Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 ... 14

Author Topic: advice for plotting my own graphs  (Read 54019 times)

GigabitEthernet

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2243
Re: advice for plotting my own graphs
« Reply #45 on: May 15, 2012, 08:58:30 PM »

Just found this..............

To allow Telnet access on a Netgear in the first place, does something like this have to be entered in a browser:-

http://192.168.0.1/setup.cgi?todo=debug

Maybe doing that first will then allow the script to work?


If that is a necessary step, is there any other way to enable debug mode i.e. via a batch file?



Not necessary as I am using a firmware that has telnet enabled by default. It is actually successfully connecting to the router, but it is either too slow or too quick in entering the password.
Logged

Bald_Eagle1

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2721
Re: advice for plotting my own graphs
« Reply #46 on: May 15, 2012, 09:11:58 PM »

To slow it down (probably more likely than speeding it up) you could try increasing the sleep timings by whole number increments in this part of the batch file:-


rem ***** This one USEs PERMANENT LOGIN FILES in the Apps folder *****
(echo *1>CON & sleep 1^
 & type %LOGIN_FOLDER%\LOGIN1.TXT & echo **2>CON & sleep 1^
 & type %LOGIN_FOLDER%\LOGIN2.TXT & echo ***3>CON & sleep 1^
 & echo ****4>CON & sleep 1 & echo *****5>CON & sleep 1 & echo adslctl info --Bits & echo ******6>CON^
 & sleep 1 & echo adslctl info --linediag & echo *******7>CON & sleep 2 & echo adslctl info --show & echo ********8>CON & sleep 1^
 & echo adslctl info --stats & echo ********8a>CON & sleep 1 & echo exit & echo *********9>CON & sleep 1 & echo exit^
 & echo **********10>CON  & sleep 2 & echo ***********11>CON ) ^| Plink -telnet -P 23 192.168.1.1 >> %SUBFOLDER%%LOGFILENAME%





Or maybe even add "& sleep 1" (without the quotes) immediately after LOGIN1.TXT and LOGIN2.TXT

It seems too close to give up just yet.


Logged

GigabitEthernet

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2243
Re: advice for plotting my own graphs
« Reply #47 on: May 15, 2012, 09:25:28 PM »

I think I've found out what is happening: after the batch script has entered "admin" and pushed "enter", it appears to push "enter" again and then type the password, whereas what needs to happen is for it to enter "admin", push "enter, enter the password and then push "enter".

This can be seen in this example:

Login: admin

Password: <-- The password needs to be entered here (it is not shown when it is typed, I don't know if that makes any difference?)
**** <-- Not here which is what appears to be happening.

Any ideas?
« Last Edit: May 15, 2012, 09:28:55 PM by arobertson545 »
Logged

Bald_Eagle1

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2721
Re: advice for plotting my own graphs
« Reply #48 on: May 15, 2012, 09:40:16 PM »

try changing the asterisks in the batch file to something else to prove what is being entered e.g.

Original:-
 & type %LOGIN_FOLDER%\LOGIN1.TXT & echo **2>CON & sleep 1^
 & type %LOGIN_FOLDER%\LOGIN2.TXT & echo ***3>CON & sleep 1^
 & echo ****4>CON & sleep 1 & echo *****5>CON & sleep 1

New:-
 & type %LOGIN_FOLDER%\LOGIN1.TXT & echo xx2>CON & sleep 1^
 & type %LOGIN_FOLDER%\LOGIN2.TXT & echo xxx3>CON & sleep 1^
 & echo xxxx4>CON & sleep 1 & echo xxxxx5>CON & sleep 1


The asterisks aren't actually needed for anything, they just showed that something was happening on a very, very, very old & slow XP system that I tested the HG612 scripts on.
« Last Edit: May 15, 2012, 09:52:26 PM by Bald_Eagle1 »
Logged

Bald_Eagle1

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2721
Re: advice for plotting my own graphs
« Reply #49 on: May 15, 2012, 09:44:28 PM »

In my version (HG612), Password shows in the Plink log as a single character:-

=~=~=~=~=~=~=~=~=~=~=~= Plink log 2012.05.15 21:28:57 =~=~=~=~=~=~=~=~=~=~=~=

Welcome Visiting Huawei  Home Gateway
Copyright by Huawei Technologies Co., Ltd.
Login:admin
Password:

The next bit is specific to the HG612 though

ATP>sh


BusyBox v1.9.1 (2010-10-15 17:59:06 CST) built-in shell (ash)
Enter 'help' for a list of built-in commands.
 
