Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Help Running 'Cron' .  (Read 3578 times)

tickmike

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3641
  • Yes Another Penguin !. :)
Help Running 'Cron' .
« on: April 25, 2012, 03:33:04 PM »

I'm trying to run a 'cron' job via Luckybackup but nothing is happening, I have never used 'cron'  before.
Any help about cron . (it is installed and running ! )
Logged
I have a set of 6 fixed IP's From  Eclipse  isp.BT ADSL2(G992.3) line>HG612 as a Modem, Bridge, WAN Not Bound to LAN1 or 2 + Also have FTTP (G.984) No One isp Fixed IP >Dual WAN pfSense (Hardware Firewall and routing).> Two WAN's, Ethernet LAN, DMZ LAN, Zyxel GS1100-24 Switch.

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 43613
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: Help Running 'Cron' .
« Reply #1 on: April 25, 2012, 03:48:23 PM »

I've never had occasion to configure cron directly. Does this help? : http://www.unixsurgeon.com/kb/cron-job-tutorial.html
Logged
  Eric

tickmike

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3641
  • Yes Another Penguin !. :)
Re: Help Running 'Cron' .
« Reply #2 on: April 27, 2012, 03:00:56 PM »

Thanks Eric, I found my cron job was running (I found the logs ) and I also found the Luckybackup logs and they told me it ran with errors, found that my 'ssh' password-less log was not correct.
Still working on it.
Installing 'Webmin' is a very useful tool for looking at 'cron'.
Logged
I have a set of 6 fixed IP's From  Eclipse  isp.BT ADSL2(G992.3) line>HG612 as a Modem, Bridge, WAN Not Bound to LAN1 or 2 + Also have FTTP (G.984) No One isp Fixed IP >Dual WAN pfSense (Hardware Firewall and routing).> Two WAN's, Ethernet LAN, DMZ LAN, Zyxel GS1100-24 Switch.

tickmike

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3641
  • Yes Another Penguin !. :)
Re: Help Running 'Cron' .
« Reply #3 on: May 08, 2012, 12:37:46 AM »

I keep coming back to this.

How do I check what 'Permissions' are on a Folder and
How do I check what 'Permissions' are on a File ?.
I think the folder should be 700 and the file 600 .
Logged
I have a set of 6 fixed IP's From  Eclipse  isp.BT ADSL2(G992.3) line>HG612 as a Modem, Bridge, WAN Not Bound to LAN1 or 2 + Also have FTTP (G.984) No One isp Fixed IP >Dual WAN pfSense (Hardware Firewall and routing).> Two WAN's, Ethernet LAN, DMZ LAN, Zyxel GS1100-24 Switch.

asbokid

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1286
    • Hacking the 2Wire
Re: Help Running 'Cron' .
« Reply #4 on: May 08, 2012, 01:58:25 AM »

I keep coming back to this.

How do I check what 'Permissions' are on a Folder

Folders in Linux are called directories.

The Linux shell command ls -l is your friend.

The first ten characters of each line from ls -l contain the file type and the permissions.

After the file type, the next nine characters are grouped in threes. These characters are the (r)ead, (w)rite and e(x)ecute perms for the user, the group and the world.

Here's an example..
Code: [Select]
$ ls -l
total 0
drwx------ 2 asbokid users   40 May  8 01:31 dir1
drwxr-xr-x 2 asbokid asbokid 40 May  8 01:31 dir2
drwxrwxrwx 2 asbokid games   40 May  8 01:31 dir3
drw-r-x-w- 2 asbokid staff   40 May  8 01:31 dir4
-rw------- 1 asbokid root     0 May  8 01:52 file
$

The directory called dir1 is owned by asbokid, and is in the users group; dir2 is owned by asbokid and is in the asbokid group;  dir3 is owned by asbokid and is in the games group, etc..

And dir1 has user perms of rwx = 4 + 2 + 1 = 7,   group perms of --- = 0 + 0 + 0 = 0,  world perms of --- = 0 + 0 + 0 = 0    i.e. 700
And dir2 has user perms of rwx = 4 + 2 + 1 = 7,   group perms of r-x = 4 + 0 + 1 = 5,  world perms of r-x = 4 + 0 + 1 = 5    i.e. 755
..
And file has user perms of rwx = 4 + 2 + 0 = 6,   group perms of --- = 0 + 0 + 0 = 0,  world perms of --- = 0 + 0 + 0 = 0     i.e. 600

Quote
How do I check what 'Permissions' are on a File ?.

As above.  Wikipedia has a pretty good entry on the shell command ls explaining all this..

Quote
I think the folder should be 700 and the file 600 .

Code: [Select]
chmod 700 directoryname
chmod 600 filename

cheers, a
« Last Edit: May 10, 2012, 01:37:04 AM by asbokid »
Logged

tickmike

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3641
  • Yes Another Penguin !. :)
Re: Help Running 'Cron' .
« Reply #5 on: May 08, 2012, 02:13:14 PM »

Thanks for taking time to explain I will try it out tonight.
Logged
I have a set of 6 fixed IP's From  Eclipse  isp.BT ADSL2(G992.3) line>HG612 as a Modem, Bridge, WAN Not Bound to LAN1 or 2 + Also have FTTP (G.984) No One isp Fixed IP >Dual WAN pfSense (Hardware Firewall and routing).> Two WAN's, Ethernet LAN, DMZ LAN, Zyxel GS1100-24 Switch.

tickmike

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3641
  • Yes Another Penguin !. :)
Re: Help Running 'Cron' .
« Reply #6 on: May 09, 2012, 07:01:37 PM »

Got it working  :clap:

It was the wrong permissions for sending machines folders directories and files within.
« Last Edit: May 09, 2012, 08:23:06 PM by tickmike »
Logged
I have a set of 6 fixed IP's From  Eclipse  isp.BT ADSL2(G992.3) line>HG612 as a Modem, Bridge, WAN Not Bound to LAN1 or 2 + Also have FTTP (G.984) No One isp Fixed IP >Dual WAN pfSense (Hardware Firewall and routing).> Two WAN's, Ethernet LAN, DMZ LAN, Zyxel GS1100-24 Switch.

asbokid

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1286
    • Hacking the 2Wire
Re: Help Running 'Cron' .
« Reply #7 on: May 10, 2012, 01:40:31 AM »

Got it working  :clap:

It was the wrong permissions for sending machines folders directories and files within.

Good stuff.  If you need to, you can recursively change permissions and/or ownerships of all files and directories under the current directory with the -r option to chmod and chown.

Care needed when doing anything recursively, especially as root  :(

cheers, a
Logged
 

anything