Kitz Forum

Internet => Web Browsing & Email => Topic started by: SinBin on May 07, 2010, 04:30:05 PM

Title: UK only ?
Post by: SinBin on May 07, 2010, 04:30:05 PM
Help, I'm confused  :shrug2:. I always use Google to search but in the last week it only goes to the Google UK site - even if I type Google.Com in the address bar. I prefer the option of having Google.Com and selecting USA or UK but can no longer do this. It's the same for all browsers and not just Opera as I first suspected. Can someone please help ?
Title: Re: UK only ?
Post by: silversurfer44 on May 07, 2010, 04:34:28 PM
Just tried it Sinbin and like yourself it goes to .co.uk in Opera.  :o
and so does FF.
Title: Re: UK only ?
Post by: SinBin on May 07, 2010, 04:46:04 PM
Thanks silversurfer44 - it's very strange isn't it ? Maybe we're on the same ISP ? I mean I know YouTube wont let you play some videos relating to your geographical location but I don't like this with Google  :(.
Title: Re: UK only ?
Post by: tuftedduck on May 07, 2010, 04:48:45 PM
On your Google.co.uk page, wiggle the mouse a bit to reveal the hidden menus, then look at the options shown in a line under the Google search bar....the right hand option is "Go to Google.Com"

Once there, you can if you wish set that as your home page...tools>preferences>general>home page ( in Opera ...no doubt other browsers will have a similar option. )
Title: Re: UK only ?
Post by: silversurfer44 on May 07, 2010, 05:17:33 PM
Thank you for that TD. I have my home page set for something else but it's nice to know you can select the .com page.
I'll give it a go in FF soon.
Title: Re: UK only ?
Post by: SinBin on May 07, 2010, 05:40:24 PM
Thanks tuftedduck but what has happened to the Google.Com page which had the options to select 'UK only' pages ? If you see what I mean ? I don't mean the one as it is now which says 'go to Google uk' or google.Com but the 'older' version. The one where you are on the results page for whatever you have searched for and asks to select UK only ? I hope this makes sense - sorry.
Title: Re: UK only ?
Post by: silversurfer44 on May 07, 2010, 05:43:13 PM
Ah! do you mean the option that used to appear on the search results page?
Title: Re: UK only ?
Post by: SinBin on May 07, 2010, 05:44:22 PM
You're post answered my question after I did the edit. Yes, that is exactly what I mean.
Title: Re: UK only ?
Post by: silversurfer44 on May 07, 2010, 05:55:39 PM
I know what you mean now but I don't have the answer, sorry. :(
Title: Re: UK only ?
Post by: SinBin on May 07, 2010, 06:00:48 PM
Thanks very much though silversurfer44  :). Maybe it's Google who have changed ?
Title: Re: UK only ?
Post by: UncleUB on May 07, 2010, 06:09:59 PM
Hi SinBin,

I'm using Opera and when I type something into the Google search box on the address bar it takes me to Google,which I presume is .com.

If you look at the image it says The web,if you just want UK sites then you click on.>Pages from the UK

(http://i246.photobucket.com/albums/gg87/UncleUB/Google-1.jpg)
Title: Re: UK only ?
Post by: silversurfer44 on May 07, 2010, 06:40:07 PM
This may be differences between Versions. I am running the Linux version and does not show that page at all.
Title: Re: UK only ?
Post by: SinBin on May 07, 2010, 06:42:36 PM
Hello UncleUB. Yes, that's it ! Only I believe it is Google.co.uk which offers the options to got to UK pages. If you search with Google.co.uk it opens the results for 'the web' and then you get the option to select 'pages from the UK'. However, if you search using Google.com you don't get the option. I hope I got this right ?

Hi silversurfer44 - I don't have linux so can't check  :(.
Title: Re: UK only ?
Post by: UncleUB on May 07, 2010, 06:43:49 PM
Hi SS44

That image is shown down the left hand side of the Goolge page.

