Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum

Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: To Infinity with BT  (Read 4733 times)

mywifeshusband

To Infinity with BT
« on: January 29, 2012, 10:20:56 AM »

I’m not sure which of the many Speed related  FTTC threads in this forum this should be pined to so I’ll start another and let the administrators do as they like with it.

I have very little to add beyond, ‘experience’; paramount  in which is if you have a problem then keeping good detailed records and persistence is essential.  Time was when I had an abysmal fixed speed Broadband from BT at a bit less than 1 Mbps. Now though I’m with them via their FTCC Infinity offer, and with which I’m NOW relatively pleased. This though was not achieved without recording all the details  and making  a thorough nuisance of myself to BT over the past few years.

Their original offer of a 29Mbps service initially gave me a configured speed of 35.696 Mbps on May the 19th 2011. This held until the 29th when it dropped, to 35.464, I believe as a result of having to turn off the router for a short while.  I say this because every time I had to turn the router off (BT Home Hub Mk3) there would be a further drop in configured speed

Whilst this was going on I was giving BT ‘heaps’ owing to a noisy telephone landline.  Noise which I ‘knew’ from a multitude of BT engineers trying to cure it, was due to a HR fault on a length of aluminium
cable spliced into the line between the cabinet and the exchange: - and, I was given to understand,  no longer part of my direct BT Infinity connection. Albeit the noise it was generating was I think doing no good to my FTTC service.