Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 14

Author Topic: advice for plotting my own graphs  (Read 44851 times)

GigabitEthernet

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2090
Re: advice for plotting my own graphs
« Reply #15 on: May 14, 2012, 09:13:38 PM »

I am using a NETGEAR DG834GT. As far as I know, most of the routers with access to these stats use either "adsl info" or "adslctl info" on NETGEAR routers.


Is there anything I can modify on my end so I can test it here and if needs be get some help from you? I presume I just need to modify the login details and the commands because all other data is pretty similar. Or, is it more complicated than that?
Logged

Blackeagle

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 257
Re: advice for plotting my own graphs
« Reply #16 on: May 14, 2012, 09:20:57 PM »

If I remember correctly, the mode field is populated thus G.DMT/ADSL2/ADSL2+.  Don't think PbParams works with adslctl, at least, I don't remember using it !!

As an aside, the upstream of 448kbps would indicate an IPStream product.  If you wished to write generic scripts Paul it should be relatively easy to check for this value for IPStream.  Anything higher than this would indicate an LLU product.  That said, I do not know what BT's standard upstream is, merely the upstream of an IPStream reseller and an LLU line (24000/1024 - max rates).
Logged
ASCII stupid question, get a stupid ANSI -- TalkTalk Broadband since 2006

Bald_Eagle1

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2721
Re: advice for plotting my own graphs
« Reply #17 on: May 14, 2012, 09:45:31 PM »

I am using a NETGEAR DG834GT. As far as I know, most of the routers with access to these stats use either "adsl info" or "adslctl info" on NETGEAR routers.


Is there anything I can modify on my end so I can test it here and if needs be get some help from you? I presume I just need to modify the login details and the commands because all other data is pretty similar. Or, is it more complicated than that?

You could try this:-

Create a folder C:\ADSL_Stats
Move to that folder & create a subfolder named Apps
Create another subfolder of ADSL_Stats named Scripts
Create another subfolder of ADSL_Stats named Current_Stats

From the attached zip file:-

Extract Sleep.EXE & Plink.EXE into C:\ADSL_Stats\Apps
Extract LOGIN1.TXT, LOGIN2.TXT & LOGIN3.TXT into C:\ADSL_Stats\Apps
Edit these to suit your modem/router login details for a telnet (Plink) session


Extract Basic_ADSLStats.BAT into C:\ADSL_Stats\Scripts

Edit the line in Basic_ADSLStats.BAT that contains Plink -telnet -P 23 192.168.1.1 to match the IP address of your modem/router.

Double-click Basic_ADSLStats.BAT & let me know exactly what error messages you see.

It's all been a bit rushed, so I don't expect it to work first time.
Once we confirm this part works, I can forward the actual graphing script along with the other utilities.


EDIT: Zip file actually attached now
« Last Edit: May 14, 2012, 10:14:12 PM by Bald_Eagle1 »
Logged

Bald_Eagle1

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2721
Re: advice for plotting my own graphs
« Reply #18 on: May 14, 2012, 09:57:17 PM »

If I remember correctly, the mode field is populated thus G.DMT/ADSL2/ADSL2+.  Don't think PbParams works with adslctl, at least, I don't remember using it !!

As an aside, the upstream of 448kbps would indicate an IPStream product.  If you wished to write generic scripts Paul it should be relatively easy to check for this value for IPStream.  Anything higher than this would indicate an LLU product.  That said, I do not know what BT's standard upstream is, merely the upstream of an IPStream reseller and an LLU line (24000/1024 - max rates).

Wouldn't LLU also be G.DMT/ADSL2/ADSL2+?
If so, Mode from adslctl info --stats & adslctl info --show would report the relevant connection type wouldn't it?

It appears that G.DMT uses only 256 tones.
Do ADSL2 & ADSL2+ both use 512 tones?

Logged

Blackeagle

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 257
Re: advice for plotting my own graphs
« Reply #19 on: May 14, 2012, 10:17:49 PM »



Wouldn't LLU also be G.DMT/ADSL2/ADSL2+?
If so, Mode from adslctl info --stats & adslctl info --show would report the relevant connection type wouldn't it?

It appears that G.DMT uses only 256 tones.
Do ADSL2 & ADSL2+ both use 512 tones?

Yes they do.  LLU can also be any mode BUT the upstream figure is higher for LLU than IPStream (576 vs 448 on G.dmt) I think.
Logged
ASCII stupid question, get a stupid ANSI -- TalkTalk Broadband since 2006

Bald_Eagle1

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2721
Re: advice for plotting my own graphs
« Reply #20 on: May 14, 2012, 10:22:54 PM »

What do you reckon this one would be?

