Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum

Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: DSL Up to 8Mb Issues  (Read 2637 times)

number4

• Just arrived
DSL Up to 8Mb Issues
« on: October 28, 2011, 02:52:34 PM »

Good afternoon.

I am totally new to diagnosing problems with ADSL issues, I have read a lot on this site trying to work out if I should be able to achieve 8Mb download speed, with my current noise and attenuation levels.

When the line was upgraded I was managing to get download speeds slightly over 5Mb they are now down to just under 4Mb. I was told by the telco that they can send out an engineer to look at the line to see if there are any issues that can be remedied, but I may be charged if it turns out my kit is at fault.

So I wanted to rule out any internal problems, maybe try a few tricks such as removing the ring wire??

Here are my current stats:

Data Rate
Stream Type   Actual Data Rate
Up Stream           639 (Kbps.)
Down Stream       4409 (Kbps.)
Operation Data
Operation Data   Upstream   Downstream
Noise Margin       22 dB           7 dB
Attenuation          43 dB           41 dB

Defect Indication
Indicator Name                         Near End Indicator       Far End Indicator
Fast Path FEC Correction          0                 0
Interleaved Path FEC Correction   0                 4397928
Fast Path CRC Error                   2                 0
Interleaved Path CRC Error           0                     41335
Loss of Signal Defect                   0                 ---
Fast Path HEC Error                   0                 0
Interleaved Path HEC Error           0                 0

Please help me, do these stats indicate that I shouldn't reach 8Mb?

roseway

• Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: DSL Up to 8Mb Issues
« Reply #1 on: October 28, 2011, 04:08:05 PM »