Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 14

Author Topic: advice for plotting my own graphs  (Read 45526 times)

snadge

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1323
advice for plotting my own graphs
« on: May 13, 2012, 08:00:05 PM »

after seeing asbokid's graphs with my line stats i wondered if there is a program that I can use to do that myself

does anyone know of any that will plot graphs with my stats such as QLN, SNR, Hlog  etc

thanks in advance
Logged
Zyxel VMG8924-B10A <-> PlusNET <-> Eci DSLAM
Sync: 64,000k on VDSL2 <-> INP: ON <-> FTTP available :) 900Mbps +5G EE Mobile

Bald_Eagle1

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2721
Re: advice for plotting my own graphs
« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2012, 09:41:10 PM »

We use gnuplot.

It plots graphs from the raw data obtained via xdslcmd or other similar commands.

Windows and Linux versions can be dowloaded (free of charge).
Simple scripts/batch files to automate the plotting can be written.

Assuming you are a Windows user, I might be able to assist with setting up the scripts for your system.

This is the version I use in my batch files for graphing the stats from the Huawei HG612 modem:-

G N U P L O T
Version 4.4 patchlevel 4
last modified November 2011
System: MS-Windows 32 bit

Copyright (C) 1986-1993, 1998, 2004, 2007-2011
Thomas Williams, Colin Kelley and many others

I use the 32 bit version even though my Windows 7 system is 64 bit.
Logged

GigabitEthernet

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2116
Re: advice for plotting my own graphs
« Reply #2 on: May 14, 2012, 07:51:09 AM »

Hello,

I have a quick question (sorry for the slight hijack). I have a DG834GT that I can access via telnet and the commands are very similar to the Huawei HG612. The only difference is that the commands are "adslctl" instead of "xdslcmd". So would it be possible for you to perhaps assist me with setting up some graphs?

I'll open a new thread if necessary.

Once again, sorry for the slight hijack.
Logged

Bald_Eagle1

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2721
Re: advice for plotting my own graphs
« Reply #3 on: May 14, 2012, 10:11:21 AM »

If the output from the ADSL equivalent of these commands is combined into a single file & posted here, I'll have a look at it.

xdslcmd info --pbParams
xdslcmd info --Bits
xdslcmd info --linediag
xdslcmd info --show
xdslcmd info --stats


PuTTy is an excellent free terminal program for outputting data to a log file (it includes date & time etc).
Logged

GigabitEthernet

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2116
Re: advice for plotting my own graphs
« Reply #4 on: May 14, 2012, 11:20:37 AM »

I'll put them in a single file later, but these are the commands:


adslctl info --pbParams - Doesn't work: "too many options"
adslctl info --Bits - Works
adslctl info --linediag - Works
adslctl info --show - Works
adslctl info --stats - Works

Thank you.
Logged

Bald_Eagle1

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2721
Re: advice for plotting my own graphs
« Reply #5 on: May 14, 2012, 11:38:03 AM »


adslctl info --pbParams - Doesn't work: "too many options"


pbParams is case sensitive. I have seen the "too many options" when I forgot to use upper case for the 2nd P.

"adslctl --help" might give you a full list of the available commands.
Logged

snadge

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1323
Re: advice for plotting my own graphs
« Reply #6 on: May 14, 2012, 02:40:36 PM »

@ Bald_Eagle - thanks for the offer of help, I would appreciate it - just you are aware of my troubles and Iam going to 3 other SKY customers houses and with my 834GT Iam going to pull stats from them and thought it would be best to use some sort of plotter as asbokid did.

I do use windows, ive installed GNUplot ...what next?

thanks in advance
Logged
Zyxel VMG8924-B10A <-> PlusNET <-> Eci DSLAM
Sync: 64,000k on VDSL2 <-> INP: ON <-> FTTP available :) 900Mbps +5G EE Mobile

Bald_Eagle1

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2721
Re: advice for plotting my own graphs
« Reply #7 on: May 14, 2012, 05:36:03 PM »


I do use windows, ive installed GNUplot ...what next?


Next is to gather the relevant stats, ideally into a single file.

That can probably be auotomated, but for now we need Bits, Hlog, SNR & QLN data.

I have attached an example data log & an example of the graphs plotted from that data.
 
