Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: C/A Forums  (Read 4962 times)

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 26894
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: C/A Forums
« Reply #15 on: October 31, 2011, 02:11:13 PM »

Do you mean type 62.140.213.224 into the address bar?

Yes.

Quote
I did that and just the same

******!  :-X  :(

I see your ISP is Be. I wonder if they are having yet more routing problems?

Edit: TD has had the same thought.
« Last Edit: October 31, 2011, 02:13:48 PM by burakkucat »
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

UncleUB

  • Helpful
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29543
Re: C/A Forums
« Reply #16 on: October 31, 2011, 02:28:07 PM »

I have noticed the images that i posted this morning have now vanished.....the pumpkin cat,the halloween cartoon and the cat clock have vanished.

I am on the phone waiting to speak to someone from O2

would a system restore sort this out?
Logged

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39471
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: C/A Forums
« Reply #17 on: October 31, 2011, 02:32:18 PM »

The images are still there, so it's either O2 or something amiss with your system.
Logged
  Eric

UncleUB

  • Helpful
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29543
Re: C/A Forums
« Reply #18 on: October 31, 2011, 03:06:36 PM »

Just had a lengthy chat with O2 support and told me its a DNS problem.He gave me some alternative numbers to enter into the DNS bit but that didn't make any difference.He said he will call me back with an update around 7pm.

The images in my Photobucket account aren't being displayed,thats probably why they have disappeared...Just says server can't be found.

 These are what he told me to put in
Preferred DNS server 208.67.222.222

Alternative DNS server 208.67.220.220.

Before that we tried

8.8.8.8

8.8.4.4


I removed those and just left it to assign its own DNS

EDIT...my images have returned,so has the C/A website so  :fingers: I hope its sorted

God I hate bloody computers ,talk about stress you out  :(
« Last Edit: October 31, 2011, 03:20:22 PM by UncleUB »
Logged

tuftedduck

  • Senior Kitizen
  • ******
  • Posts: 29658
  • Router Luvvin Duck
Re: C/A Forums
« Reply #19 on: October 31, 2011, 03:19:34 PM »

I don't think there much you can do, unkyUb, except be patient and wait for O2/Be to sort themselves out.  :(
Logged

UncleUB

  • Helpful
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29543
Re: C/A Forums
« Reply #20 on: October 31, 2011, 03:20:58 PM »

I don't think there much you can do, unkyUb, except be patient and wait for O2/Be to sort themselves out.  :(

Just missed you TD,see my previous post
Logged

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39471
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: C/A Forums
« Reply #21 on: October 31, 2011, 03:34:47 PM »

If it was a DNS problem, then entering their suggested alternatives (which are in fact OpenDNS) should have worked. I use OpenDNS, and it's been fine throughout. I'm guessing here, but I suspect that you didn't do all that was needed to be done when you tried those numbers. Perhaps you changed them in the router, but the PC is using the O2 DNS numbers directly, or something like that?
Logged
  Eric

tuftedduck

  • Senior Kitizen
  • ******
  • Posts: 29658
  • Router Luvvin Duck
Re: C/A Forums
« Reply #22 on: October 31, 2011, 03:36:24 PM »

Aha.........let's hope it's all sorted now... :fingers:

I tend to agree with your closing comments... :D
Logged

UncleUB

  • Helpful
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29543
Re: C/A Forums
« Reply #23 on: October 31, 2011, 03:42:38 PM »

If it was a DNS problem, then entering their suggested alternatives (which are in fact OpenDNS) should have worked. I use OpenDNS, and it's been fine throughout. I'm guessing here, but I suspect that you didn't do all that was needed to be done when you tried those numbers. Perhaps you changed them in the router, but the PC is using the O2 DNS numbers directly, or something like that?

All he had me do was open the control panel>Network and sharing center>manage network connections,etc until we got the DNS boxes where I input what he told me,clicked ok and then restarted my browser.
He reset the router at O2's end,I didn't do anything to the router settings my end...should I have ?
Logged

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39471
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: C/A Forums
« Reply #24 on: October 31, 2011, 04:40:27 PM »

No, what you did should have worked. The only reason I queried it was because there are different ways of configuring your DNS servers, either directly from the PC (as you have) or via the router. If you had changed it in the router and not in the PC it wouldn't have achieved anything.

As it is, I can't explain what happened, so I'll go back to sleep. :)
Logged
  Eric

UncleUB

  • Helpful
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29543
Re: C/A Forums
« Reply #25 on: November 01, 2011, 07:37:02 AM »

All seems well (at present) this morning.




That is excellent for my line since the router was reset(considering my line stats)

Quote
DSL Type:   G.992.5 annex A

Maximum Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]:   859 / 4,382

Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]:   863 / 3,480

Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [kB/kB]:   0.00 / 0.00

Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]:   12.0 / 17.5

Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]:   38.0 / 66.0

SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]:   6.0 / 6.5
Logged

camallison

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1357
Re: C/A Forums
« Reply #26 on: November 01, 2011, 09:07:34 AM »

I had similar problems last night and this morning with another site.  I am with BT Broadband and have called Mumbaishire - surprise, they admit to a major routing problem!  Could be affecting many ISPs.

Colin
Logged

Oranged

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 623
    • The Mobile Help Forum
Re: C/A Forums
« Reply #27 on: November 01, 2011, 11:44:29 AM »

Apparently it was a strange routing issue which affected only certain URLs and certain users' IP addresses but it wasn't posted on either BE's or O2's status page.

http://beusergroup.co.uk/?id=792
Logged

UncleUB

  • Helpful
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29543
Re: C/A Forums
« Reply #28 on: November 01, 2011, 11:56:15 AM »

Thanks for the info Oranged.  :)

I did look on the O2 Service status page and found nothing relevant  :no:

Surely posting an update could have saved a lot of messing about for users.  >:(
Logged

Oranged

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 623
    • The Mobile Help Forum
Re: C/A Forums
« Reply #29 on: November 01, 2011, 12:09:18 PM »

Normally the BE status page is 100% whereas O2's sometimes never shows a problem registered on the BE page.

I think with yesterday's problem it was initially thought that it was a user problem because there was no distinct pattern but then they soon realised it was the network and quickly identified the cause.
Logged
Pages: 1 [2]