I wonder if this has any bearing on it

http://gmailblog.blogspot.com/2010/05/google-mail-is-becoming-gmail-in-uk.html
Title: Re: UK only ?
Post by: tuftedduck on May 07, 2010, 07:09:51 PM
Aha, I see it now...........as said by unkyUb, the option appears after you post in a search and the search opens and the options are listed down the left hand side.

Never noticed that before.. :blush:
Title: Re: UK only ?
Post by: silversurfer44 on May 07, 2010, 07:35:36 PM
I think I may have crossed ideas here. If I select Google as the search engine in the search box it will search by google.com & I get the page you describe. However if I type the search in the address bar as Sinbin suggests it will search via google.co.uk
Title: Re: UK only ?
Post by: BritBrat on May 07, 2010, 08:10:46 PM
It is OK here, I can switch from UK to USA.

But I have old browser IE6 and Windows XP.
Title: Re: UK only ?
Post by: sevenlayermuddle on May 07, 2010, 10:37:54 PM
Google have been redirecting to country-specific versions for many  years now.  I assume that allows them to make more profit from targeted advertising.  They probably do so based on source IP address so, if it's only started recently, maybe they only recently noticed that your ISP is UK based.

Regardless of browser, and regardles of ISP, if you want google.com , an not .co.uk, just use http://www.google.com/ncr

It's explained here:
http://www.google.com/support/websearch/bin/answer.py?hl=en&answer=873
Title: Re: UK only ?
Post by: SinBin on May 07, 2010, 11:19:36 PM
Thanks sevenlayermuddle, yes I read that on Google. I seem to have mucked everything up now by deleting Google search engine from the Opera browser preferences  :-[. I need the 'Query String' found in the preferences in order to load Google but don't have them now and using Google to find them (with no sense of irony) I couldn't find them either  ???. I'll just do what tufftedduck said and set Google UK as my home page.
Title: Re: UK only ?
Post by: sevenlayermuddle on May 07, 2010, 11:30:43 PM
Fair enough sinbin, I don't use opera, but if that's resolved the question then ignore my ramblings.

Regardless ('hard to shut me up sometimes  :) ), I'd just add one more thing to note is that visiting the www.google.com/ncr address (or even just successfully reaching www.google.com, I'm not sure which), seems to lodge a cookie so that subsequent visits to .com go then to .com, they are no longer redirected to .co.uk.  If redirection behaviour recently changed, ie google.com has started redirecting to .co.uk, it may be that the cookie has expired or been deleted.

- 7LM
Title: Re: UK only ?
Post by: SinBin on May 07, 2010, 11:39:11 PM
Hello sevenlayermuddle. Sorry, I'm mortified if I seemed to be flippant about your answer - I didn't mean to sound like that at all  :-[ :-[ :-[. Yes, I can also set  my homepage to the link you suggest too  :). You're right about deleting the cookies though as in my quest to 'obliterate' all things 'browser history' related I deleted the Google cookies and so my problems began. Once again, never meant to sound flippant.
Title: Re: UK only ?
Post by: sevenlayermuddle on May 08, 2010, 10:29:48 AM
Hello sevenlayermuddle. Sorry, I'm mortified if I seemed to be flippant about your answer - I didn't mean to sound like that at all  :-[ :-[ :-[.

@sinbin,
you didn't seem flippant at all to me, and I'm sure nobody else would have thought so either.  You've got me worried now, as I hope I didn't come across as if I'd thought you'd been flippant.   :)
Title: Re: UK only ?
Post by: SinBin on May 08, 2010, 01:34:13 PM
Thanks sevenlayermuddle  :). No, you didn't come across as thinking I was flippant I'm just VERY sensitive much to  my chagrin  :(. I'm new to this website too which probably doesn't help.

I think I am getting used to the 'new' Google. The image results are different to say the least ! I typed in 'Larry David' and got the images but then you can also select which colour you would like to see the image in  :o - I don't get out much LOL.