Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum

Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: in-house wiring topology, bridge taps, ADSL filters  (Read 11127 times)

asbokid

• Kitizen
    • Hacking the 2Wire
in-house wiring topology, bridge taps, ADSL filters
« on: February 16, 2012, 04:07:55 AM »

Hi,

I have no particular knowledge here, but would be interested to hear opinions.

The poor quality of in-house wiring is often blamed for low xDSL sync speeds.  Consumers are advised by providers to install ADSL filters or "splitters" on every piece of voiceband equipment, and to site the xDSL modem as close as possible to the NTE5 demarcation point.

But maybe that tells only part of the story. There could be other things that the customer can do to improve his sync speed, such as changing the overall topology of his in-house wiring.

The paper below is from Westell. [1] It was published in 2003 when consumer ADSL was in relative infancy. Today, the same technologies are still in use, albeit in newer forms, and the problems with those technologies persist, too.

The Westell paper addresses the effect of bridge taps in consumer wiring. That's what specifically interests here.

The bridge tap, also known as a "branch" or a "lateral" is a well documented problem for telcos.   It is where there is a non-terminated cable pair that is 'tapped' onto a subscriber line. The tap introduces impedance mismatches at the splice point of the tap, and at the end point of the tap. These mismatches cause signal reflections. These reflections can impair the performance of the subscriber line. For a line used to provide an xDSL service, the bridge tap is likely to cause notches in the spectral response. These notches reduce the number of 'bins' available in the tone map. This will inevitably affect the overall line sync speed.