Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 2 [3]

Author Topic: Good News! and, of course, bad news.  (Read 12426 times)

Floydoid

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 8188
  • Marmalade... I like marmalade
Re: Good News! and, of course, bad news.
« Reply #30 on: September 10, 2007, 12:51:31 PM »

And of course the Billy Cotton Band Show  :'(

"Wakey Wakey!"
Logged

feliscatusx2

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 251
Re: Good News! and, of course, bad news.
« Reply #31 on: September 10, 2007, 03:01:43 PM »

Do you mind, I was just dozing off then  ;)
Logged
Some people are like slinkies: they don't really have a purpose, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down the stairs.

feliscatusx2

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 251
Re: Good News! and, of course, bad news.
« Reply #32 on: September 21, 2007, 08:44:01 PM »

All well so far, NO nasties in the event logs  ;D.

I have moved to OpenDNS for the DNS servers and disabled the XP DNS client with a very noticable increase in responsiveness.

Indexing Service and System Restore have both been stamped on until they stop moving, using Acronis to make an image of C:\ to the second hard disk when appropriate.

I tried singing "I'm being Maxed on Monday" to the tune of "I'm getting married in the morning", but it just don't work  ???.

So far ~ very, very happy with the whole setup, I just need faster fingers to keep up with it.

And no, I'm not using that dreadful Tonka Toy theme, classic desktop all the way for me, thank you very much.
Logged
Some people are like slinkies: they don't really have a purpose, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down the stairs.

feliscatusx2

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 251
Re: Good News! and, of course, bad news.
« Reply #33 on: September 24, 2007, 11:12:16 AM »

Upgrade went through within the last hour, the results are as follows:

Downstream = 3308
Upstream = 382
Sync = 4896

Not bad at all  ;).  May even improve during the training period.

How often should I reboot the Router?
Logged
Some people are like slinkies: they don't really have a purpose, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down the stairs.

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39451
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: Good News! and, of course, bad news.
« Reply #34 on: September 24, 2007, 01:30:01 PM »

You shouldn't need to reboot the router on a regular basis. Mine (for example) stays running 24/7 and is currently approaching 5 weeks uptime. But some connections are less stable than this, and the router can get itself in a twist and either not resync at all or sync in an unusual mode; that's when you need to reboot.
Logged
  Eric

feliscatusx2

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 251
Re: Good News! and, of course, bad news.
« Reply #35 on: September 24, 2007, 02:16:46 PM »

Reboot during the training period?

PlusNet recommend this but don't say how often.

Mine is also left on all the time unless there seems to be a problem, which is very rare; unlike the heap I had before.
Logged
Some people are like slinkies: they don't really have a purpose, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down the stairs.

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39451
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: Good News! and, of course, bad news.
« Reply #36 on: September 24, 2007, 03:40:36 PM »

'Training period' is a bit of a misnomer. Nothing that happens during this period makes any difference to the way the router behaves after the period is over. It continues to negotiate its connection speed with the exchange every time it re-syncs, and the IP profile is set accordingly. As far as I know, the only thing the training period does is establish a benchmark ('Maximum stable rate') against which any future complaints about speed are measured. So you might like to reboot the router if you get a particularly low speed re-sync, but I can't see much point otherwise.

All of this is my personal opinion. Others may disagree.
Logged
  Eric

feliscatusx2

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 251
Re: Good News! and, of course, bad news.
« Reply #37 on: September 25, 2007, 07:21:33 PM »

Connection speed is slowly rising to around 4300  :)

Attenuation is up from 49 to 53 Db  :(

SNR is down from 12ish to 4ish  >:(

Speed tests vary from 1300 to 1900 down from a previous rock solid 1970 +/- 10  ???

52 Losses of synch in 24 hours, very rare before  :-X

I've asked PN to look at this and consider whether to put me back on the 2Mb fixed service.  They say they can do this within 24hrs.

I might give it a couple of days longer to see if anything improves, but I'm not very hopeful.
Logged
Some people are like slinkies: they don't really have a purpose, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down the stairs.

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32082
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Good News! and, of course, bad news.
« Reply #38 on: October 04, 2007, 02:19:21 PM »

>>> All of this is my personal opinion. Others may disagree.


I totally agree with you.

>> speed is slowly rising to around 4300 
which may perhaps be a bit high for your particular connection.

Hopefully things have settled down now and are much more stable now..   it is perfectly normal on some connections to see a fair few disconnects during the first few days, whilst the DLM process figures out whats best on your line. 
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

feliscatusx2

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 251
Re: Good News! and, of course, bad news.
« Reply #39 on: October 04, 2007, 08:13:36 PM »

Seems to have settled down a bit.

Connection speed shows as 3400

Speed tests show a stable speed of about 2400 down, which is better than the previous speeds on the fixed connection, but not that much better (about 420K)  :-\.