I don't actually have the Mode information.


adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
Status: ShowtimeRetrain Reason: 0
Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 1799 Kbps, Downstream rate = 18503 Kbps
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32520
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: advice for plotting my own graphs
« Reply #21 on: May 14, 2012, 10:25:44 PM »

Quote
Upstream rate = 1799 Kbps, Downstream rate = 18503 Kbps

That has to be ADSL2+.

Edited to attach two images, for Baldy_Bird's education.  :P  They show the current status of my line at The Cattery. It is an LLU'd ADSL2+ line from TalkTalk, with a DS cap of 8 Mbps applied. My modem/router (a 2Wire 2700HGV) automagically syncs in ADSL2 mode and you will note that I have just (today) requested that interleaving be turned on. (Note the FECs.)
« Last Edit: May 14, 2012, 10:40:43 PM by burakkucat »
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

Bald_Eagle1

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2721
Re: advice for plotting my own graphs
« Reply #22 on: May 14, 2012, 10:34:22 PM »

Thank you b*cat.

All this ADSL technical stuff is new territory for me.

None of it really mattered to me when I could only achieve "up to" 1 Mb on my old ADSL connection with DS attenuation of 63.5 dB (probably higher in reality due to my DG834GT apparently not actually reporting anything higher than that).
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32520
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: advice for plotting my own graphs
« Reply #23 on: May 14, 2012, 10:44:12 PM »

You are welcome. And, having realised that you are just an experienced novice, I have attached two screenshots and a note to my previous post.  :-X
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 40234
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: advice for plotting my own graphs
« Reply #24 on: May 14, 2012, 10:48:27 PM »



Wouldn't LLU also be G.DMT/ADSL2/ADSL2+?
If so, Mode from adslctl info --stats & adslctl info --show would report the relevant connection type wouldn't it?

It appears that G.DMT uses only 256 tones.
Do ADSL2 & ADSL2+ both use 512 tones?

Yes they do.  LLU can also be any mode BUT the upstream figure is higher for LLU than IPStream (576 vs 448 on G.dmt) I think.

That's not quite right. ADSL and ADSL2 use frequencies up to 1.1 MHz (256 tones), but ADSL2+ uses frequencies up to 2.2 MHz (512 tones).
Logged
  Eric

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32520
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: advice for plotting my own graphs
« Reply #25 on: May 14, 2012, 10:52:50 PM »


That's not quite right. ADSL and ADSL2 use frequencies up to 1.1 MHz (256 tones), but ADSL2+ uses frequencies up to 2.2 MHz (512 tones).

Ah, Eric has spotted the "mishap" (that I missed.  :-[  )  At least I can say that the tone range for ADSL2 is shown in my second screenshot, above.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

Bald_Eagle1

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2721
Re: advice for plotting my own graphs
« Reply #26 on: May 14, 2012, 10:58:17 PM »

That's not quite right. ADSL and ADSL2 use frequencies up to 1.1 MHz (256 tones), but ADSL2+ uses frequencies up to 2.2 MHz (512 tones).

So, for your ADSL2+ line, have you chosen to use ADSL2 mode, or has the 2Wire/DLM determined that is the best you can have?
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32520
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: advice for plotting my own graphs
« Reply #27 on: May 14, 2012, 11:18:16 PM »

Sorry, I forgot to mention the DLM. With a TalkTalk LLU'd line, one can request that the DLM be turned off. Which is what I have done.

The selection of ADSL2 mode, rather than ADSL2+ mode, was a decision made by the 2Wire 2700HGV. If you look at my Screenshot-1, above, you will see that the modem tested the line in ADSL2+ mode and found it lacking. So it "dropped back" to the previous standard and tried again -- with success. (If ADSL2 also proved to unworkable, it would have dropped right back to ADSL mode.)

The far right-hand side of Screenshot-2 is attached below, as Screenshot-3. That shows what the modem reports, whilst it is attempting to sync.
« Last Edit: May 14, 2012, 11:36:27 PM by burakkucat »
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

Bald_Eagle1

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2721
Re: advice for plotting my own graphs
« Reply #28 on: May 14, 2012, 11:43:17 PM »

Just playing about, I have added a bit of "useful" raw text data in the attached Portrait & Landscape montages
Logged

snadge

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1314
Re: advice for plotting my own graphs
« Reply #29 on: May 15, 2012, 01:32:52 PM »

thanks for your help BA, really appreciate it ..

find attached a zip file containing the 4 TXT files, 1 for each one of stats you asked for

thanks again :)
« Last Edit: May 15, 2012, 01:35:18 PM by snadge »
Logged
Zyxel VMG8924-B10A <-> PlusNET <-> Eci DSLAM
Sync: 64,000k <-> INP: ON <-> FTTP available :) 900Mbps +5G EE Mobile
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 14
 

anything