Kitz Forum

Broadband Related => FTTC and FTTP Issues => Topic started by: adslmax on September 09, 2021, 06:59:21 PM

Title: New Full Fibre 900 with BT
Post by: adslmax on September 09, 2021, 06:59:21 PM
Openreach engineer has arrived this morning spend nearly two hours to install fibre optic at my brother house. Very interesting he show me all the job done. Pretty straight forward job.

Wifi on samsung phone https://www.speedtest.net/result/a/7703338505

Ethernet to his pc from BT Smart Hub was 900/110

Title: Re: New Full Fibre 900 with BT
Post by: burakkucat on September 09, 2021, 10:15:38 PM
Openreach engineer has arrived this morning spend nearly two hours to install fibre optic at my brother house. Very interesting he show me all the job done. Pretty straight forward job.

Wifi on samsung phone https://www.speedtest.net/result/a/7703338505

Ethernet to his pc from BT Smart Hub was 900/110

That looks like a good result. Is you brother happy with the service?
Title: Re: New Full Fibre 900 with BT
Post by: adslmax on September 09, 2021, 10:17:26 PM
Yes he is happy. He ditched virgin media lol
Title: Re: New Full Fibre 900 with BT
Post by: adslmax on September 10, 2021, 10:54:42 PM
I think BT engineer need to protect this fibre optic cable by added duct?

Title: Re: New Full Fibre 900 with BT
Post by: burakkucat on September 10, 2021, 11:14:13 PM
The fibre cables used are really quite tough. I agree that is does appear to be somewhat odd but with the cable's location at the junction of the two walls it is fairly well protected.
Title: Re: New Full Fibre 900 with BT
Post by: adslmax on September 10, 2021, 11:21:37 PM
Yeah my brother live very quiet area (in the middle of no where with very peaceful bungalow) seem very nice area but I can't afford 325,000 bungalow as they got no mortgage now all paid off. I am jealous of his full fibre! The future is here!
Title: Re: New Full Fibre 900 with BT
Post by: burakkucat on September 10, 2021, 11:49:15 PM
If there is any future worry that the incoming fibre cable may get too many knocks, then just fixing a steel capping (as used to protect ordinary cables running up a wooden pole) over those few inches would be sufficient.
Title: Re: New Full Fibre 900 with BT
Post by: maxheadroom on September 11, 2021, 11:53:51 AM
Quote
I think BT engineer need to protect this fibre optic cable by added duct?

Get a big plant pot!



https://youtu.be/USardNdeFuo
Title: Re: New Full Fibre 900 with BT
Post by: Bestgear on October 10, 2021, 04:50:54 PM
Hi

On a wired connection - what speed can you get?

If you use Speedtest - which host server ae you using?

The problem I am seeing is finding a fast enough host to test the 900 connection - too much contention I expect at the host end... speedtest hosts, for me vary from 600 - 880ish in speed.

Title: Re: New Full Fibre 900 with BT
Post by: adslmax on October 10, 2021, 05:09:19 PM
My brother using this site speedtest.net and use London server under Lightning Fibre Limited with his ISP BT 1000/115 and he getting download of 900 and upload of 115 with ping of 7ms