Just looked at the DG834 Log and see this:

Wed, 2007-10-03 16:30:10 - Loss of synchronization :1
Wed, 2007-10-03 18:04:12 - Loss of synchronization :2
Wed, 2007-10-03 19:35:44 - Loss of synchronization :3
Wed, 2007-10-03 19:37:44 - Loss of synchronization :4
Wed, 2007-10-03 21:26:46 - Loss of synchronization :5
Thu, 2007-10-04 01:32:48 - LCP down.
Thu, 2007-10-04 01:32:55 - Initialize LCP.
Thu, 2007-10-04 01:32:55 - LCP is allowed to come up.
Thu, 2007-10-04 01:33:56 - Initialize LCP.
Thu, 2007-10-04 01:33:56 - LCP is allowed to come up.
Thu, 2007-10-04 01:34:57 - Initialize LCP.
Thu, 2007-10-04 01:34:57 - LCP is allowed to come up.
Thu, 2007-10-04 01:35:57 - Initialize LCP.
Thu, 2007-10-04 01:35:57 - LCP is allowed to come up.
Thu, 2007-10-04 01:36:58 - Initialize LCP.
Thu, 2007-10-04 01:36:58 - LCP is allowed to come up.
Thu, 2007-10-04 01:37:59 - Initialize LCP.
Thu, 2007-10-04 01:37:59 - LCP is allowed to come up.
Thu, 2007-10-04 01:38:59 - Initialize LCP.
Thu, 2007-10-04 01:38:59 - LCP is allowed to come up.
Thu, 2007-10-04 01:40:00 - Initialize LCP.
Thu, 2007-10-04 01:40:00 - LCP is allowed to come up.
Thu, 2007-10-04 01:41:01 - Initialize LCP.
Thu, 2007-10-04 01:41:01 - LCP is allowed to come up.
Thu, 2007-10-04 01:42:01 - Initialize LCP.
Thu, 2007-10-04 01:42:01 - LCP is allowed to come up.
Thu, 2007-10-04 01:43:02 - Initialize LCP.
Thu, 2007-10-04 01:43:02 - LCP is allowed to come up.
Thu, 2007-10-04 01:44:03 - Initialize LCP.
Thu, 2007-10-04 01:44:03 - LCP is allowed to come up.
Thu, 2007-10-04 01:45:03 - Initialize LCP.
Thu, 2007-10-04 01:45:04 - LCP is allowed to come up.
Thu, 2007-10-04 01:46:04 - Initialize LCP.
Thu, 2007-10-04 01:46:04 - LCP is allowed to come up.
Thu, 2007-10-04 01:47:05 - Initialize LCP.
Thu, 2007-10-04 01:47:05 - LCP is allowed to come up.
Thu, 2007-10-04 01:47:16 - CHAP authentication success
Thu, 2007-10-04 01:49:48 - LCP down.
Thu, 2007-10-04 01:49:50 - Initialize LCP.
Thu, 2007-10-04 01:49:50 - LCP is allowed to come up.
Thu, 2007-10-04 01:50:51 - Initialize LCP.
Thu, 2007-10-04 01:50:51 - LCP is allowed to come up.
Thu, 2007-10-04 01:51:52 - Initialize LCP.
Thu, 2007-10-04 01:51:52 - LCP is allowed to come up.
Thu, 2007-10-04 01:52:53 - Initialize LCP.
Thu, 2007-10-04 01:52:53 - LCP is allowed to come up.
Thu, 2007-10-04 01:53:53 - Initialize LCP.
Thu, 2007-10-04 01:53:53 - LCP is allowed to come up.
Thu, 2007-10-04 01:54:22 - CHAP authentication success

I have no idea what this means, should I worry, should I care  ????

What is LCP anyway?

I tried Google and there seems to be a lot of people asking the same question, but the answers are many and varied.  Most seem to blame Microfilters, but I don't have any of them connected, the RJ45(11?) cable goes from the router straight into the BT ADSL faceplace.   The only thing that has changed around here is that it has stopped raining.

If there is an equipment fault then it can only be the router or the cable, can't it. Otherwise it's over to BT.

Speaking of BT, No 1 Daughter is having horrendous problems.  They have 2 lines into the house and would like to tranfer the ADSL from No 1 Line (the original) to no 2 Line.  No 1 Line would then be disconnected.  There are good reasons for this which are far to complicated to go into here (No 1 Line was for a business).

BT can't set up ADSL on No 2 Line because there are flags on the line indicating that BT have already set ADSL.  BT say they are not their flags but belong to a 3rd party provider.  The Organisation that administers the flags say they are BT flags and can quote all the relevant reference Nos.  BT say they have no trace and therefore can't remove the flags  :-X.  She has been spending up to 4 hours on the phone at a time for the last 2 weeks trying to sort this one out.