« Last Edit: May 15, 2012, 09:48:09 PM by Bald_Eagle1 »
Logged

GigabitEthernet

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2243
advice for plotting my own graphs
« Reply #50 on: May 15, 2012, 10:15:29 PM »

Sorry, the asterisks were just to show that I had removed my password! Or, did you mean something else?
Logged

GigabitEthernet

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2243
advice for plotting my own graphs
« Reply #51 on: May 15, 2012, 10:17:14 PM »

The example above was taken from the plink log. I still don't get why it doesn't work.
Logged

snadge

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1450
Re: advice for plotting my own graphs
« Reply #52 on: May 15, 2012, 11:25:25 PM »

i get same results after enabling debug, im running DGteam anyway so I think thats disabled.
Logged
Aquiss - 900/110/16ms - TP-Link AR73

Bald_Eagle1

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2721
Re: advice for plotting my own graphs
« Reply #53 on: May 15, 2012, 11:31:01 PM »

Using this:-

http://192.168.0.1/setup.cgi?todo=debug

It seems that any other logging in is not required.

I have just tried it with my old DG834GT & the amended batch file (attached) & got this:-


Code: [Select]
=~=~=~=~=~=~=~=~=~=~=~= Plink log 2012.05.15 23:15:06 =~=~=~=~=~=~=~=~=~=~=~=


BusyBox v1.00 (2005.07.29-07:22+0000) Built-in shell (ash)
Enter 'help' for a list of built-in commands.

# adslctl info --Bits
adslctl: too many options
#
# adslctl info --linediag
adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
Status: Idle
Loop Attenuation (LATN)          = 0.0 dB
Signal Attenuation (SATN)        = 0.0 dB
SNR Margin (SNRM)                = 0.0 dB
Attanable Data Rate (ATTNDR)     = 0 Kbps
Transmit Power(ACTATP)           = 0.0 dBm

Tone number      SNR
   0            0.0000
   1            0.0000
   2            0.0000
   3            0.0000
   4            0.0000

[All the rest snipped out]



I don't know why, but Bits are not harvested.
They weren't harvested when I used DMT tool when I had an ADSL connection either.
« Last Edit: May 15, 2012, 11:34:20 PM by Bald_Eagle1 »
Logged

snadge

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1450
Re: advice for plotting my own graphs
« Reply #54 on: May 15, 2012, 11:36:44 PM »

thanks

get same results as before though? - it must be the DGteam 1018 firmware do you think? , saying that, DMT Tool has no problems accessing line stats for me via telnet?

I think it needs flashing back to Netgear FW

=~=~=~=~=~=~=~=~=~=~=~= Plink log 2012.05.15 23:34:20 =~=~=~=~=~=~=~=~=~=~=~=
 
 
Login: adslctl info --Bits

Password:
adslctl info --linediag

Login incorrect
Login: Password:
adslctl info --show

adslctl info --stats

exit

Login incorrect
Login: Password:
Login incorrect
Logged
Aquiss - 900/110/16ms - TP-Link AR73

Bald_Eagle1

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2721
Re: advice for plotting my own graphs
« Reply #55 on: May 15, 2012, 11:44:58 PM »


get same results as before though? - it must be the DGteam 1018 firmware do you think? , saying that, DMT Tool has no problems accessing line stats for me via telnet?

I think it needs flashing back to Netgear FW


I don't know.

Mine doesn't have DGTeam firmware on it.

Did you use the amended batch file that I attached to my last message?

I have removed the logging in details from it.
Logged

snadge

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1450
Re: advice for plotting my own graphs
« Reply #56 on: May 15, 2012, 11:47:24 PM »

yep that was the one I used, the new one, I see you amended the IP address for us :)

Iam going to fire up XP on the laptop and install latest Netgear Firmware for it, give me 10 mins
Logged
Aquiss - 900/110/16ms - TP-Link AR73

snadge

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1450
Re: advice for plotting my own graphs
« Reply #57 on: May 16, 2012, 12:23:06 AM »

it worked with Netgear FW.... wierd... I wonder if it just needed a proper flash because last few FW i installed was via the WUI, I will flash it back tomorrow and see if still the same...

find log attached :)
Logged
Aquiss - 900/110/16ms - TP-Link AR73

Bald_Eagle1

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2721
Re: advice for plotting my own graphs
« Reply #58 on: May 16, 2012, 12:46:30 AM »

Nearly time to give you the actual graphing scripts then.

We are gathering too much redundant data. It seems like info --show isn't needed.
I'll try to remember to edit the harvesting script again to remove that.

Grpahs attached.
Logged

snadge

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1450
Re: advice for plotting my own graphs
« Reply #59 on: May 16, 2012, 01:06:08 AM »

thanks again :)
Logged
Aquiss - 900/110/16ms - TP-Link AR73
Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 ... 14
 

anything