Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 5

Author Topic: Opera 11.60 available now  (Read 13338 times)

scottiesmum

  • Guest
Re: Opera 11.60 available now
« Reply #15 on: December 29, 2011, 08:14:12 AM »

'Allo 'Allo TD     ;D ..  below is the box that appears when I first start Opera -   it did it again this morning ....there's no mention of 'don't show this again'    :(
Logged

tuftedduck

  • Senior Kitizen
  • ******
  • Posts: 29658
  • Router Luvvin Duck
Re: Opera 11.60 available now
« Reply #16 on: December 29, 2011, 09:51:37 AM »

Typical........could they not have left that option on the screen.... :no:

It looks as if you will have to edit your prefs:ini file manually.
To do that, open the prefs:ini ( it will open in Notepad) and scroll down to you get to "startup dialogue" and change the last digit on the row of numbers to 0 (zero)....the page will look like the attached ( which is already set to 0 ).
When you have done that, save it

How to find the .ini file. In mine the path is c:/ documents and settings/owner(or you name or your identifier)>application data>opera>opera>opera prefs.

To see that full path you may have to reveal hidden files and folders.......in Windows Explorer...tools>folder options>view>show hidden files and folders.
Logged

silversurfer44

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4422
  • Lord Muck
    • Ben Novice Weather
Re: Opera 11.60 available now
« Reply #17 on: December 29, 2011, 10:30:06 AM »

Pardon me if I elbow in.
If Opera is similar on Windows as it is on Linux one can get to the information by typing in the address bar :-
about:config
press enter when you have done that and you should have access to all the config files that you mention TD.
If you get that page Kate, there is a search bar near the top. Type in that search bar startup. It is an interactive search box, so will complete the words as you type. It should come up with the line that TD has mentioned. The page should be something like the one below. :fingers:
Logged
Colin II : It's no good being a pessimist, it wouldn't work anyway.

AdrianH

  • Guest
Re: Opera 11.60 available now
« Reply #18 on: December 29, 2011, 10:54:51 AM »

That dialog box is what you see when Opera has crashed or been shutdown by your OS .

What do you have set in Tools > Preferences > General > Start Up?
Logged

scottiesmum

  • Guest
Re: Opera 11.60 available now
« Reply #19 on: December 29, 2011, 11:35:13 AM »

Colin - thank you !   Adrian, in my original query on this 'box'  I said that I have auto shutdown  - from your comment could this be causing it ?   If so how can I stop it, if at all  ... I really need the auto- shutdown   :)  I have 'continue from last time' in start up details.

To update   .... I carried out TD's instructions .... changed the number from  3 to 0  ....  closed down the computer, rebooted ....   little box back  ... AN D when I looked at the pref:ini  thingy again the number had reverted to 3  :'(

Not to worry too much about this   ...all I have to do is click start on the darn box ... it's just niggling that I can't get rid of it .....Thank you all again.  :)
« Last Edit: December 29, 2011, 12:27:43 PM by scottiesmum »
Logged

tuftedduck

  • Senior Kitizen
  • ******
  • Posts: 29658
  • Router Luvvin Duck
Re: Opera 11.60 available now
« Reply #20 on: December 29, 2011, 01:30:53 PM »

I wonder if this is happening because you have Opera Unite enabled to start automatically.  :hmm:

Can you try with that disabled to see what happens.......don't worry you can always start it up again.. :-\
Logged

tuftedduck

  • Senior Kitizen
  • ******
  • Posts: 29658
  • Router Luvvin Duck
Re: Opera 11.60 available now
« Reply #21 on: December 29, 2011, 02:02:33 PM »

It is no bother at all... :)

Just untick the box in that Welcome screen.........or ( Quote )  You can at any time disable Opera Unite, stopping all applications, by taking one of the following steps:
Select Opera Unite > Configure from the menu, and choose "Disable Opera Unite".
Click on the Opera Unite icon on the status bar, select "Configure" and choose "Disable Opera Unite".


Oi.........where did the question go  ???  :D ( I know, really  ;) )
Logged

scottiesmum

  • Guest
Re: Opera 11.60 available now
« Reply #22 on: December 29, 2011, 02:22:33 PM »

 :lol: :lol:    sorry TD  ...   I found it myself and didn't think you'd have seen the query   ;D     Anyway   .....  Eureka  !!!     I disabled Unite  and VOILA !  restarted system  ... box  GONE   :clap2: :clap2: :thumbs:   thank you Soooooooooooooo   much.  :flower:      I really do like Opera   ...  it's very clever isn't it ?   ..... no doubt I shall find something else I don't know about  ;D    tr la la la   :D
Logged

tuftedduck

  • Senior Kitizen
  • ******
  • Posts: 29658
  • Router Luvvin Duck
Re: Opera 11.60 available now
« Reply #23 on: December 29, 2011, 02:29:22 PM »

Yay......glad to hear that the pesky box has gone...... :clap:

TD waits for next question.......... :silly: :scare: :swoon:
Logged

UncleUB

  • Helpful
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29543
Re: Opera 11.60 available now
« Reply #24 on: December 29, 2011, 02:31:16 PM »

Yay......glad to hear that the pesky box has gone...... :clap:

TD waits for next question.......... :silly: :scare: :swoon:

You'll have a long wait she's trying IE now.  :lol:
Logged

tuftedduck

  • Senior Kitizen
  • ******
  • Posts: 29658
  • Router Luvvin Duck
Re: Opera 11.60 available now
« Reply #25 on: December 29, 2011, 02:32:57 PM »

 :lol:

Woohoo....I'm safe 'cos I never use IE  :D
Logged

scottiesmum

  • Guest
Re: Opera 11.60 available now
« Reply #26 on: December 29, 2011, 02:41:41 PM »

 :P  @ Unc   :lol:    ..............     


TD waits for next question..........     


 :lol:    I'm doing my best to fine one    ;D
Logged

tuftedduck

  • Senior Kitizen
  • ******
  • Posts: 29658
  • Router Luvvin Duck
Re: Opera 11.60 available now
« Reply #27 on: December 29, 2011, 02:46:56 PM »

There is a new(ish) kid on the block for you to try..........Comodo Dragon Browser, created by the good folks who produce the Comodo firewall/anti-virus suites etc...

Looks quite interesting.....http://www.comodo.com/home/browsers-toolbars/browser.php
Logged

scottiesmum

  • Guest
Re: Opera 11.60 available now
« Reply #28 on: December 29, 2011, 02:58:11 PM »

Thank you TD  ..... ;D    but you know me   .... stick with one   :lol:
Logged

tuftedduck

  • Senior Kitizen
  • ******
  • Posts: 29658
  • Router Luvvin Duck
Re: Opera 11.60 available now
« Reply #29 on: December 29, 2011, 02:59:10 PM »

 :-X
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 5