If you or arobertson545 could attach the data from these commands, I could test my ADSL graphing scripts & assuming everything works O.K. I could package all the parts needed for you to run the scripts whenever you wish (for manually obtained data):-

adslctl info --pbParams - Doesn't work: "too many options"
adslctl info --Bits - Works
adslctl info --linediag - Works
adslctl info --show - Works
adslctl info --stats - Works

If info --linediag doesn't provide sufficient data, thise should do it:-

adslctl info --Bits
adslctl info --SNR
adslctl info --QLN
adslctl info --Hlog

Assuming it all works with manually obtained data, we could then move on to automatically obtaining the data & plotting it all from one double-click of the mouse.

Logged

GigabitEthernet

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2116
Re: advice for plotting my own graphs
« Reply #8 on: May 14, 2012, 06:54:33 PM »

Attatched is the log file :).
Logged

Bald_Eagle1

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2721
Re: advice for plotting my own graphs
« Reply #9 on: May 14, 2012, 08:02:49 PM »

Attatched is the log file :).

& attached is the first attempt at plotting the data.

I'm not very well up on these matters but I presume this means ADSL1 :-   

"Mode:  G.DMT" , along with the fact that only 256 tones were harvested ?

What indications would we get for ADSL2 & ADSL2+ modes?

I'm not sure what this means though:-

                        G.dmt framing
K:              197(0)          15
R:              14              16
S:              1               8
D:              16              2
                        ADSL2 framing
MSGc:           1               1
B:              197             15
M:              1               8
T:              1               1
R:              14              16
S:              1.0707          9.0000
L:              1584            128
D:              16              2



I notice that QLN data is 0.0000 for all 256 tones.

Also, I see that linediag already gives us:-

SNR
QLN (albeit all zeros)
Hlog

So, we don't also need to collect them separately.

We do however need to collect Bits separately.

We also get this :-

# adslctl info --show
adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
Status: ShowtimeRetrain Reason: 0
Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 448 Kbps, Downstream rate = 6272 Kbps
Link Power State: L0
Mode:                   G.DMT
Channel:                Interleave
Trellis:                OFF
Line Status:            No Defect
Training Status:        Showtime
                Down            Up
SNR (dB):       6.8             23.0
Attn(dB):       41.0            26.0
Pwr(dBm):       19.7            11.9
Max(Kbps):      6784            1088
Rate (Kbps):    6272            448
                        G.dmt framing
K:              197(0)          15
R:              14              16
S:              1               8
D:              16              2
                        ADSL2 framing
MSGc:           1               1
B:              197             15
M:              1               8
T:              1               1
R:              14              16
S:              1.0707          9.0000
L:              1584            128
D:              16              2
                        Counters
SF:             2410208         2410210
SFErr:          67              76
RS:             163894190               20485782
RSCorr:         51667           179
RSUnCorr:       432             0

HEC:            55              46
OCD:            0               0
LCD:            0               0
Total Cells:    606099260               0
Data Cells:     9135712         0
Drop Cells:     0
Bit Errors:     0               0

ES:             50              0
SES:            0               0
UAS:            129             0
AS:             40973

INP:            0.56            1.00
PER:            1.87            1.96
delay:          4.28            4.50
OR:             29.88           28.44

Bitswap:        0               0



& we also get this :-

# adslctl info --stats
adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
Status: ShowtimeRetrain Reason: 0
Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 448 Kbps, Downstream rate = 6272 Kbps
Link Power State: L0
Mode:                   G.DMT
Channel:                Interleave
Trellis:                OFF
Line Status:            No Defect
Training Status:        Showtime
                Down            Up
SNR (dB):       6.8             23.0
Attn(dB):       41.0            26.0
Pwr(dBm):       19.7            11.9
Max(Kbps):      6784            1088
Rate (Kbps):    6272            448
                        G.dmt framing
K:              197(0)          15
R:              14              16
S:              1               8
D:              16              2
                        ADSL2 framing
MSGc:           1               1
B:              197             15
M:              1               8
T:              1               1
R:              14              16
S:              1.0707          9.0000
L:              1584            128
D:              16              2
                        Counters
SF:             2410385         2410328
SFErr:          67              76
RS:             163906226               20487788
RSCorr:         51667           179
RSUnCorr:       432             0

HEC:            55              46
OCD:            0               0
LCD:            0               0
Total Cells:    606143771               0
Data Cells:     9135712         0
Drop Cells:     0
Bit Errors:     0               0

ES:             50              0
SES:            0               0
UAS:            129             0
AS:             40977

INP:            0.56            1.00
PER:            1.87            1.96
delay:          4.28            4.50
OR:             29.88           28.44

