Kitz Forum

Broadband Related => Broadband Technology => Topic started by: Imagine. on October 04, 2008, 07:57:53 PM

Title: Is there a way....
Post by: Imagine. on October 04, 2008, 07:57:53 PM
That I can access an internet connection thats a mile away. I've been wandering would it be possible for me to access a internet connection  away from the AP. As the internet in the flat I am staying in is out and I have a friend willing to let me connect to hers by any means possible only equipment I have is a broken wi-fi adaptor with a range on bare with me on this 20metres. Any ideas are welcome :)
Title: Re: Is there a way....
Post by: kitz on October 04, 2008, 09:25:37 PM
Sorry not that I know of since your own is down.  1 mile is too far.
Title: Re: Is there a way....
Post by: oldfogy on October 04, 2008, 09:43:17 PM
Assuming this is a telephone connection could you simply not login with her account details.

Failing that, sorry no other solution either.
Title: Re: Is there a way....
Post by: Imagine. on October 04, 2008, 09:56:53 PM
OF are you saying that if I manage to change the account name my router logs in as I stand a chance of gaining internet access assuming I have the permission of the actual account holder ?? :)
Title: Re: Is there a way....
Post by: kitz on October 04, 2008, 10:00:24 PM
Since the line is down, and it wont allow the normal ISP connection then he's a bit snookered.

Even if he did have an active line... adsl doesnt allow you to log into someone else connection unless youre on the same ISP realm.
The adsl line connection is hardwired at the exchange to the dslam.. and ISP authentication control is set at the RAS. - Thats for IPStream..
If theyre on a different LLU ISP then nope. :/
Title: Re: Is there a way....
Post by: kitz on October 04, 2008, 10:03:07 PM
>> if I manage to change the account name my router logs in as I stand a chance of gaining internet access

Only if you are both on the same IPStream ISP (ie Zen, Plusnet, Enta, IDnet) then you may be able to use her login.
However it would knock her off line.
Title: Re: Is there a way....
Post by: oldfogy on October 04, 2008, 10:07:05 PM
Just thought it might be worth mentioning.
"As I've said in the past" the internet is something I'm not too proficient with.
Title: Re: Is there a way....
Post by: Imagine. on October 14, 2008, 04:15:46 PM
I think I have found a Way.... I can use my phone as a USB Modem and connect via a 3G connection for 2.50 for 5days :)
Title: Re: Is there a way....
Post by: Ezzer on October 14, 2008, 05:00:56 PM
there is a way, as long as you can get line of sight between the 2 properties.

Its something refered to as a CANTENNA, it's a modified yagi antenna most typicaly made with an empty pringles can or any other metal or metal lined can (hence the name) once I'll find a few links I'll post them for you.

 You'lld have one preferably at each end for transmission and reception. one for just reception will give you an extended range over your normal reciver but for a mile you'll probably need one each end
Title: Re: Is there a way....
Post by: Ezzer on October 14, 2008, 05:31:02 PM
Found it !

you tube link, 1st of 2, sorry but I'm on pstn so pulling up the links takes so long, this is episode 3, episode 4 shows the results on a test (which is very impressive)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KN_1oe3z7EQ&feature=user

I know the begining will look more like the Food and Wine program meets Deputy Dawg   :lol: but this is quite detailed and informative.

can't find the other site I once found at the mo' I'll keep trying

Title: Re: Is there a way....
Post by: Ezzer on October 14, 2008, 05:43:20 PM
Found the other link...

http://www.oreillynet.com/cs/weblog/view/wlg/448  ;D
Title: Re: Is there a way....
Post by: Broadband1 on October 15, 2008, 09:32:57 PM
lol turns out I can't watch any of those videos as my phones USB modem is limited to 115.2kbps so youtube is really a no go area for me right now.  :no: I'll probably have a look tomorrow at the college. If you wondering I can't get my phones 3G reception through to my PC so I'm using the USB Modem Genius ain't I  ;)