My head hurts.


Logged
Some people are like slinkies: they don't really have a purpose, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down the stairs.

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32082
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Good News! and, of course, bad news.
« Reply #40 on: October 04, 2007, 09:18:36 PM »

Means you had a "sticky" patch last night :/

Theres no CHAP showing there for quite a while - so either you couldnt connect to the RAS RADIUS or your ISP for some reason.

Normally it would show when you cant connect to your ISP because either your passy is wrong/ or the ISP is busy.

I think we can discount the invalid login.. 
I know PN have just installed yet another new central so I doubt its that either as they now seem to have things very much under control and back on track.

I'm not aware of any platform problems as my router logs are fine...  so pass.

Because of the time - perhaps BT were doing some work between at the RAS?
I honestly dont know.

Would need a more detailed analysis of your router logs to say for sure.
On the Netgear it has to be in debug mode and they can then be found http://192.168.0.1/ppp_log



-----

Quote
What is LCP anyway?

I tried Google and there seems to be a lot of people asking the same question, but the answers are many and varied.

Something that I know a lil bit about - but I'll admit Im no big expert on protocols -  however it is something Ive looked into in the past and what I do know:-


LCP is link control protocol.

  • When you sync to the exchange a very basic PPP session is established which is used to set up LCP.
  • LCP is a 2 part process responsible for setting up a link between you and the remote RADIUS server (2 stages because with IPStream it happens with BTs RADIUS servers at the RAS and then at a later stage  again with the ISP RADIUS server)
  • Once the (LCP) link has been set up THEN it has to be authenticated this is a multi stage process
  • [1]onto the BTw Network -  (BT authenticates the @plusdsl.net)
    [2]The ISP -  (Plusnet authenticate the username@)
    - This is the CHAP process when you have full internet access.


    Theres a diagram on my site which shows the full stages of
adsl authentication.

A bit more info that isnt shown on there

Stages 1-4 are initiation of the PPP session and communication with the RAS (shown as LAC on the diagram)
Stages 5-6 is stage 1 of authentication on to the BTw network via BTs RADIUS servers and the bit where on some router logs it shows the RAS eg "ESR7.Ilford5"
Stages 7-14 & 15-22 Setting up an LT2P tunnel with the ISPs Central Pipe (The bit that hides all the BT routing when we do a tracert). This stage is also where all the stuff happens re the routing to the ISPs PoP after the ISP realm has been verified (SSB).
Stages 23-24 is where some router logs show eg "PTE-AG2" and authentication on to the PlusNet network.


Quote
Most seem to blame Microfilters

Nothing to do with microfilters at all..  its way past that stage.
You have PPP so youre connecting to the exchange ok
You have LCP so youre at least reaching either the exchange and/or the RAS.
It goes belly up after that (not reaching either BTs or your ISPs RADIUS servers)





*Please note that the above information only applies to BTw IPStream adsl.
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32082
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Good News! and, of course, bad news.
« Reply #41 on: October 04, 2007, 09:25:41 PM »

Quote
BT can't set up ADSL on No 2 Line because there are flags on the line indicating that BT have already set ADSL.  BT say they are not their flags but belong to a 3rd party provider.  The Organisation that administers the flags say they are BT flags and can quote all the relevant reference Nos.  BT say they have no trace and therefore can't remove the flags  .  She has been spending up to 4 hours on the phone at a time for the last 2 weeks trying to sort this one out.

If shes having problems getting an adsl tag removed on the line - or because no-one is taking ownership for the tag, then there is a special BT number that you can call which may be worth a try :-


BT Wholesale Tel: 0800 169 0934

Open hours: Monday Friday 8am 6pm. Saturday 8am 12pm


Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

feliscatusx2

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 251
Re: Good News! and, of course, bad news.
« Reply #42 on: October 04, 2007, 09:30:08 PM »

Gosh!

I think I understood some of that  ;)

It seems to happen mainly in the wee small hours, so we will blame those rascally BT Engineers having a party in the exchange.  But I will keep an eye on it.

Ta ever so.
Logged
Some people are like slinkies: they don't really have a purpose, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down the stairs.

feliscatusx2

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 251
Re: Good News! and, of course, bad news.
« Reply #43 on: October 04, 2007, 09:34:00 PM »

Just seen your second post, I was going to send her the Info via E-Mail, just stopped myself in time.  I will ring her termorrer.

Let you know how it all works out.
Logged
Some people are like slinkies: they don't really have a purpose, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down the stairs.

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32082
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Good News! and, of course, bad news.
« Reply #44 on: October 04, 2007, 10:18:10 PM »

>> Gosh!
>> I think I understood some of that 

Gosh!

I'm surpised cause I just rambled  :lol:

Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker
Pages: 1 2 [3]
 

anything