Kitz Forum

Broadband Related => ISPs => Topic started by: jid on August 29, 2009, 05:34:16 PM

Title: Orange LLU to O2 LLU
Post by: jid on August 29, 2009, 05:34:16 PM
Hi all,

My neighbour currently has Orange 2meg Broadband, paying 23 a month for it!!!!!! >:(

I found that o2 works out a lot cheaper for her and am just wondering how to get her off Orange LLU (broadband only).

She connects with ADSL2+ so must be on LLU. Attenuation is 23.3 on ADSL2+ so has a much better line than me!

The O2 phone checker finds her number no problem but will she need an LLU Mac code from orange?


Kind Regards

Jamie
Title: Re: Orange LLU to O2 LLU
Post by: UncleUB on August 29, 2009, 05:46:40 PM
Tbh Jamie I thought it was just a case of moving the line from one lot of equipment to the other in the exchange providing that the isp's in question are both LLU in that exchange.
Is O2 LLU at her exchange,if not it will be on their 'access' package,which is more expensive.

Moving from LLU to IP stream is another matter and not all isp's do this.

http://www.kitz.co.uk/isp/migration.htm
Title: Re: Orange LLU to O2 LLU
Post by: jid on August 29, 2009, 05:54:02 PM
Same exchange as mine so yes.

Her phone number give estimate of 18meg so no worries there.
Title: Re: Orange LLU to O2 LLU
Post by: jeffbb on August 29, 2009, 05:56:46 PM
Hi Jid
quote  She connects with ADSL2+ so must be on LLU

Is that true I thought that whether you got ADSL2+ or not was dependant on whether the exchange was enabled or not ?.
I thought  you could  have adsl2+ 21cn  or adsl2+ LLU

I might be wrong  :-\

Regards Jeff
Title: Re: Orange LLU to O2 LLU
Post by: jid on August 29, 2009, 05:59:45 PM
You can yes but my her exchange is not yet 21cn enabled. ;)
Title: Re: Orange LLU to O2 LLU
Post by: kitz on August 29, 2009, 06:04:26 PM
O2 will need a MAC which she should get from Orange.

Make sure that shes out of contract and that theres not any other services tied in such as phone etc.
Title: Re: Orange LLU to O2 LLU
Post by: jid on August 29, 2009, 06:23:38 PM
Thanks Kitz.

No tie ins, just the broadband  :)
Title: Re: Orange LLU to O2 LLU
Post by: kitz on August 29, 2009, 08:00:40 PM
:)
Title: Re: Orange LLU to O2 LLU
Post by: jid on August 31, 2009, 03:20:58 PM
One question, can I just login to the o2 router to set it up or do I have to install all the other stuff of the CD to set it up?
Title: Re: Orange LLU to O2 LLU
Post by: tuftedduck on August 31, 2009, 03:28:29 PM
>>>do I have to install all the other stuff of the CD to set it up<<<

Nope.  :)

>>>can I just login to the o2 router to set it up<<<

Yup.  :)
Title: Re: Orange LLU to O2 LLU
Post by: jid on August 31, 2009, 03:58:04 PM
Thanks TD  ;D

Use http://o2wirelessbox.lan is it?

ID: SuperUser
Password: O2Br0ad64nd

Am I correct with using those from the FrogStats page?
Title: Re: Orange LLU to O2 LLU
Post by: roseway on August 31, 2009, 04:54:42 PM
I've no personal experience of that particular router, but the info on the frogstats page will be the right way to do it. But without installing the other software the http://o2wirelessbox.lan URL probably won't work, so use the IP address 192.168.1.254 instead.
Title: Re: Orange LLU to O2 LLU
Post by: jid on August 31, 2009, 05:02:44 PM
Ok thanks Eric.

She has rung Orange and they have said she will either get the MAC today or tomorrow via Email  :)
Title: Re: Orange LLU to O2 LLU
Post by: kitz on August 31, 2009, 05:35:42 PM
The O2 box may come preconfigured.  Its usually a TG585v7.

If you ever want to use another router with O2 (or Be)..  set up is a little different than all the other ISPs.

http://www.kitz.co.uk/isp/beO2setup.htm
Title: Re: Orange LLU to O2 LLU
Post by: UncleUB on August 31, 2009, 06:53:16 PM
I am taking note of all this O2 info as your friend Jamie looks as though they will be moving to O2 before me.   :)
Title: Re: Orange LLU to O2 LLU
Post by: Oranged on August 31, 2009, 07:02:11 PM
One question, can I just login to the o2 router to set it up or do I have to install all the other stuff of the CD to set it up?

Don't load the CD unless you want the AV software. But keep the disk handy because if anything does go wrong then the Broadband Assistant software can be loaded and will allow O2 TS control of the PC to identify and correct any problems you can't solve.

Just connect ethernet cable, type into the browser http://192.168.1.254/cgi/b/dsl/dt/?be=0&l0=1&l1=0 that gets you directly to the stats page. Use the SuperUser sign on, N.B. if it doesn't connect first time re-enter the details......it's a quirk of the WirelessBox  ???....you may have to try several times.

Then set up the wireless if it's needed.
Title: Re: Orange LLU to O2 LLU
Post by: jid on August 31, 2009, 07:07:58 PM
I am taking note of all this O2 info as your friend Jamie looks as though they will be moving to O2 before me.   :)

No probs.

Will keep you updated :D

@Oranged, thanks for that will keep it in mind :)
Title: Re: Orange LLU to O2 LLU
Post by: jid on September 04, 2009, 04:37:53 PM
Just signed my neighbour up with o2.

Hopefully should get the router in a week...

Line checks are all good and she should get 18meg (i.e full 8meg as they use ADSL2+)

She is happy with the deal - first 3 months free...

Will let you know when its all up and running.
Title: Re: Orange LLU to O2 LLU
Post by: kitz on September 04, 2009, 08:02:01 PM
 :)
Title: Re: Orange LLU to O2 LLU
Post by: jid on September 14, 2009, 09:48:01 PM
Went over there earlier today as it was activated at 4:30 (ish).

Plugged in new router and as if by magic...15500kbps sync speed and 13meg throughput - on 8meg package?

Anyways, very good service and was very painless and O2 kept her updated via text and email the whole time.

Title: Re: Orange LLU to O2 LLU
Post by: kitz on September 14, 2009, 11:33:08 PM
 ;D