Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: FTTC Migration  (Read 6233 times)

.Griff.

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
FTTC Migration
« on: January 26, 2012, 12:57:30 PM »

Quick question and I think I know the answer but it doesn't hurt to ask..

Do I need a MAC when moving from one FTTC supplier to another? I'm guessing I do.
Logged
[August 2010 - February 2012]    ---   [February 2012 - Present Day]

.Griff.

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
Re: FTTC Migration
« Reply #1 on: January 26, 2012, 01:34:28 PM »

As expected I do.

Logged
[August 2010 - February 2012]    ---   [February 2012 - Present Day]

Bald_Eagle1

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2721
Re: FTTC Migration
« Reply #2 on: January 26, 2012, 02:24:41 PM »

Hi .Griff,

Who are you thinking of moving to, & is there a particular reason for wanting to move, such as cost / customer service etc?


Paul.
Logged

.Griff.

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
Re: FTTC Migration
« Reply #3 on: January 26, 2012, 02:39:46 PM »

Hi Paul,

I've been with Idnet for 17 months now and their service has been great but being a BTw reseller they have quite strict bandwidth limits in place which I'm now struggling with. For the last few months I've exceeded my allowance and had to pay an additional fee.

With BT retails aggressive pricing structure and seemingly unlimited bandwidth I've decided to move to the dark side. The 50 cash back also helped in the decision making.

I don't use P2P and as long as I don't need to call support hopefully I won't notice any difference in the service.
« Last Edit: January 27, 2012, 12:37:54 AM by .Griff. »
Logged
[August 2010 - February 2012]    ---   [February 2012 - Present Day]

Bald_Eagle1

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2721
Re: FTTC Migration
« Reply #4 on: January 27, 2012, 05:51:42 AM »

Hi .Griff,


I don't use P2P and as long as I don't need to call support hopefully I won't notice any difference in the service.


Hopefully it'll be a smooth transition for you.

Are you thinking of trying out the 80Mb/20Mb when it becomes available for all?
From what I recall, you have a pretty fast, relatively error free connection, with high attainable rates that could actually use some of the higher speeds.

It'll be interesting to see if anything changes over the next few months.


Paul.
Logged

.Griff.

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
Re: FTTC Migration
« Reply #5 on: January 27, 2012, 02:32:55 PM »

I was due to take part in "phase 2" of the trial starting on February 6th but as I'm now leaving Idnet I'll miss out.

I'll definitely try 80/20 when it becomes commercially available however.
Logged
[August 2010 - February 2012]    ---   [February 2012 - Present Day]

Bald_Eagle1

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2721
Re: FTTC Migration
« Reply #6 on: January 27, 2012, 04:44:09 PM »


I'll definitely try 80/20 when it becomes commercially available however.


Due to my poor connection I don't think I would get any advantage from it at all, but it WOULD be very interesting to see your detailed stats when/if you do give it a try.
Logged

.Griff.

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
Re: FTTC Migration
« Reply #7 on: February 02, 2012, 01:19:05 PM »

A thought has just crossed my mind. Do FTTC migrations still mean an OR turning up to change over a few Ethernet cables?

Absolutely nowhere on the BT "Track you order" does it mention an engineer appointment but I'd just assumed that like the original install they'd insist on an OR attending.
Logged
[August 2010 - February 2012]    ---   [February 2012 - Present Day]

waltergmw

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2774
Re: FTTC Migration
« Reply #8 on: February 02, 2012, 04:35:48 PM »

Hi Griff,

A site visit is mandatory as the master socket faceplate arrangement is changed.
Furthermore the engineer has to attach a tone generator to your line at the test socket so he can find your twisted pair jumper in the PCP Green Cabinet birds-nest.
Once he has cut your jumper and (hopefully) connected both ends up to the same colour pairs in both link cables, he will return to your house to test the service with his JDSU tester before commissioning the modem etc.

You are strongly advised to take photographs (if allowed) of the JDSU screens in case you fall into the bald_eagle1 quagmire.
(Well something about mire comes into it !)

Kind regards,
Walter
Logged

.Griff.

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
Re: FTTC Migration
« Reply #9 on: February 02, 2012, 04:59:56 PM »

Hi Griff,

A site visit is mandatory as the master socket faceplate arrangement is changed.
Furthermore the engineer has to attach a tone generator to your line at the test socket so he can find your twisted pair jumper in the PCP Green Cabinet birds-nest.
Once he has cut your jumper and (hopefully) connected both ends up to the same colour pairs in both link cables, he will return to your house to test the service with his JDSU tester before commissioning the modem etc.

You are strongly advised to take photographs (if allowed) of the JDSU screens in case you fall into the bald_eagle1 quagmire.
(Well something about mire comes into it !)

Kind regards,
Walter

I think you misunderstand Walter. I've had FTTC for 18 months but I'm migrating from one FTTC supplier to another.

Obviously I already have the faceplate and VDSL2 (Huawei) modem so another OR visit seems pointless.
Logged
[August 2010 - February 2012]    ---   [February 2012 - Present Day]

waltergmw

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2774
Re: FTTC Migration
« Reply #10 on: February 02, 2012, 11:34:50 PM »

Hi Griff,

Sorry,
I had overlooked the start of the thread.

However logic may not have much influence over the process and there could be a requirement to perform physical tests at the time of change-over.

Kind regards,
Walter
Logged

.Griff.

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
Re: FTTC Migration
« Reply #11 on: February 03, 2012, 01:19:04 PM »

The migration took place in the very early hours of this morning.

All I needed to do was change my PPPoE credentials when I woke up and I'm now on Infinity.
Logged
[August 2010 - February 2012]    ---   [February 2012 - Present Day]

waltergmw

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2774
Re: FTTC Migration
« Reply #12 on: February 03, 2012, 02:39:55 PM »

Hi Griff,

Excellent news. The next question is can you observe any difference to throughput speeds ?

Kind regards,
Walter
Logged

.Griff.

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
Re: FTTC Migration
« Reply #13 on: February 03, 2012, 03:10:34 PM »

Throughput speeds seem to be the same.

My reason for leaving Idnet was their strict, and almost draconian, approach to peak hours and bandwidth limits and I'd often find myself "rationing" my daily allowance.

Logged
[August 2010 - February 2012]    ---   [February 2012 - Present Day]

Bald_Eagle1

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2721
Re: FTTC Migration
« Reply #14 on: February 03, 2012, 07:13:38 PM »

Hi .Griff.

The migration took place in the very early hours of this morning.

All I needed to do was change my PPPoE credentials when I woke up and I'm now on Infinity.


So, that confirms that an engineer's visit is not actually necessary for everything then.

A link to some before & after stats graphs (or a PuTTy log file) might be very illuminating (or not, as the case may be)  ;)


Paul.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2