1 band looking at yours and mine and see the dip in my lower Band, I might stick the dsl lead straight into master socket and see if extension wire to Data socket is causing this ??

It might be worth a try.
Were the extension wire & data socket installed by the engineer, or are they your own additions?
« Last Edit: June 30, 2012, 08:46:44 PM by Bald_Eagle1 »
Logged

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4850
Re: FTTC Attenuation
« Reply #54 on: June 30, 2012, 08:48:44 PM »

BTOR used my existing extension wiring they just installed the Data Kit socket.
Logged

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4850
Re: FTTC Attenuation
« Reply #55 on: July 03, 2012, 12:06:49 AM »

I have been using a Lamp in the room for two days to see if the Dimmer Light switch was interfering with HG612 can you see the difference ?



Logged

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4850
Re: FTTC Attenuation
« Reply #56 on: July 03, 2012, 12:55:22 AM »

Hello I see Retrain reason 2 in my current stats tonight, whats this about ?

Logged

c6em

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 503
Re: FTTC Attenuation
« Reply #57 on: July 03, 2012, 06:37:23 AM »


Well, on Broadcom based chips running standard ADSL, reason 2 is negative margin
whether that applies to your setup/router/FTTC service I have no idea.
Logged

Bald_Eagle1

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2721
Re: FTTC Attenuation
« Reply #58 on: July 03, 2012, 06:59:07 AM »

Hello I see Retrain reason 2 in my current stats tonight, whats this about ?

I think Reason 0 = reboot or power off & on again & Reason 2 = "on the fly" resync.

Messing about with logging & time server settings seems to have caused resyncs last night.
It did the same on my connection too.

Logged

Bald_Eagle1

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2721
Re: FTTC Attenuation
« Reply #59 on: July 03, 2012, 07:03:26 AM »

I have been using a Lamp in the room for two days to see if the Dimmer Light switch was interfering with HG612 can you see the difference ?

It's a bit hard to tell exactly what's going on with all the gaps in the data, but it seems to be showing fewer errors?

Didn't you mention that you had started logging 24/7?

Logged
Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5 6
 

anything