Bitswap:        0               0

Total time = 11 hours 27 min 17 sec
SF  = 2410385
CRC = 67
LOS = 0
LOF = 0
ES  = 50
Latest 1 day time = 11 hours 27 min 17 sec
SF  = 2410385
CRC = 67
LOS = 0
LOF = 0
ES  = 50
Latest 15 minutes time = 12 min 17 sec
SF  = 43306
CRC = 3
LOS = 0
LOF = 0
ES  = 3
Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
SF  = 52923
CRC = 3
LOS = 0
LOF = 0
ES  = 3
Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
SF  = 0
CRC = 0
LOS = 0
LOF = 0
ES  = 0
15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
SF  = 52982
CRC = 1
LOS = 0
LOF = 0
ES  = 1
15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
SF  = 52982
CRC = 4
LOS = 0
LOF = 0
ES  = 2
15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
SF  = 52923
CRC = 4
LOS = 0
LOF = 0
ES  = 3
Showtime Drop Reason:   0
Last Retrain Reason:    0


I take it that nothing is forthcoming from pbParams?
« Last Edit: May 14, 2012, 08:09:31 PM by Bald_Eagle1 »
Logged

GigabitEthernet

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2116
Re: advice for plotting my own graphs
« Reply #10 on: May 14, 2012, 08:30:43 PM »


Try this one, the QLN is populated this time.



Logged

GigabitEthernet

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2116
Re: advice for plotting my own graphs
« Reply #11 on: May 14, 2012, 08:31:55 PM »

I'm not very well up on these matters but I presume this means ADSL1 :-   

"Mode:  G.DMT" , along with the fact that only 256 tones were harvested ?

Yes it does and I am on ADSL1. I don't know why ADSL 2 framing shows up but we can ignore it. Nothing is forthcoming with "adslctl info --pbParams" :( .
Logged

Bald_Eagle1

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2721
Re: advice for plotting my own graphs
« Reply #12 on: May 14, 2012, 08:34:40 PM »


Try this one, the QLN is populated this time.

Here it is.

Any idea why QLN wasn't populated earlier?
Logged

GigabitEthernet

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2116
Re: advice for plotting my own graphs
« Reply #13 on: May 14, 2012, 08:36:24 PM »

Any idea why QLN wasn't populated earlier?

Nope :). How easy will it be to modify the scripts so I can do it at a click of a button?
Logged

Bald_Eagle1

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2721
Re: advice for plotting my own graphs
« Reply #14 on: May 14, 2012, 09:07:44 PM »

It would take a while, especially as I can't directly test the data harvesting.

The automation uses Plink command line terminal instead of PuTTy.
The IP Address & login name & password of the modem are used to gather the stats for my VDSL2 connection:-

rem ***** This uses PERMANENT LOGIN FILES in the Apps folder *****
(echo *1>CON & sleep 1^
 & type %LOGIN_FOLDER%\LOGIN1.TXT & echo **2>CON & sleep 1^
 & type %LOGIN_FOLDER%\LOGIN2.TXT & echo ***3>CON & sleep 1^
 & type %LOGIN_FOLDER%\LOGIN3.TXT^
 & echo ****4>CON & sleep 1 & echo xdslcmd info --pbParams & echo *****5>CON & sleep 1 & echo xdslcmd info --Bits & echo ******6>CON^
 & sleep 1 & echo xdslcmd info --linediag & echo *******7>CON & sleep 2 & echo xdslcmd info --show & echo ********8>CON & sleep 1^
 & echo xdslcmd info --stats & echo ********8a>CON & sleep 1 & echo exit & echo *********9>CON & sleep 1 & echo exit^
 & echo **********10>CON  & sleep 2 & echo ***********11>CON ) ^| Plink -telnet -P 23 192.168.1.1 >> %SUBFOLDER%%LOGFILENAME%

It's not very elegant, but it does work reliably.

LOGIN1.TXT just contains the username "admin" - without the quotes
LOGIN2.TXT just contains the password "admin"  - without the quotes
LOGIN3.TXT just contains "sh" - without the quotes (the command to get to the busybox shell).

If you gave me those details I could amend my VDSL script for you to try out.

My scripts also use a few Windows versions of Unix utilities.

Once everything works O.K. I could package it all into a zip file for you to unzip at your end.

My scripts use specific folders for the utilities & also creates dated subfolders each time the stats are graphed.
e.g. %LOGIN_FOLDER% mentioned above uses C:\HG612_Modem_Stats\Apps

I could set things up to use default folders that you could edit in a few seconds at your end.


Which modem/router are you using?
I might have to consider different ones that use different commands to obtain the stats.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 14
 

anything