Kitz Forum

Internet => Web Browsing & Email => Topic started by: tuftedduck on September 01, 2009, 02:35:15 PM

Title: Opera browser
Post by: tuftedduck on September 01, 2009, 02:35:15 PM
Have just upgraded from Opera 9.64 to the new Opera 10 build 1750.

Wow, this is fast...TD is going dizzy  ;D

Would recommend anyone to give a whirl  ;)
Title: Re: Opera browser
Post by: jid on September 02, 2009, 03:45:05 PM
Thought I would give it a try.

Personally, Firefox is quicker, especially with loading all the Smileys above the message box on the forum... :-\

Some sites though, lightning speed  ;)
Title: Re: Opera browser
Post by: tuftedduck on September 02, 2009, 05:16:37 PM
jid, did you try it with the Opera Turbo enabled ?
Title: Re: Opera browser
Post by: jid on September 02, 2009, 05:32:44 PM
No should I have?  :o
Title: Re: Opera browser
Post by: jeffbb on September 02, 2009, 06:27:46 PM
Hi
Just having a play with it  :)
Regards Jeff
Title: Re: Opera browser
Post by: tuftedduck on September 02, 2009, 06:55:10 PM
No should I have?  :o

Give it a whirl, it certainly seems to speed up graphics intensive pages... :)
Title: Re: Opera browser
Post by: jid on September 02, 2009, 08:02:26 PM
Hmm yeh it makes them smaller so they don't take as long to load.

Some sites load up really fast with Turbo off mind! Dell website flies through...
Title: Re: Opera browser
Post by: tuftedduck on September 03, 2009, 07:17:03 AM
Hmm yeh it makes them smaller so they don't take as long to load.

Some sites load up really fast with Turbo off mind! Dell website flies through...

Yes, Turbo is a bit of a mixed bag and to be honest, I find that things zip along better with it turned off.......maybe that's just me not configuring it properly.

Still, Opera remains my browser of choice  :)
Title: Re: Opera browser
Post by: jazz on September 03, 2009, 09:20:53 AM
Is there an equivalent on Opera of Adblock on Firefox?  I have Opera and use it sometimes but I use Firefox a lot because of its Adblock facility.....
Title: Re: Opera browser
Post by: tuftedduck on September 03, 2009, 09:30:54 AM
Is there an equivalent on Opera of Adblock on Firefox?  I have Opera and use it sometimes but I use Firefox a lot because of its Adblock facility.....

Yes...........Opera calls it Block Content, and it is built-in not a plug-in or add-on.

Open up a web page, right click on an empty part of that page and from the menu click on "block content".............any images will become "greyed out". Click on the offending item then go to the top left hand corner of the screen and click on "done".......ad gone never to return.  :)

If you block the wrong thing, or just want to see what has been blocked....tools>preferences>advanced>content>blocked content will list all that you have blocked and there is the option if you wish to cancel that blocking and reinstate the item.

edit to correct my spelling  :-[
Title: Re: Opera browser
Post by: roseway on September 03, 2009, 10:50:17 AM
Egged on by TD :) I've given this a whirl. I didn't get on with the previous version because the fonts looked horrible on my Linux systems, and I couldn't find a way to improve them. But with version 10 the fonts are fine, so I'm going to persevere a bit. I may have some questions though... the first one being: I'd really like to have a bookmarks toolbar, but I can't see a way to display one. Is it possible?
Title: Re: Opera browser
Post by: tuftedduck on September 03, 2009, 11:07:28 AM
No, there is no bookmarks toolbar, .........the nearest  is a bookmarks Panel.

View>toolbars>customise>panels .......check the "bookmarks" button.....decide where you want the panel to show and click ok out of that.

Or...use Opera Speed Dial as explained at http://help.opera.com/Windows/10.00/en/speeddial.html

 
Title: Re: Opera browser
Post by: roseway on September 03, 2009, 11:10:49 AM
Thanks TD, Speed Dial looks interesting.
Title: Re: Opera browser
Post by: kitz on September 03, 2009, 02:52:00 PM
I used to use Opera as my primary browser for a short while, but went back to FF after running into a couple of hiccups.. like bank login problems etc. :(

Ive just upgraded mine to the latest version, and had a go at turbo mode.  Dont like it as the images become very poor and blocky - and some of them awful.   This sort of compression is primarily used to assist those on dial-up (eg OnSpeed).


Speed Dial

One of the things that I really did like about Opera was their SpeedDial which must be a couple of years old now?
Firefox has an equivalent plug in though which Ive been using for a few months - linky (https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/4810).  The only annoying thing about the FF plugin that Ive found is that after a FF update - it seems to forget about them and you have to reset it to your home page.
Title: Re: Opera browser
Post by: scottiesmum on September 03, 2009, 03:01:33 PM
Kitz,  I use Fast Dial as opposed to Speed Dial in Firefox and  I find it doesn't have the problem on update.   There was a hiccup when I upgraded to Firefox 3.5.2  with my then existing FD but I installed the Fast Dial 2.23b1 version and it works fine.   :)
Title: Re: Opera browser
Post by: roseway on September 03, 2009, 03:13:27 PM
>> running into a couple of hiccups.. like bank login problems etc.

My bank's online banking facility is fussy about what browser you use, but I worked out how to configure Opera to pretend to be something else (IE or FF) and this works fine with my bank.
Title: Re: Opera browser
Post by: tuftedduck on September 03, 2009, 03:31:35 PM
I've played about a bit with Turbo........and have now turned it off and will forget about it...........it was causing more problems than it's worth and in fact rendered one of my favourite imaging/photoshop sites inoperable.

