Kitz Forum

Broadband Related => Broadband Technology => Topic started by: Bowdon on March 22, 2020, 06:16:13 PM

Title: Can FTTC cope if people move from ADSL2+ ?
Post by: Bowdon on March 22, 2020, 06:16:13 PM
I'm making a couple of assumptions that I'm not sure is correct, so if I'm wrong then correct me.

It's my understanding that OR is trying to move people from ADSL, ADSL2, ADSL2+ lines mainly on to FTTC.

So my question is, is there enough capacity in the current FTTC cabinets to be able to support all those additional lines?
Title: Re: Can FTTC cope if people move from ADSL2+ ?
Post by: Alex Atkin UK on March 22, 2020, 06:40:56 PM
I'd hazard a guess at no, presumably why they have been adding sub-cabinets all over the place.

One thing is for sure, even if there are enough physical ports, speeds are going to drop dramatically for everyone thanks to crosstalk.
Title: Re: Can FTTC cope if people move from ADSL2+ ?
Post by: j0hn on March 22, 2020, 07:04:44 PM
It's my understanding that OR is trying to move people from ADSL, ADSL2, ADSL2+ lines mainly on to FTTC.

True, but not quite that simple.

OpenReach have had offers running since FTTC launched to try encourage ISP's to move customers from ADSL to FTTC.
They continue to have such offers in place.

It's BT retail specifically who are mass migrating their own customers to FTTC for free.

OpenReach continue to encourage take up of FTTC as normal, as should be expected.

OpenReach don't own the ADSL DSLAM'S/MSAN's
They generate revenue from FTTC customers as they own the FTTC cabinets.

BT Wholesale own/run much of the ADSL kit in exchanges.
LLU providers like Sky and Talktalk own the rest of the ADSL kit and can continue to sell as much ADSL as they like.

Quote
So my question is, is there enough capacity in the current FTTC cabinets to be able to support all those additional lines?

Nope, definitely not.
OpenReach's FTTP rollout will help with capacity by moving users off the FTTC cabinets.
The same can be said of Virgin and other ALT nets FTTP builds.

I'd hazard a guess at no, presumably why they have been adding sub-cabinets all over the place.

One thing is for sure, even if there are enough physical ports, speeds are going to drop dramatically for everyone thanks to crosstalk.

Speeds won't drop dramatically.
Crosstalk stops having such a big impact after it reaches a certain level.

No doubt there will still be a drop in sync for many but it becomes less and less as subscriber numbers reach a certain level.
Title: Re: Can FTTC cope if people move from ADSL2+ ?
Post by: Weaver on March 29, 2020, 04:15:00 AM
J0hn, what happens about charging when BT Retail has moved someone from ADSL to FTTC ?
Title: Re: Can FTTC cope if people move from ADSL2+ ?
Post by: j0hn on March 29, 2020, 04:37:26 AM
I would guess instead of BT Retail paying BT Wholesale for both an ADSL product and backhaul they pay OpenReach for a VDSL2 product and continue to pay BT Wholesale for the backhaul.

Either way the money stays within BT Group.
Title: Re: Can FTTC cope if people move from ADSL2+ ?
Post by: Weaver on March 29, 2020, 06:23:12 AM
Sorry, no I meant charging the end user. I didnít explain properly.
Title: Re: Can FTTC cope if people move from ADSL2+ ?
Post by: CarlT on March 29, 2020, 03:08:11 PM
Nothing. Same hub, same everything else. User gets a disconnect and is back on VDSL instead of ADSL. Same price, different code within the billing system I imagine.