Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5]

Author Topic: Broadcom DSL Diagnostics App  (Read 30147 times)

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39299
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: Broadcom DSL Diagnostics App
« Reply #60 on: February 19, 2014, 10:40:38 PM »

That's discussed in the thread, but I can't add anything to it, I'm afraid.
Logged
  Eric

renluop

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3011
Re: Broadcom DSL Diagnostics App
« Reply #61 on: February 19, 2014, 10:41:47 PM »

BTW it can no loger be downloaded from original link
Logged

GigabitEthernet

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1888
Re: Broadcom DSL Diagnostics App
« Reply #62 on: February 20, 2014, 10:33:33 AM »

BTW it can no loger be downloaded from original link

Please use the link here: http://www.upload.ee/files/2487813/DslDiag.zip.html.
Logged

GigabitEthernet

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1888
Re: Broadcom DSL Diagnostics App
« Reply #63 on: February 20, 2014, 10:34:23 AM »

It just says socket connecting when i send bcmdsldiagsl -s 192.168.1.1 the program starts but just says connecting?

Have you tried telnetting into said router and running the command: dsldiagd?
Logged

Loading

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 252
Re: Broadcom DSL Diagnostics App
« Reply #64 on: February 20, 2014, 08:33:06 PM »

No, how would i do this?
Logged

miken

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Broadcom DSL Diagnostics App
« Reply #65 on: February 20, 2014, 08:40:32 PM »

Would anyone be willing to captures some traffic in wireshark and send me the pcapng file?

I'd like to see if I can make any sense of the protocol/reverse engineered code but don't have a compatible router at the moment (will probably pickup a cheap one off ebay sometime) - but I can test with an emulator for now.
Logged

boozy

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 81
Re: Broadcom DSL Diagnostics App
« Reply #66 on: July 06, 2018, 09:24:35 PM »

A really old post but, as I could find anywhere better, I thought I would add some details from experimenting here (I haven't done much, but at least one bit seems new):

Beyond the Eye views, the Status and the State summary there are 6 windows available:

Bit Allocation - Bitloading in a one histogram bar per tone
Gi Allocation (Gain) - The gain applied to each tone.  My guess is in a perfect line this would be a straight line
SNR - Signal to Noise Ratio (contains Minimum and maximum as well as current
Showtime Margin - the Margin for each tone at the point of synchronisation
Channel Response - The HLog
Quiet Line Noise  -  Also shows Minimum and maximum when shown during the QLN Monitoring (from the tests menu)


« Last Edit: July 06, 2018, 09:58:59 PM by boozy »
Logged

boozy

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 81
Re: Broadcom DSL Diagnostics App
« Reply #67 on: July 06, 2018, 09:43:32 PM »

When I was playing I put the modem into L3 State (idle, no connection)

QLN Monitoring uses the QLN view.  There are 2 parameters, Duration and Frequency (forgot to screenshot so will edit next time I play with it).


The result is the QLN, along with a minimum and maximum over the time you set.  It reverts to the last QLN if you shut the window.
Logged

boozy

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 81
Re: Broadcom DSL Diagnostics App
« Reply #68 on: July 06, 2018, 09:52:20 PM »

In the AFE tests the two loopback tests fail, likely as they need a strap at the other end.

The Hybrid Response Test runs and produces a HLog Graph (of what I don't know yet :)).  But it definitely relates to the QLN (mine's weird, and so is that HLog).  The QLN is not the usual one - so I'll have to edit this again once I figure how I got it.  The normal QLN is labelled SnrC and this one just QLN.  There's a direct correlation between the peaks and troughs.
Logged

boozy

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 81
Re: Broadcom DSL Diagnostics App
« Reply #69 on: July 06, 2018, 09:54:35 PM »

Placeholder

I did poke at lots of things, but hadn't thought to screen capture or document what I'd done (which I now wish I had).  There may be more useful info so I'll keep a post for next time I have the modem disconnected.
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5]
 

anything