Bye-bye Turbo.

I have never had a problem logging onto any secure sites with Opera....with one exception. Hotmail......Microsoft have now made it such that it can only be fully accessed by IE, FF and Safari..........and even changing the "browser identification" options did not help.. :(
Solution to this problem ?.......abandon Hotmail and switch all to Yahoo Mail........works a treat.

For the curious, to disguise Opera as either FF or IE......right click on a blank area of the offending page>choose "edit site preferences>network>browser identification"
then take your pick... :)
Title: Re: Opera browser
Post by: roseway on September 03, 2009, 04:17:37 PM
I've got Turbo set to 'Automatic', which is supposed to come into operation only when a slow network is detected, so I'll keep a look out for any bad graphical effects.
Title: Re: Opera browser
Post by: jazz on September 03, 2009, 04:23:17 PM
Thanks for the advice TD - I've now got it blocking content and it is a big improvement - especially when reading newspapers and trying to get rid of those annoying ads that keep getting in the way!
Title: Re: Opera browser
Post by: tuftedduck on September 03, 2009, 05:32:48 PM
Well done, jazz.............big improvement with all the ads cleared out the way... ;D
Title: Re: Opera browser
Post by: kitz on September 03, 2009, 06:05:24 PM
Thanks for that kate - ill give it a try
Title: Re: Opera browser
Post by: kitz on September 03, 2009, 08:50:07 PM
I've played about a bit with Turbo........and have now turned it off and will forget about it...........it was causing more problems than it's worth and in fact rendered one of my favourite imaging/photoshop sites inoperable.

Bye-bye Turbo.


Yes me too. 

The quality of pages with it on wasnt good - even on their own site :/

eg
Title: Re: Opera browser
Post by: orainsear on September 03, 2009, 09:41:06 PM
That turbo graphic doesn't look good at all  ???  I suppose it may help things on very very slow connections though, or be useful if you are only really interested in the text.

It's a very slick browser, but there's one feature that they've never included that I would find useful.  With FireFox, text entered in a text entry field is saved in a temporary location, and if you go to another text entry field and start typing, your previously entered text comes up as a suggestion list - basically an autofill/autocomplete type feature.

Title: Re: Opera browser
Post by: kitz on September 04, 2009, 01:11:10 AM
One thing that I do like, which no other browser seems to do.....  is that when you paste a url in, it offers the option 'paste and go'.

So simple, but saves having to press another key or button. :)
Title: Re: Opera browser
Post by: roseway on September 04, 2009, 07:25:33 AM
It's the lack of a bookmarks toolbar which is holding me back at present. I have large numbers of bookmarks organised into categories, and it's so quick and easy to find them from the toolbar. With Opera, Speed Dial gets me quickly to a small number of favourites, but finding anything else seems a bit cumbersome. I'm still pondering this one, because I do like Opera otherwise.
Title: Re: Opera browser
Post by: tuftedduck on September 04, 2009, 07:43:10 AM
Aha...bookmarks  :idea:

Never noticed before........help>Opera help>bookmarks

Quote...."Make bookmark available at all times..........Drag bookmark or page icon to any toolbar".   

Might be worth a try. :)

Yes...that's it.

Step 1) view>toolbars>personal bar
Step 2) view>toolbars>panel
Step 3) open bookmarks in panel
Step 4) drag and drop bookmark from panel to personal bar
Step 5) dispense with panel

You now have a personal bar along the top of page with a nice row of instantly available bookmarks... :)
Title: Re: Opera browser
Post by: roseway on September 04, 2009, 08:00:23 AM
Aha! That did it. I added a personal toolbar, opened 'Manage bookmarks', and dragged each bookmark folder to the personal toolbar. It works just like the bookmarks toolbar in FF.

Thanks TD. I think I'm in love (with Opera that is, not you TD :lol: )

[Edit] I posted this while you were adding to your message. I did it slightly differently to you, but obviously either way will work.
Title: Re: Opera browser
Post by: tuftedduck on September 04, 2009, 08:18:23 AM
 :thumbs: :clap2:

>>> I think I'm in love (with Opera that is, not you TD<<<  :scare:
Title: Re: Opera browser
Post by: jid on September 04, 2009, 02:39:53 PM
I have gone back to Firefox.

A few sites don't display correctly and if I am honest, there isn't a huge speed difference between FF and Opera.

It also seems to use more CPU usage when loading pages, Firefox doesn't. (Single Core 3.06GHz processor, 2MB Cache, not too quick!!)
Title: Re: Opera browser
Post by: kitz on September 04, 2009, 08:06:20 PM
>> I have gone back to Firefox.

It does seem a shame..  in a way I was in exactly the same situation..  although I stuck with Opera for about a year, because I really did like it and some of the things and shortcuts that it had that no other browser had at that time.

When designing this site, I normally check in various IE versions, FF and Opera.  I find that Opera generally tends to be the most compliant to displaying w3 code as it should be and that its IE (mostly) or FF that sometimes has problems.
It is in my experience the non w3 sites and secure logins such as banking etc that you tend to have the most problems with Opera.  :(
Title: Re: Opera browser
Post by: orainsear on September 04, 2009, 08:39:34 PM
>>> I find that Opera generally tends to be the most compliant to displaying w3 code

Definitely.  I ran it through the Acid 3 test and it got 100/100, Fx 3.5.2 93/100, and  IE8 20/100  :D